We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Athens Gate hotel is a great choice for a short stay in Athens. It is in the middle of all of the important attractions with breathtaking views. The rooms are comfortable and the wifi is free and works well in the lobby and on the beautiful Rooftop bar and restaurant. I highly recommend this affordable hotel!

Room Tip: If you love views it is worth the top rooms with a balcony overlooking the Acropolis. If you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,130
    1,319
    214
    40
    17
See reviews for
582
2,199
173
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated for a visit to all the attractions that Athens has to offer. The check in by Amalia was quick and pleasant.....she was a good sign of things to come. The room was very large for an European city hotel and was very clean with all the amenities you will need. As all the reviewers say, the view from the top floor bar/restaurant is spectacular. We had dinner there and the service was impeccable and the food was very good as well. This hotel has a lot going for it.... great location..... nice rooms and wonderful views of the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus.... but it was the staff that made our visit one of our best at any hotel we have stayed at (and we travel extensively). We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an inside room. No view, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdouce52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room is comfortable and quiet. Service in the lobby and in the 8th floor lounge is wonderful. Easy walk to the Acropolis, central market and other sights. Views from 8th floor are spectacular. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent location to visit the city: next to Plaka, Akropolis, Syntagma, conference centre (Zappeio), .... and most of other touristic areas. The hotel is located at a busy street, but just arround the corner start the pedestrian streets of the marvelous Plaka district.
The hotal has very nice rooms with terraces. Best view is on the rooftop restaurant (akropolis and temple of Olympian Zeus). Also staff is very helpfull and nice.
Easy to get there (Metro to Syntagma is faster than bus X95).

Room Tip: The best view is of course at the back (Akropolis), but only on the 7th floor (but you pay a lot for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KrisAntwerp_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Athens Gate Hotel in June 2013. It was a beautiful hotel. Great service and staff in the bar /restaurant on the roof. NOT TO MENTION THE VIEW!!!!! The front desk staff too, wonderful, helpful, and professional. We enjoyed everything about our stay. Highly recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirklandJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for just one night whilst en route to a ship at nearby Piraeus.
The staff were charming, the very good (limited choice) restaurant on the top floor with a clear view of the Parthanon stayed open until late.
The rooms were very clean and well equipped with wi-fi available free in the hotel lounge area.
Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of offerings.
The taxi from the airport was only £25 and to Piraeus was £14 - bargains.
Another plus is the very good red bus hop on/hop off tour of Athens city, bus stops are only 100 yards from the hotel (hope that the bus gets stuck in a traffic jam in the market area which is an experience in itself!), as is a busy side street street with cafe's and other facilities.
All rooms in the hotel have to have a good view as in one direction the rooms face the Parthanon (upper floors) and the other the Temple of Zeus (all floors).
This isn't the smartest most lavish hotel in Athens (number 6 we were told by the hotel) but one would not be able to find a better location and value.
Richard and Suzie George

Room Tip: Any!!! If you want to be very quiet ask for a Parthanon view - upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard W G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wasn't a bad experience, but I couldn't recommend staying here. Other hotels in the area offer a much better value for the money.

The good: Our rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was good. Free WiFi in lobby.

The bad: Service was disappointing. WiFi is mindbogglingly expensive for such a low-cost benefit. Spiral staircase lacks railing on all but the lowest and top floors. Elevator is tiny. Electronic "do-not-disturb" system is flawed in that you can't indicate "do not disturb" when you are out of the room. So if you leave your room briefly in the morning or early afternoon intending to return quickly, you might find the cleaning staff in your room when you return.

Details on the disappointing service: Our check-in time was 2:00pm and we arrived around 3:15pm. The woman at the front desk informed us that our room wasn't ready yet. She instructed us to wait in the lobby for about 15 minutes while the room gets prepared. We waited about 25 minutes before our room was ready. What baffled us is that she never apologized for the inconvenience. Granted, waiting ~25 minutes wasn't a huge deal, but I can't imagine *any* other hotel inconveniencing the customer in this manner without an apology. To be fair, she wasn't rude to us; she was otherwise pleasant. This just struck me as bizarre for a hotel that's supposed to be 4-stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank na4096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,205 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,239 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 326 in Athens
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing