We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for a brief visit to Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for a brief visit to Athens”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We booked three rooms here for a Saturday night in mid August. the location is perfect for the Acropolis, New Acropolis Museum and the shops, restaurants and cafes of the Plaka and Monastiraki. I'm sad to say we didn't venture further as we had only 24 hours and its was extremely hot.
The hotel staff were helpful, gracious and efficient, rooms were a decent size, modern and cool, rather minimalist in style, with little balconies offering good views of the temple of Zeus on one side and the Parthenon on the other. Buffet breakfast on the roof level restaurant combines Continental and American options and is pretty good quality.
If air-conditioning and being able to walk to the key sites are your chief objectives, as ours were, you simply can't fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,169
    1,346
    223
    40
    17
See reviews for
605
2,236
174
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the start of our 6 week trip through Europe. We wanted to stay somewhere very comfortable considering our long plane trip. Athens Gate very much made us feel at ease. We arrived at about 7.30am and obviously our room would not be ready. Front desk was very friendly and always accommodating. Even though check-in is 2pm, we got into the room at 11am. Our room (Superior Single/Double Room) was very clean and comfortable. The rooftop restaurant is amazing. The food is great and the view is magnificent. Breakfast was always satisfying. Very close to the Acropolis and Plaka. There is a Metro Train stop right near the hotel. I can’t say there is anything I would complain about.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

WOW- Was I happy w/ The Athens Gate Hotel and highly recommend it. First, our room was ready early on one of the hottest days of the year. Good deal. Next, the room was very clean, nice balcony, great bath products, nice flat screen TV w/ English speaking stations. But the huge wonderful surprise, AMAZING VIEWS from their roof top restaurant. Free breakfast while watching the sunrise was GREAT!! Desk staff and maid staff super nice and helpful. The hotel is easy walking distance to Acropolis and many, many other incredible sites. The room is small but very reasonable priced. HIGH MARKS overall.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePuzzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I found a great rate through our agency. This was a great find. The room was great, the location great and the service was remarkable. It has an un-assuming front of the hotel, but the lobby is inviting. When, I checked in the front desk was attentative and informative. We requested a room on a higher floor that gave a great view of the Acropolis. The Acropolis at night was a great site.

The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was larger and the water pressure great. My only complaint concerning the room was that the stations in English were limited to one.

The breakfast was excellent. The restaurant has a great view of the entire city. coffee was available free in the lobby for those who want to trudge downstairs.

My only negative review would be a request for a small work-out room which would push this boutique hotel through the roof.

The location is excellent. You are within one block to the Plaka. You can walk to all the hot spots from this hotel, Monastiraki, the Agroa, the Acropolis, and Omnia . You are around the corner from the Arcopolis Metro station which gives great access on their great subway network through the city. It is a 15-20 minute walk to Kolonaki which is the new hip area. it was hot, so we went to the Acropolis early morning. The crowds weren't that bad. I found Athens to be clean and fun. We were there post riots and you would never known there was any problems. The National Archaeological muesum is will worth an afternoon visit. We purchased the 4 day pass which gave an option to visit many sites.

From the airport, take Metro line 3 for 12 euros for two people to Syntagma and change to line 2 to the Arcopolis Station. It is a 45-55 minute ride. Be sure to hang on to your ticket as the metro police will write a ticket for up to 60 times the amount of the ticket if you cannot produce a validated ticket. I took a taxi from the airport to the hotel, I wasted 65 euros once all was said and done for a 35 minute ride. I was on a cruise and stayed in Athens on the front and backend of the trip. We also took the metro from the Pireaus station and didn't pay attention as the service was down. There is a great line from the port to the city to get to the airport. We ended up taking the railway, which required some manuvering but is manageable to get to the airport from the port to the airport. Next, time we will purchase a transfer from the cruise line to the airport.

Again, Athens is an exciting city and I highly recommned a stay at the Athen's Gate

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escapefromthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This hotel is in a prime location in Athens, about a 10 minute walk from the Acropolis. The interior of the hotel had been recently renovated and it was beautiful. It's very sleek and modern and the room was spacious. The bathroom was large and everything was spotless. Their restaurant/bar is on the roof and you have a breathtaking view of the Acropolis. The staff was very friendly and helped us in every way possible. We had a room on the third floor and it faced a very busy street, but we were so exhausted every night the noise really didn't bother us. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucerne
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

You can get the full Athens experience quickly and easily from the Athens Gate Hotel thanks to its ideal location on the edge of the Plaka and a stone's throw from the marvellous new Acropolis Museum and other sites. The rooftop bar and restaurant (also just for sitting during the day) has uninterrupted views of the Acropolis and all the Athens hills. Decor is modern and fresh, rooms are efficient and clean, service is attentive and friendly (even when arriving from a ferry at 3 a.m.). You could pay a lot more and get a lot less in many other hotels in Athens.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed here for one night in early August following a cruise from Venice and had pre-booked an executive room directly with the hotel figuring that as this was probably the one and only night we would ever spend in Athens we wanted to have a decent hotel which was close to the Parthenon.

We arrived quite early - about 11am (following a hair-raising taxi drive from the port - I would rate Greek taxi drivers as competent but very assertive on the road and not for those of a nervous disposition) and to our surprise our room was already available. The receptionist was very pleasant and we were checked in and on our way to our room in minutes.

Executive rooms have balconies and views of either the Temple of Zeus (which is at the front of the hotel) or the Parthenon (which is the back of the hotel). We had requested a view of the Parthenon and we were on the 7th floor just under the restaurant which is on the 8th. The view was wonderful but the problem of being on that side of the hotel is that it gets the afternoon sun - in a room with a balcony and patio doors you have a wall made of glass - so we pulled the curtains before we headed out for the afternoon and were pleased we did so - I can't imagine how hot it would have been in there if we hadn't. The room has aircon but only works if your room keycard is in the slot and as you only get one card you can't leave the aircon on when you go out.

We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening so can't comment on the restaurant but we had a drink sitting out on the balcony enjoying the view before going out for a meal - can't find any fault with the alcohol, view or service. We ate at Strofi which we found through trip advisor - we didn't book (this was a Saturday night) but as we were there early-ish we managed to get a table on the roof terrace and the view is truly wonderful. The food was good and the service standard Greek - friendly but in no rush - so - just relax, sip your wine and gaze at the view and don't stress out if you have to wait an hour for your pudding to appear.

The biggest disappointment we found with the hotel was breakfast - and having just re-read the few previous reports on this site, I can't actually believe we were in the same hotel! We came up for breakfast about 9am - they serve breakfast until about 11am on weekends so we weren't rushing up at the last minute. There was no one to sit us or to even give us a clue what to do. All the tables on the balcony were either occupied or covered with dirty dishes that no one had bothered to clear. After a couple of minutes when it was obvious that no one was going to even acknowledge our presence, we cleared our own table and sat down. The breakfast food was disappointing - I think I ended up just having some bread and jam and a pot of yogurt - I certainly didn't see vast amounts of fruit - even the pastries were horrible - I took one bite of something I hoped was a type of baklava and had to discretely spit it into my napkin. We had to grab a waiter to get any coffee and had to find our own cutlery. I hope this was a one-off experience as it certainly let the hotel down.

On a more positive note, one excellent service provided by the hotel is the free computer and printer in the reception area beside the bar - we needed to print off our boarding passes for our flights home and it was great to be able to do so so easily.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,271 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,298 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,076 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing