We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Athens Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
New Hotel(Athens)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$304
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$666
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$536
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,033)
Filter reviews
4,033 results
Traveller rating
2,319
1,416
237
43
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,319
1,416
237
43
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restauranttemple of olympian zeusgreat locationacropolis museumwithin walking distancetop floorbusy streetwhere breakfast is servedsuperior roomour honeymoonlight sleeperan amazing viewolympic stadiumroof gardenhadrian's archplaka districtmajor sites
Filter
Updating list...
1,754 - 1,759 of 4,033 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Totaly agree with CharlottedT, we stayed in room 106 on first floor. we may as well have slept on sidewalk and saved 150 euros for the noise level . staff were not bothered at all . IF YOU HAVE A BOOKING ON THE ROAD SIDE OF HOTEL, I WOULD CONSIDER ANOTHER OPTION IF YOU WANT TO GO TO SLEEP

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank bingbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a delightful hotel perfectly located for easy access to the main sites in central Athens. Its star attraction must be the absolutely fabulous roof garden on top of the hotel with stunning, five star views of the Acropolis in one direction and the Temple of Olympian Zeus in the other. A very good breakfast is served in the roof top restaurant every morning catering for all tastes and appetites. The restaurant itself is fabulous for a first night treat and is of a high standard with excellent unobtrusive service. The view is a constant distraction though! From the hotel it is an easy walk to all the main sites including the Theatre of Dionysus, the Acropolis museum, Filopappos Hill and the Agora. In the evening it is a very pleasant stroll to the Plaka for an evening meal. The evening atmosphere in the Plaka is wonderful, very safe and with an amazing choice of restaurants. The rooms in the hotel are typical 'hotel' rooms, in the case of Athens Gate, very clean and with all the necessary accoutrements; safe, hairdryer, shower gel and shampoo but no tea/coffee making facilities. Our room was located on the front of the hotel overlooking the Temple of Zeus and the only observation I would make is that the noise from the road is quite intrusive. There is a small balcony with sliding door to the outside and with the door open the traffic noise is unbearable. With the door closed at night there is still a degree of noise which permeates the room. Nevertheless, the location and other features of this hotel still make it an admirable choice.

Room Tip: It looked like the rooms on the other side of the hotel away from the Temple of Zeus faced on to a narrow street with limited views so out of preference go for a Temple side room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was completely underwhelmed by this hotel. Expecting good things having read others reviews I left disappointed. Almost without exception the staff were surly - check-in was, at best, functional and not very welcoming - check-out was even worse. No smiles, no pleasantries at either, no inquiry as to how my stay had been.
Our room was a huge disappointment - even for a one night stay. On the first floor and with 6 lanes of traffic passing directly outside it was difficult to sleep from the noise even though we used earplugs. We could feel vibrations from passing buses whilst lying in bed. The room itself was functional - the linens were nice but there were stains on the curtain, only one chair (for two people), no furniture on the balcony, the safe was not working, there was no iron, no water, no coffee-making facilities, no wifi.... and no fitness facilities. When the competition is providing these things it is difficult to see why the Athens Gate Hotel does not.
The only redeeming feature is the rooftop lounge where breakfast is served - the views are excellent.
My advice, go to the bar for a drink but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CharlottedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the third time I've stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel. As always, the service is amazing and they nice touches they offer make a difference. The views from the rooftop bar are incredible. I always will stay at the Athens Gate Hotel when in Athens.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dmv227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently stayed 2 nights at The Athens Gate Hotel and I have already recommended it to a number of others. The location is perfect and the view from the rooftop is amazing. The staff was very helpful, especially the gentleman from Montreal who helped with the luggage. Very safe and clean as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews