We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hostel in a sketchy area”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #228 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 27 January 2013

No qualms about this place, really, other than the fact that it's on a street that's rife with shady characters. Menandrou Street is crowded with groups of men doing God knows what at all hours of the day. I suspect many of them are doing business involving drugs, but the important thing to note is that they don't seem like the violent types. You just have to be confident, keep your belongings hidden away in your backpack, and walk by them quickly. What's great is that the street is not far away at all from safe, more public areas, starting at Monastiraki Station which is a mere 5-minute walk away. So just know that you're a short walking distance away from very public spaces with many people.

Menandrou aside, the hostel is great. I stayed for 7 nights and had booked a 4-person female-only room. For the first 3 nights, I was by myself (and there were 3 beds in the room as opposed to 4.) For 9.11 euros a night, this was a great deal! For the remaining 4 nights, I stayed with a lovely lady from Italy.

The staff that work here are nice, friendly, and quiet - they won't bother you or anything; very respectful and considerate. Coffee is available 24/7 in the lounge/cafe area, as are 2 bikes for renting if you so choose. Not sure that I would use a bike on Menandrou Street though, as there are usually lots of cars rolling past and, as mentioned before, clots of people along the sidewalks.

The rooms are quite spacious, the beds are comfy and clean, you are given a clean towel and facecloth (both still in their packages) upon arrival, there is a laptop to be used in the common area, and coffee is available 24/7. I didn't bring my laptop, but it's great that wifi is available in all the rooms. The TV has many English channels, including BBC and MTV. ;) There is air conditioning for summertime and a heater for the winter (I didn't know how to work the heater until my roommate on the 4th night asked the staff how to, so maybe ask for their help if you don't know how to work it either.)

Although I had read that there was an offer of 4-euro breakfasts at Soho when I was researching it, they seemed to have stopped that service when I was there (Jan 17-24, 2013).

The bathroom was clean, the toilet paper was well stocked, and the garbages were emptied every day. There are balconies in every room that are useful if you smoke. There's a little mini fridge to store your food in if you decide to get stuff from the mini markets near by (there are many!)

Overall, a wonderful hostel in an area with some shady people. But I am a solo female young traveler, and I was never accosted / robbed, and never had any problems other than the odd over-friendly/creepy person. My advice is to set out at 9/10AM to avoid the groups of men, and then return around 5, 7 or 8 at the latest. There are groups of policemen outside the hostel, which is comforting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank extentgoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

The rooms are spacious. Nice air-conditioning. Bathroom has good warm water supply. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Free coffee, tea and milk. Actually the hotel is very good.
The only downside is the location. It is located in a neighborhood full of immigrants so just be careful when walking around. Beware pickpockets!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yenney210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The staff members of the Soho Hotel Athens are friendly and quite helpful as they listen and offer advice. The hotel is clean and uncluttered. I recommend the Soho for business travelers, couples, families, friends, and solo travelers

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAJ12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

soho was located in athens very strategic location. just minutes away from the city center, all the tourist sites, great restaurants, hip bars, mini market and all the best things you could find in athens. the room was clean, we got fresh towels, it has tv, big bathroom, free coffee/tea, just great!!!

Room Tip: just choose any room :D they have wife in every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KikiSundari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Soho Hotel Athens, It is not one of the worst hotels we have stayed, but THE worst.

The rooms are not clean, or cleaned for that matter, we had to ask for new toilet paper and towels, not to mention clean sheets. They offer free coffee and tea, try it at your own risk.

True, there are many police officers is the area, but only because there are crime, illegal immigrants which are rounded up during the day next to the hotels entrance, and a general feeling of uneasy-ness in the area.

Do yourself a favour and pay a liitle extra for someplace better.

Athens backpackers en studios springs to mind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GideonvdHeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Great price and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and polite. The hotel is only a few steps from the Omonia station, which is susposed to be an unsafe area. But it's a safe hotel in an unsafe area. You don't need to worry about the safety so much because the police are always arround.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glcalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed here with my mum and sister during our trip to Athens. The hotel is on a back street only 5 min from the flea market and main tourist area. We felt safe and secure during our stay as the police depot is in the next building and there was always police around. The service was great with free tea and coffee all day and night. The area looks rougher than it is we never got botherd once. Hotel is just down the street from Omonia station so very handy metro links. Will be staying again hopefully in the near future

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 8umblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Feron
#168 of 282 in Athens
1 reviews
Pangrati
Pagration Youth Hostel
Pagration Youth Hostel
#179 of 282 in Athens
73 reviews
Hotel Neos Olympos
#202 of 282 in Athens
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#149 of 282 in Athens
202 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
No photo provided
Foivos Hotel Athens
#186 of 282 in Athens
7 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#147 of 282 in Athens
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: 25 Menandrou, Athens 105 52, Greece (Formerly Amaryllis Inn)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £16 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Soho Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing