We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location overlooking the Parthenon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Best kept secret is the top floor restaurant and bar with full Monty views of he acropolis and temple of Zeus. Rooms modern and clean. Great central location next to "everything". Why we have to do minimum of 200 characters escapes me.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zorda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 3,943 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We found this hotel while in our taxi cab on the way from the bus stop where we had taken an over 2 hour bus trip on the “Almost Express” bus from Patras. We had taken a overnight cruise from Ancona Italy to Patras. This was this most exhausting part of our month long trip and we mostly took planes after this long haul of various transportation.

Anyway, we arrived in the evening and we asked the taxi driver to take us near the Plaka, as we were aware that the Plaka was the old town and offered a pedestrian area full of shops and restaurants.

The taxi driver was annoyed that we didn’t give him an exact hotel, and kept suggesting a hotel for us.

We didn’t feel comfortable taking his suggestion, and finally gave him the name of the Athens Gate, as we could see from the map feature on TripAdvisor that the Athens Gate was near the Plaka and rated highly, it was also listed as a 4 star hotel, and we were ready for a little luxury after our not so luxurious cruise/ferry and then an over 2 hour bus ride.

We walked in and asked if they had rooms that would accommodate our large family. We were shown two rooms at the top, both with views of the Acropolis. The view was stunning. Especially at night with the spotlights on it.

The rooms were average sized but looked recently remodeled. Since we were so tired, we decided to book for one night and then check out the area, and planned to move closer into the Plaka. However, after realizing that were just a few blocks from the Plaka and we realized how special our view was, we decided to stay at the Athens Gate.

The location of this hotel is phenomenal! The rooftop restaurant where we ate dinner our first night and breakfast each morning boasted absolutely amazing views. The Greek and Italian food was also excellent! The breakfast included many choices and for our month long vacation it was my favorite breakfast buffet of our whole vacation and we traveled to 8 countries in one month.

I will include some photos of the view from our room which included not only views from both our bedrooms but also from our showers! It was dreamy and something that we will never forget.

The service at the hotel was top notch. The service was better than we had a Ritz Carlton that we stayed at the end of our vacation in Berlin. The staff was genuinely interested in taking care of us and they were adorable with our children.

The service was off the chart! We came in disheveled looking and they treated us kindly. My husband had cut his foot earlier while getting our luggage off the bus we had taken to get to Athens.

They swiftly got him a bandage etc. Our kids were restless in the lobby and they offered them cookies and drinks. Our bags were brought up promptly and the bellman was delightful offering lots of good info about the area etc.

We highly recommend this hotel, in fact one of our good friends was coming to stay in Athens the week after we were there and we recommended the hotel to her and she booked her room for herself and her daughter here too.

All around this hotel was 5 points! Loved it! We also loved Athens, it had so much history of course, but it was also extremely romantic with loads of restaurants up stairs on the hills and many of them offered live Greek music. I definitely want to return for another trip! Please do not under estimate Athens.. we flew from Athens to the island of Santorini, but I personally enjoyed Athens just as much, even though Santorini was unique and dreamy as well.

If you found this review helpful would you please let me know by clicking the box that says:

"This review was helpful."

It just makes me feel good to know that all this typing isn't going to waste and that these reviews are actually helping fellow travelers. Thank you and have a great time in Greece!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MelissaBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your special comment regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel. Your thank you note will be distributed to all the staff. It always a pleasure to read this type of reviews and yes it was helpfull

Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments is
the most successful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in our city and The Athens Gate Hotel.

With kind regards,
Yiannis
Adamantopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our way to the Greek islands. Clean rooms, modern lobby and courteous staff. The best part about this hotel was it's location. You literally are a 5 minute walk from the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus is right outside the front door.

Breakfast was great- there were so many choices. The view from the rooftop where you eat breakfast is second to none. You have a perfect view of the Acropolis while you enjoy your meal.

One negative, there is only wi-fi in the main lobby (unless you want to pay). So we had to sit in the common areas anytime we wanted to get on the internet.

We also had a drunk man trying to get into our room one night- but hotel staff immediately came to send him to his proper room.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in Athens.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My wife couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel and its excellent location to the major attractions of Athens. On top of that the nightlife was within short walking distance from the hotel. From our suite we had an uninterrupted view of the Temple of Zeus and from the roof top dining area we could clearly see the Acropolis. The hotel front desk staff was very helpful and bar/resturant staff were all pleasant and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The room was small but very clean. The location was perfect if you are seeing the ruins. Our room had a great very from the balcony. We had to leave early the next morning and they
prepared us a box breakfast to go. Very nice touch. Only thing I would have liked was a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMMatusiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were greeted by the smell of garbage as we entered our room (probably because the room was located on the back near the alleyway where the garbage gets collected. The room itself was quite basic and whilst clean it really didn't exude a 4 star experience. If you looking for internet access, you can sign up for paid Wifi access in the room or you have go to the lobby in the tiny elevator for free access Whilst the view from the rooftop garden provides an excellent vantage point over the city, the breakfast itself left a lot to be desired.

The saving grace for the hotel is most definitely the location - you are effectively a few steps away from Plaka area with easy access to a multitude of dining and shopping options - not to mention the historical sites and museums.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Warlock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were just spending a few days in Athens before continuing on to Crete and we wanted a nice hotel near the Acropolis so that we could see the ruins and the museums on foot. The location could not have been better, and the view from the rooftop restaurant was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the rooms were modern and furnished well, our standard room was little bigger than the bed and was cramped even for just two people. The street noise from the road for rooms facing the Temple of Zeus was substantial, although ear plugs and the quality windows of the hotel tamed it enough for sleep. If noise is an issue, get a room facing the Acropolis away from the traffic. There are few amenities, and the lobby was very plain. An alternative that offers more if you can get a good price is the Royal Olympian just one block away, where our children and grandchildren stayed.

Room Tip: Acropolis view rooms are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Electric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,439 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £78 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing