We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Athens”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
gr
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Athens”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in Herodion Hotel. It is located in the base of Acropolis and we had a very nice view of Parthenon from our room. Rooms are very nice and clean, with elegant and comfortable furniture. Staff is very kind and helpful. You can have free wifi in your room if you have a personal laptop but if not ,there are several computers (charged) on the groud floor lobby. Acropolis metro station is five minutes away from the hotel. From there you can go anywhere in Athens. Acropolis (site and museum) are a few steps away. There are lot of places to eat around. Plaka, the old of Athens, is some minutes away. There is a nice roof garden with Jaguzzi pool!

Room Tip: Higher floors at the back side of hotel can have view in Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller-dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,074
    853
    184
    38
    14
See reviews for
435
998
128
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was the first time we stayed at the Herodion Hotel in Athens. We have stayed at several hotels in Athens, including many 5 star hotels but upon a friends recommendation we decided to try the Herodion and we LOVED it! It is very centrally located, right next to the Acropolis museum. The lobby is beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The service is impeccable. They have a wonderful, rich breakfast buffet.The staff are very friendly and helpful. Most importantly, it is probably one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The rooms are simple with very comfortable matresses. The only down side is the small size of the bathroom, but who cares when you open your window to a breathtaking view of the Acropolis!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The hotel is literally 30 meters from the side entrance to the museum.
You could have a jacuzzi on the roof garden with the acropolis in full view!!!! The view of the museum and the acropolis from the rooftop bar is amazing.
The staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costakis36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Walking distance to everything that you'll be seeing while in Athens. Great view of the Parthenon from the rooftop on a beautiful deck. Amazing restaurants (great one up the street actually) and others in the touristy areas as well. Had a great 3 night stay here. Didn't experience the problems of the review written before me, but if it's any concern, I stayed on the 2nd Floor and never had a problem or saw a thing! I'd recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCD_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My bed bugs bites are now healing but this has to be the WORST and most disgusting experience for me ever in all my times in Europe. People, stay away from this hotel or run the risk of being covered in bedbug bites. I stayed here 8 nights and at first I thought the bites were something else until I asked to be changed to another room where the bites got even worse and I felt the bites as if they were on my clothes (which they were). If I would have stayed another night at this hotel I would have needed a blood transfusion.

Yes when I complained at check out they gave us a night's free stay but that still doesn't change the fact that they have parasites in their rooms. People have the right to know this. As a matter of fact it's not only bed bugs that they have but cockroaches as there was also one in my room and when I went down to the reception to complain about this about 30 seconds later there was one which was crawling on the wall right behind the receptionist! When I pointed to it in a panic, the receptionist man didn't even turn around and instead just gestured to me to calm down and he said he knew. He casually got up and got the bug spray from behind the desk sprayed it until it fell to the ground. This is when I knew that the entire hotel was infested. Who keeps bug spray behind the desk unless it is frequently used???

Yes the hotel location was excellent and the hotel on the surface looks neat and clean but this is a useless facade when such serious problems are lingering under the surface as these parasites can and are known to carry diseases and deeply compromised my vacation. Not worth the stay unless you want to carry the bed bugs back to your home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank vasquezona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed at the Herodion in May 2011. There were three separate rooms in my party, all well attended to. Bathrooms were large and very clean by European standards, lobby was very nice. The rooftop was incredible. The lobby bar will serve food and drink on the roof, but you can also just sit and read or socialize. There is also a hot tub that I did not try.

The location is pretty perfect. Right below the Acropolis, but slightly away from the hullabaloo of the Plaka neighborhood. Breakfast was pretty good. Front desk was helpful in calling taxis when needed, door man was super helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACarey439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was my third or fourth stay at the Herodion. originally booked at their other hotel phillipos, staff kind enough to upgrade us to the herodion. Location is excellent in athens, good for exploring monastiraki/plaka/syntagma (all within walking distance). views of the acropolis. acropolis metro stop two blocks away. drink/snack kiosk across the street and cafes/bars/restaurants around the block. breakfast has big selection and good. only downside if any is the hotel may need an update/refurb in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grkjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing