We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in Athens! Rooms are on the smaller side, but very clean and modern with views of either the Acropolis or Temple of Olympian Zeus. Location is super convenient for walking to Plaka, the Acropolis, even Monastiraki/Gazi area, and just a 3 minute walk to Akropoli metro stop. But the best feature of this place is probably the awesome rooftop. Stay includes fantastic breakfast spread (YUM) on said rooftop with amazing views of the acropolis. Have a drink up here at sunset too, before you explore Athens at night. Staff super friendly and free wifi in lobby and on rooftop. This hotel is definitely a great value. Tip: rooms facing Temple of Zeus can be very noisy due to busy street below. Ask for a room facing the back, especially if you want the option of opening the windows at night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 3,932 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel to stay before or after you board your cruise out of Athens, this is a great stop. First, they are within walking distance to the Acropolis, the Plaka and other sites. Second, they have an excellent rooftop restaurant with a view of the Acropolis and the entire city. The restaurant, full bar is absolutely excellent. The rooms are very comfortable, great mattresses, newly renovated. It is located on a main street, so connections to the airport, taxis, no problem. I chose a room in the back, so, I would not have to deal with the street noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tinalovesthekeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here on our first night in Greece, before flying to Santorini. We wanted to see the plaka and the Acropolis during our brief stay in Athens. Both were walking distance from this hotel. Very convenient! The staff was very friendly and attentive and the hotel was nice. The room and bathroom were a bit small, but fine for a one night stay. Decent breakfast the next morning, with a breath taking view of the Acropolis. Across from the hotel are ruins, very interesting. Only drawback: On the night we were staying there, around one in the morning, after Greece won a World Cup Game, horns were blaring for about an hour or so. Our room was on the street, so it was noisy. Not a typical situation, but ask for a room not on the street to ensure a good nights sleep.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for our sightseeing in Athens. Could not have asked for a better location. Several major attractions within walking distance, including Plaka. It was wonderfiul to walk out of the hotel and walk right into a labyrinth of streets full of shops and restaurants. Our room faced Temple of Zeus. I could not resist taking pictures at sunrise and sunset right from our room balcony.
The rooms were nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked fine. Even though our room faced the busy main road, we did not hear any traffice noise. The roof top restaurant provides a great view of the Acropolis. During the night the view was absolutely stunning, with Acropolis lit up.
The buffet breakfast was more than adequate. The front desk is staffed with friendly and helpful people. It is not a luxury hotel, but it offers all the comforts combined with friendly service and the location that cannot be beat.
If I am visiting Athens again, I would have not hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiousrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel proved to be an lodging grand slam -- comfortable accommodation in a favorable location at a competitive rate, with an above-average breakfast included -- and with views. Room was larger than expected, clean and quiet, with a refrigerator and a safe. Bed was comfortably firm. Recently renovated bathroom was very nice. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Rooftop restaurant serves a good breakfast buffet with plenty of options, and terrific views of the Acropolis and Parthenon. Central location in Athens enables easy walking to major sites and popular restaurants. Free WiFi available in the hotel lobby and restaurant roof deck. Got a good price on Hotels.com. It was easy to see why this property has such consistently high TripAdvisor ratings. We would gladly return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing the front of the hotel have a splendid view of the Temple of Olymp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Would definitely stay in this hotel again. It wasn't fancy, but had everything we needed for the price.

Don't be alarmed by all the graffiti around the hotel the location is perfect. Just steps from the Temple of Zeus, 1 minute from the Plaka, and about 5-10 minute walk to the entrance gate of the Parthenon the location could not be beat. The hotel is also only about 15 min from the Ferry, which is perfect if you are taking an early morning departure

As the many reviews have mentioned, the view of the parthenon from the hotel restaurant is beautiful. The breakfast was filled with many options and was complimentary. We did not eat dinner at the hotel.

The staff was very helpful and answered all of our questions.

WiFi was free in the restaurant and the lobby.

The room was a room, nothing special. We did not pay for the room with a view. The wallpaper was starting to come off a little bit, but all in all it was clean and well kept.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank milospa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

WHAT A VIEW from the Rooftop Garden!!! So glad we enjoyed fantastic breakfasts with the Acropolis & Temple of Zeus "right there"!!! It is a great location, where we could walk to everything we came to see! The front desk was outstanding in suggesting restaurants, changing our room for a better view, arranging our tour to Delphi & transportation to/from the city. The room was small but sufficient. They provided washcloths, which was something we could not get at our hotels on the 3 islands we visited, or Paris! The staff on the rooftop were all extremely friendly and spoke English well. We often went up there to get some R&R and a cool beverage during the day. The dinner we had was an inclusive 39E, with a glass of wine & dessert inc. It was good, but not great. The view alone was worth wanting to come back to!

Room Tip: The hotel thought that the "street side" might be too noisy, but we were glad they let us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greekamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,419 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,739 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,249 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £79 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing