We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #226 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 27 July 2013

If you just need to sleep well it is fine. Toilets we disgusting and the bathroom also. The temperature was very hot. The wifi met some problems. And the location is not sure. If you come back after 8 pm, be with friends or take a taxi. But what do you expect for 20 euros?

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank durdenjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Soho Hotel for 4 nights in mid-July. The hotel is situated in a nice central location with all the main attractions not too far away and in the main, walkable. The area is not as bad as other reviews suggest; the hotel is set on a street containing electronic and clothes shops, as well as the odd small cafe. It is generally full of Lebanese, Bangladesh and Pakistani immigrants working hard for a living. The top end of the road was a little smelly (urine) and dirty near where the bins are. Athens has a big graffiti problem. I'd have expected the main doors to be locked at night with some sort of intercom/buzzer system, but they were open 24/7. However, the area was generally safe to walk around at night. The reception is situated on the first floor, so you'll need to take the lift or the stairs. The lift is a little old but serves its purpose (max 4 persons). There are a couple of vending machines in the lobby.

The main square is about a 20 minute walk away. If you walk 20 minutes in the other direction (away from the town), you'll reach Gazi, which is a really nice area with lots of bars and restaurants, and a great, youthful atmosphere. There's a nice square with bars and tavernas a couple of streets away.

Our room was a large family room containing 3 single beds and a double which were very comfortable. Unfortunately the air conditioning unit was rather old and struggled to cope with the size of the room. There was plenty of wardrobe and tabletop space to house your belongings, as well as numerous power sockets. The shower was easy to control temperature-wise but there was nowhere to hang it up! The room had good size balconies and the view wasn't too bad. There was a large fridge in the room but it wasn't plugged in when we arrived. We got remote control units for both the TV and air conditioning unit upon check-in. The TV was angled strangely and only a minimal amount of channels were available, including all the locals and BBC World News (albeit in an illogical order). A window in the bathroom leads onto a shared shaft which was a little strange as we could hear whatever was going on in the next room's bathroom. Apart from that, the hotel was generally quiet and we slept well. If you're a light sleeper, the morning traffic noise may pose a problem for you though.

The cleaners don't wake you up too early but they carry minimal equipment with them so I wasn't completely sure what they got up to, as our towels weren't changed once in four days! Bins did get emptied daily. I felt the staircase could have been better lit; once night fell it became a little dangerous as it wasn't always easy to work out where to plant your feet.

The reception area is large and there are plenty of tables and sofas/chairs, where a lot of guests enjoyed mingling and chatting with others. Coffee was not always readily available, and there was no milk, but the reception staff were reasonably pleasant and helpful; I was able to borrow an iron for the duration of our stay, but sadly no ironing boards were available. Checkout is at 12pm, but the staff will happily store your luggage for you in a secure room at the back of the reception area until you need to leave. Checkout was quick and easy and the staff were helpful when we needed to print out our boarding passes (there's a netbook available for general use).

So, in conclusion, this is certainly not the Ritz but if you're looking for somewhere cheap, basic, comfortable, and centrally located, then this is the place for you, especially if you fill your days with sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I was there last week ,everyhing was ok .in my room were refrigerator and air conditioner. Everything in my room worked good. Room was clean and big with balcony. Near to the Acropolis and to the metro. I spend my time very good . Thanks for all

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimitris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very big and clean room with balcony,TV and refrigerator .The area is central everything was close to the hotel. In this area were many junkies but there is a small police substation at the entrance of the hotel , so we felt safe allday at the area of the hotel .I do not propose this hotel for family but is the best choice for solotravellers,couples and group of friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel is at a walking distance to all tourist sites Acropolis , Monastiraki, Sintagma also close to all restaurants and cafe .About 2 minutes to the metro station . Clean and big rooms with balcony. Comfortable beds. At the rooms is free Wi-Fi. Parking right across the street at a very convenient price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruslan_rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Very close to the Acropolis,Monastiraki and Plaka 10 minute walk away, you don't need public transport also is near many pubs bars clubs and restaurants Hotel is in perfect location for a Athens trip. Comfortable ,clean and big room. Free Wi-Fi, friendly staff.only problem is that in a hotel not offering breakfast, but you can have free coffee and tea all day

Room Tip: backside rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel thinking to myself "well the ratings on tripadvisor for the hotel are pretty good and I can deal with a sketchy area. My husband is a marine and besides, I am sure it's not as bad as everyone says." The area is absolutely as bad as all of the reviews say it is. I am scared to walk around Omonia at night. During the day it is not so bad. We did see someone being put in handcuffs as soon as we got off the metro coming from the airport.

This hotel is very close to all of the main attractions. You can walk anywhere you would ever want to go in Athens.

The hotel is very good value for the money. While the furniture and bathroom is dated, the room is very large. Our double bed was actually two singles pushed together. The shower head was not attached to the wall so that was a little weird. If I came back the Athens, I would definitely pay more for a different hotel. That being said, I am not impressed with Athens at all and will not come back here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkl0irnnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Pangrati
Pagration Youth Hostel
Pagration Youth Hostel
#186 of 281 in Athens
72 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#147 of 281 in Athens
318 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#145 of 281 in Athens
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#146 of 281 in Athens
266 reviews
Apollonion Hotel
#154 of 281 in Athens
7 reviews
Hotel Cosmos
#116 of 281 in Athens
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: 25 Menandrou, Athens 105 52, Greece (Formerly Amaryllis Inn)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: £17 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Soho Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing