We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a really good hotel.For example they gave us a really early check in and they kept our luggage for 3 days while we went on a cruise.It's easy to get to from Athens airport.Take the 95 bus 5 euros till the final stop.Walk past the front of the bus and turn right it takes about 12 minutes walk till you reach the hotel.The rooms are really good and the views spectacular.You will find the Plaka area about 10 minutes away for many authentic Greek restaurants.Be careful of the Greek taxi drivers and make sure they switch on their metets.
Greg Cronan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregcronan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,142
    1,335
    219
    40
    17
See reviews for
589
2,218
173
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Greece, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel from 2 June until the 6 June, I was very impressed with the room clean and tidy. The Roof Garden is a must 360 views of the Acropolis just stunning. The staff are all very friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble, the only thing that let it down was the breakfast not very hot but all up a very good hotel and also very central.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the front of hotel are very noisy if you want quiet then don't have a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location within easy walking distance of the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, Temple of Zeuss and the Plaka (old town). We had a basic room which had a magnificent view of the Temple of Zeuss. The rooftop bar and restaurant has views to the Acropolis. Rooms are modern and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and welcoming (and they warned us about pick pockets and Greek taxi drivers). Unfortunately this hotel only has free wifi in the foyer and rooftop bar which is very inconvenient. If you want to use it in your room they have a very expensive charge. Because of this the foyer and bar were full of guests being inconvenienced by having to leave their rooms to use the internet. For heavens sake can't this hotel get into the 21st century and provide free wifi to its guests like every other hotel in Europe.

Room Tip: The 4th floor is designated for non smokers and has great views so ask for a non smoking room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doneitalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I paid half as much as I usually pay for top hotels in Athens. The room was a bit smaller, but certainly not half as small. Great pillows. Excellent location.

The best part of the hotel is the view. From the room I had a perfect view of the Temple of Zeus, and on the rooftop restaurant there is a perfect view of the Acropolis.

No pool, no gym or spa.

Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yossi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the superior family room with our two teenage boys. The rooms were connected through the hotel hallway with a private door - which was very convenient. The master room had an amazing view and patio overlooking the Acropolis! Great breakfast with 360 degree views of Athens! What is keeping me from giving it the 5 stars is our room smelled of stale smoke (though it was a non-smoking room), we were right under the restaurant and heard chairs (or something) moving early in the morning and late at night and they didn't have free wi-fi in the rooms (though you could get it in the lobby and restaurant!) Overall it was a really nice hotel and the location is ideal!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gowithfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very pleased with our stay! We had one of the rooms with a view of the Temple of Zeus and loved it! Location is perfect, close to the Acropolis, Plaka, etc. View from the rooftop restaurant and bar can't be beat! Friendly staff and room was a good size with a comfortable bed. Negatives as previously stated would be the pay wi-fi (if you want to use in the your room) and there is no iron provided in the room (due to it being a ?fire hazard).Overall, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed again this year for 2 nights. We were room 406/7. Overlooking g temple of Zeus. Again we had an excellent stay. Perfect location to explore flee markets and central enough to walk to ermou and other main high end shops. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Good showers. Best breakfast in Greece. Had dinner upstairs. The food was reasonable. The view was perfection. Best ambience with a lovely bottle of wine. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your special comment regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel. Your thank you note will be distributed to all our staff.

Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments is
the most successful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in our city and The Athens Gate Hotel.

With kind regards,
Yiannis Adamantopoulos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,235 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,266 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 326 in Athens
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing