We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, great view of Temple of Zeus/Parthenon but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location, great view of Temple of Zeus/Parthenon but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Stayed only for one night, flying in from Oia, Santorini. Cleanliness and location justifies the premium that your pay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,126
    1,318
    214
    40
    17
See reviews for
580
2,198
173
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed with my husband in this hotel for 4 days, and enjoyed it a lot! The rooms are nice and clean, with a touch of modern design.

The breakfast is good. We also had a dinner on top of the roof (the roof garden), with a magic view to the night Acropolis, and it was simply amazing!

Staff are very polite and discreet, we are very pleased with the service. It really deserves its name : the Athens Gate.

the only minuses are: you can hear the streets a bit even when you close the window, the AC didn't seem to work, the wifi isn't free.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoscowTravel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

An excellent find in the amazing, interesting and vibrant city of Athens. Arrived at 7AM from the ferry from Crete. Apparently, booking.com had not properly transmitted the reservation but no problem at all. Check in within minutes, no surcharge for the early time. Great room with a view to the temple of Zeus. Spacious bathroom, boiling hot water, comfy bed. Breakfast in room, dinner at the rooftop restaurant with wonderful views to the Acropolis. Efficient service from luggage porter to waiters in the restaurant. Perfect location for Plaka as well as for Syntagma. The wonderful new Acropolis museum is just around the corner. Very competitive room rate. Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We were there with my wife over the X-mas week visiting family and friends a very daring decision as both of us we are not very good with cities.
The first thing that strikes you soon as you enter the main door is the simplicity of the space and at the same time the functionality-whatever you wish is there- in simple welcoming colours and designs , not to mention the always long anticipating glass of water with a small sweet after a long journey.
Checking in was straight forward with a smile and efficiency, all you need to know on arrival in a few simple sentences especially 23:00 at night
Our room was at the back of the hotel (5th floor we choose it) a very contemporary, clean easy to the eye colours room with a very good size bathroom and a good size balcony overlooking another building and a non busy road.
The next day after a quick breakfast at the roof garden we left the hotel to venture out in Plaka (my wife’s favourite place) to come back late in the evening in a clean room with fresh towels, something that carried on during our stay and sometimes twice a day, I loved that around 18:00 nock at the door asking if we are ok or of need to refresh the room, needless to say that when we were not there the room was always refreshed
All the next 4 days rolled with the same standards of service from all members of staff we dealt with (the roof garden in the evening is amazing and the staff even more) with quick polite and trouble free response to our needs.
The location of this hotel is simply fantastic you are in the middle of whenever you want to go, 100 from the Metro station and trust me as long as you are near a Metro station in Athens, you got the whole city at you feet
Transport to and from the airport with the metro is cheap (10Euro for 2 people) and always available.
We loved the place 100% we will come back without a doubt and I will recommend it to everyone who wants to visit Athens.
Room 513

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiros177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Excellent breakfast with a nice view of the parthenon. Hotel servers are typical of a big city... not the most cordial.

Location is excellent. Close to shops, restaurants and historical sites. There are a lot of restaurants at every level to choose from. Parthenon is probably a 20 min walk through the theater of Dionysis.

Rooms are clean and modern.

If this is within your budget personally i think the price is worth all the things i listed above. However, if i have more time to explore the city, i would find a cheaper hotel, perhaps something a little farther away and just take the metro into the city.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badkao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The hotel is in an ideal location, just on the edge of the Plaka, across the road from the Temple of Zeus, less than 5 min walk from the New Acropolis Museum, slightly over 5 min walk to the entrance to the Acropolis, 10-15 min walk to Symtagna square, add another 5 min to the Benanki Museum and the Central Market.

When we checked in, we were offered a room with an unobstructed view of theTemple of Zeus, Lovely except that it also faced the main street where the traffic noise can be a bit disturbing in spite of us keeping the windows closed. Perhaps the double glazing can be better. This was however not an issue after 10 pm when traffic noise subsided. Room was of a decent size and shower was adequate.There is also a huge LCD (or was it plasma?) TV in the room. The only complaint was the lack of free wireless in the room or hotel lobby.

Service staff at the front desk was friendly, courteous and efficient. Breakfast on the roof garden was good. It offers a decent selection of hot and cold food and fruits as well as a good view of the acropolis and the temple of Zeus (depending on which part of the roof garden you are sitting in).

Overall a very good hotel for exploring Athens.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Our room was so lovely! Nice shower and bed. Amazing views! Especially at night! We were on the top floor (under the resturaunt), so our view was straight to the Temple of Zeus on one side and the Acropolis on the other. It was great. The only bad thing was that we like to go to sleep early and we could hear everyone still in the restaraunt above us. If you stay up later, this will not be an issue!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puzzlegal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,197 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,237 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 326 in Athens
1,657 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing