We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a delightful hotel perfectly located for easy access to the main sites in central Athens. Its star attraction must be the absolutely fabulous roof garden on top of the hotel with stunning, five star views of the Acropolis in one direction and the Temple of Olympian Zeus in the other. A very good breakfast is served in the roof top restaurant every morning catering for all tastes and appetites. The restaurant itself is fabulous for a first night treat and is of a high standard with excellent unobtrusive service. The view is a constant distraction though! From the hotel it is an easy walk to all the main sites including the Theatre of Dionysus, the Acropolis museum, Filopappos Hill and the Agora. In the evening it is a very pleasant stroll to the Plaka for an evening meal. The evening atmosphere in the Plaka is wonderful, very safe and with an amazing choice of restaurants. The rooms in the hotel are typical 'hotel' rooms, in the case of Athens Gate, very clean and with all the necessary accoutrements; safe, hairdryer, shower gel and shampoo but no tea/coffee making facilities. Our room was located on the front of the hotel overlooking the Temple of Zeus and the only observation I would make is that the noise from the road is quite intrusive. There is a small balcony with sliding door to the outside and with the door open the traffic noise is unbearable. With the door closed at night there is still a degree of noise which permeates the room. Nevertheless, the location and other features of this hotel still make it an admirable choice.

Room Tip: It looked like the rooms on the other side of the hotel away from the Temple of Zeus faced on to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    1,350
    223
    40
    17
See reviews for
609
2,239
174
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was completely underwhelmed by this hotel. Expecting good things having read others reviews I left disappointed. Almost without exception the staff were surly - check-in was, at best, functional and not very welcoming - check-out was even worse. No smiles, no pleasantries at either, no inquiry as to how my stay had been.
Our room was a huge disappointment - even for a one night stay. On the first floor and with 6 lanes of traffic passing directly outside it was difficult to sleep from the noise even though we used earplugs. We could feel vibrations from passing buses whilst lying in bed. The room itself was functional - the linens were nice but there were stains on the curtain, only one chair (for two people), no furniture on the balcony, the safe was not working, there was no iron, no water, no coffee-making facilities, no wifi.... and no fitness facilities. When the competition is providing these things it is difficult to see why the Athens Gate Hotel does not.
The only redeeming feature is the rooftop lounge where breakfast is served - the views are excellent.
My advice, go to the bar for a drink but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CharlottedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the third time I've stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel. As always, the service is amazing and they nice touches they offer make a difference. The views from the rooftop bar are incredible. I always will stay at the Athens Gate Hotel when in Athens.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dmv227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights at The Athens Gate Hotel and I have already recommended it to a number of others. The location is perfect and the view from the rooftop is amazing. The staff was very helpful, especially the gentleman from Montreal who helped with the luggage. Very safe and clean as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights and thought it was a very good value. We didn't have much of a view from our room (probably one of the few rooms without a good view) but the view from the rooftop restaurant made up for it. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with wonderful views there each morning.

The hotel was also very convenient to get to from the airport using the metro

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Berg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved our stay here. It is perfect location. Our first 2 nights we got room with view of acolplias with balcony. It was wonderful. We walked to everywhere from hotel and felt safe to walk around during the night. The breakfast on roof top also has good view if you don't want to pay the room with view. The service was wonderful too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuhsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff at this hotel were friendly, courteous and beyond helpful with anything that we needed during our stay. The views were spectacular, the food was very good and the room was simple and clean. We would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone who is deciding to stay in Athens.

Room Tip: Book a room on floors 5-7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank antsyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,280 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,305 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,087 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing