We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to enjoy Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Tip; if you don't mind paying a little extra, ask for the back rooms on the 6 or 7th floor. You will get unobstructed views of the Acropolis.
Amazing location, next to the museum, transportation and Acropolis. Rooms were very nice, the staff was lovely and the rooftop restaurant was an incredible experience for us to end our Greek vacation.
Starting your day, sharing high quality breakfast with my sweetheart looking over the city was a highlight of our trip
Cookies and coffee for early check outs was greatly appreciated
The cons: tiny elevators, and...charge to use WiFi in your room??? No thanks. WiFi in the lobby and rooftop was spotty. I had better connection in the middle of the Kalambaka mountains.
All in all, best in Athens as long as you get the rooms in the higher floors

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global-Speedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,845)
There are newer reviews for The Athens Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,455 - 1,461 of 3,845 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

the important is near akropolis :) and have nice panorame with nice staff... it was the best place to take pictures and rooms i thinc they are little bit small but anyway was nice for relax and for join the holidays in athina

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Beware at checkin that you are given the room category you booked . They will trick you by charging for the superior room as defined on the website but give you the much lessor standard category . It happened to us and they argued for 15 minutes even after showing them their own definition on their website. Also this hotel is by no means a first class hotel by US standards and the service in the rooftop bar is almost non existent . My advice is to stay Grande Bertange which has a much better rooftop restaurant and bar. Also if you have claustrophobia you certainly won't like the Athens Gate elevator which only fits two very small people and works like it was one of the first invented models.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel.Even a negative review is a feedback that we are want to have.

Please also accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay.

As far as your complaint and after checking with the Reservation Department, upon check in you received the room that you have booked, which was a superior room. At no point we offered you a lower category room. Furthermore as I have been informed, since you were not satisfied with your room, you were offered to change rooms, but you rejected our offer.

Regarding Grande Bretagne we are aware that it is a great Hotel offering great service and true Hospitality and we are proud that we have a hotel like this in our city. Please note that we don't think Grande Bretagne as our competitor, but as great ambassador for Athens.

Since you were not happy with the service i would like to ask you to send me a personal e-mail (gm@athensgate.gr)explaining to me the problem that you faced with the Roof Top Restaurant personnel.

Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments is the most successful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level.


With kind regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Pros: This hotel is in a great area, close to almost all the main attractions. The rooms are nicely furnished and the staff is efficient and polite. The beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is an American breakfast - which in my experience, is not common in Greece, unless staying at large american chains.

We booked 3 rooms on our stay, and it is to mention that one of these rooms (the cheapest of the three) is an "Interior room" meaning there are no windows. I would not recommend it, because I am not able to stay in such a room, but there are HUGE savings for those who don't mind doing so.

The rooftop bar had amazing views.

Cons: The drinks at the rooftop bar are absolutely horrendous, and the parking garage is extremely small. We had a minivan type car, and it was VERY difficult to get into the garage.

Room Tip: Book an interior room (no windows) for a cheaper price - but be aware that you should not receive an...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My daughter and I spent one night at the Athens Gate and really enjoyed our stay. Check in went smoothly and staff was friendly. We especially liked Steven, the intern at the door. One thing that did surprise us was the tiny elevators. I read reviews that stated two small elevators--and they weren't kidding. LOL. Each elevator has about enough room for two people. It is TINY but we found it entertaining. We had requested a higher floor room and were actually granted this request. Our room had a balcony overlooking the Temple of Zeus. It was a lovely view. The room was clean and lovely. We enjoyed drinks on the rooftop at night and had good internet connection. We also enjoyed breakfast the next morning and again, the view was great. Breakfast was "interesting" as we really didn't know the foods they offered. But, they had variety and it was greek items--fun to try. They stored our luggage while we did tours the next day, and then check out was smooth. Internet in lobby is just okay. Rooftop internet was much better. We really enjoyed our one night stay and would highly recommend. Location is GREAT!

Room Tip: I am glad we asked for higher level room and also the room type we paid for included a balcony. We...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CbrandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The Athens gate is in a great central location to The Acropolis and Temple of Zeus and all other important sites. The rooms are clean, very modern, and newly updated. Free wifi is in lobby and breakfast area only. We ate at Smile. Great greek restaurant and reasonable prices. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Athens Gate from july 12 to july 15 and my staw was winderful. The room was clean and spacious and I got a room that overlooked the city street, but my sleep was not disturbed by passing cars. The breakfast was sufficient may have lacked a bit in variety but enough yo get you going. The room was clean and has sufficient space. I had to commend the staff as they were very helpful and helped me find even a place to watch the world cup finals. The hotel is centrally located most sites are accessible by foot and a metro station is very close by. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the athens gate hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deljamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
2,333 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,342 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,150 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £78 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing