We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location-Major Attractions Within Walking Distance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Location-Major Attractions Within Walking Distance”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our sightseeing in Athens. Could not have asked for a better location. Several major attractions within walking distance, including Plaka. It was wonderfiul to walk out of the hotel and walk right into a labyrinth of streets full of shops and restaurants. Our room faced Temple of Zeus. I could not resist taking pictures at sunrise and sunset right from our room balcony.
The rooms were nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked fine. Even though our room faced the busy main road, we did not hear any traffice noise. The roof top restaurant provides a great view of the Acropolis. During the night the view was absolutely stunning, with Acropolis lit up.
The buffet breakfast was more than adequate. The front desk is staffed with friendly and helpful people. It is not a luxury hotel, but it offers all the comforts combined with friendly service and the location that cannot be beat.
If I am visiting Athens again, I would have not hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,169
    1,346
    223
    40
    17
See reviews for
605
2,236
174
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel proved to be an lodging grand slam -- comfortable accommodation in a favorable location at a competitive rate, with an above-average breakfast included -- and with views. Room was larger than expected, clean and quiet, with a refrigerator and a safe. Bed was comfortably firm. Recently renovated bathroom was very nice. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Rooftop restaurant serves a good breakfast buffet with plenty of options, and terrific views of the Acropolis and Parthenon. Central location in Athens enables easy walking to major sites and popular restaurants. Free WiFi available in the hotel lobby and restaurant roof deck. Got a good price on Hotels.com. It was easy to see why this property has such consistently high TripAdvisor ratings. We would gladly return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing the front of the hotel have a splendid view of the Temple of Olymp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Would definitely stay in this hotel again. It wasn't fancy, but had everything we needed for the price.

Don't be alarmed by all the graffiti around the hotel the location is perfect. Just steps from the Temple of Zeus, 1 minute from the Plaka, and about 5-10 minute walk to the entrance gate of the Parthenon the location could not be beat. The hotel is also only about 15 min from the Ferry, which is perfect if you are taking an early morning departure

As the many reviews have mentioned, the view of the parthenon from the hotel restaurant is beautiful. The breakfast was filled with many options and was complimentary. We did not eat dinner at the hotel.

The staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions.

WiFi was free in the restaurant and the lobby.

The room was a room, nothing special. We did not pay for the room with a view. The wallpaper was starting to come off a little bit, but all in all it was clean and well kept.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank milospa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

WHAT A VIEW from the Rooftop Garden!!! So glad we enjoyed fantastic breakfasts with the Acropolis & Temple of Zeus "right there"!!! It is a great location, where we could walk to everything we came to see! The front desk was outstanding in suggesting restaurants, changing our room for a better view, arranging our tour to Delphi & transportation to/from the city. The room was small but sufficient. They provided washcloths, which was something we could not get at our hotels on the 3 islands we visited, or Paris! The staff on the rooftop were all extremely friendly and spoke English well. We often went up there to get some R&R and a cool beverage during the day. The dinner we had was an inclusive 39E, with a glass of wine & dessert inc. It was good, but not great. The view alone was worth wanting to come back to!

Room Tip: The hotel thought that the "street side" might be too noisy, but we were glad they let us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The personnel, made the best to help us in any detail we had to solve. Ecellent location and confortable room. Beautifully situated facing Zeuss Temple. Near everything. The terrace for breakfast and dinning has an excellent view to the "Acropolis" which is very well iluminated at night.

Room Tip: A room facing Zeuss Temple The one on the third floor next to the elevator was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank luciareja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned home from this beautiful hotel where we stayed as part of our honeymoon trip around Greece and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

The location is just absolutely perfect - you are literally in the middle of all of Athen's most beautiful sites and for those places further afield you are right next to the Metro, tram and bus stations. We had a room overlooking the temple of Zeus and I had to keep pinching myself every morning walking out on to the balcony at how beautiful it was. If you are a light sleeper then the rooms facing the temple may be noisy for you due to the main avenue running through Athens being just outside but we didn't find it a problem at night when the traffic quietens down a little.

The rooftop terrace is beautiful with panoramic views. We enjoyed breakfast and evening drinks on the terrace and we were just in love with the views of the Acropolis from here. The breakfast itself is lovely with an excellent selection of items and I could have happily spent a few hours here!

The staff are all extremely friendly and are so keen for you to enjoy your hotel experience, going out of their way to help you and to make sure you are comfortable. The service is excellent. When we were looking to book a hotel in Athens we looked at a lot of different options and having walked around this beautiful city I could not have been happier that we had chosen Athens Gate. We had a truly wonderful honeymoon trip there and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellasWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

No hotel has a better location, the New Acropolis Museum, the Acropolis itself, the Plaka district are minutes if not seconds away. And the views, front and back, are stupdendous. Many reviewers have noted the poor elevators (stairs are a good option), I would add that although the breakfast is plentiful, delicious, the coffee rivals the best of Italy, there is a lack of fresh fruit (why canned peaches when the market is full of fresh cherries?). Also, why give balconies when there is no furniture there and only one chair in the room, so no way for two to enjoy the view (with a glass of wine?) Every single staff person was more than hospitable and efficient.. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had Acropolis view which was very exciting -- but other side with gate of Hadrian would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyjanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,274 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,080 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing