We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super little hotel in excellent location”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super little hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Enjoyed a three night stay here with my 10 year old daughter. Ten minute walk from acropolis metro station and has fantastic views of the Parthenon and new acropolis museum. Easy walking distance to main sights in Athens such as Agora, Acropolis, Panathenaic stadium, Hadrian's Arch, Temple of Zeus. Easy to venture further afield using metro.
Our room was extremely comfortable and well equipped. Bathroom was very clean with tons of piping hot water (bath and shower). The beds were very comfortable and the room on the first floor at the front of the hotel was very quiet, special attention seems to have been given to this, we heard very little noise anywhere in the hotel. Breakfast was fresh, well presented and varied, and the freshly squeezed orange juice was frequently replenished and delicious.We ate in the hotel restaurant every night which was very quiet and relaxed with excellent food and very reasonably priced. It seemed underused and I would absolutely recommend it.
Staff were helpful and polite without exception and a minor problem with the bathroom sink was sorted promptly and without fuss.
The only improvement that I could suggest would perhaps be to offer free WiFi, at least in the main reception area as this would really help stay in touch with loved ones at home.
With any break in Athens the main attraction of course is the city itself and not where you are staying. Having said that, the Herodion certainly contributed to a wonderfully memorable trip and I would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psasrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel to spend a few days with your daughter and we are pleased your stay was a memorable one. Thank for your compliments regarding the staff , they do take pride in making everyone feel relaxed and at home. Especially your comments about the quality of the restaurant , the accoustics of the rooms as well as the comfort of our beds were very rewarding to our constant efforts. We would be honoured if you considered the Hotel Herodion your home in Athens and look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    861
    185
    38
    14
See reviews for
447
1,019
130
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I'd recommend this hotel if you want a central location, within walking distance of all the major central attractions.

Approx 500 metres from Akropoli Metro, we zoomed by metro from the airport into Syntagma, one stop to Akropoli then a short walk to the hotel. From leaving the airport, to sitting in a bar after checking in and freshening up - 90 mins.

Modern facilities, clean room, excellent hot water in the shower. We had a street view rather than a view of the Akropoli, but you don't spend long in a bedroom when in a city like Athens.

Great staff, very helpful and knowledgeable with good English.

Wide tasty choices for breakfast, coffee machine isn't great, but it's free!

Alos, a great way to see the Akropoli is to sit on the roof terrace or in the hot tub!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We're delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay in our beloved city and our hotel as well ! We can't wait for your return. Until then, please stay in touch with us and follow our posted city's events (Facebook is a great way)! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was recently at Herodion Hotel in Athens and i'd say we've been treated so well we would definitely come back..

I'm gonna list some downsides of the hotel, but they're very minimal that it's not really necessary..and though Herodion meets every 4 star that it has, there are details that they should probably consider..
- we didn't have bathrobes but just towels
-i happened to find dirty water on the ice cubes in the minibar
-room and bathroom was a little small (but it's just enough for a nice stay... and besides its a standard room size for any hotel in Athens, so nothing really serious about that)
-the wardrobe the carpeting and the dark green on the hallways are not really that smart for a space not so big.

:) considering all those, I wanna say that Herodion still met all our expectations and besides those few negative points, there are lots of things that has made our stay really really nice. All the personnel are nice, helpful and always smiling, the dining area is well designed and cosy (we didn't try their food though) as well as the reception area, the buffet breakfast is well served, they've got different dishes from salty to sweets to cereals and typical greek pastries, and what to say about rooftop garden and the jacuzzi area (absolutely superb!) the view of the parthenon from there at night is post-card like. Room cleaning is well done, and the area is absolutely a smart choice, there is a supermarket not far away and a convenience store just a few meters away from the hotel, the Acropolis is just a few minutes hike up, the Acropolis museum is just beside the hotel door, the metro is just a block away and the stop for the city sight seeing buses is just 50m away.. you could walk all your way to Plaka and Monesteraki areas which is a really nice stroll. we were also granted an Acropolis-view room which is really amazing, one little problem that others would encounter is the noise of the schoolchildren from the school behind the hotel but that is not until 10am which didn't really matter since we were always up before that in time in order to catch breakfast too, while during weekends that noise problem is not to be considered at all.


All in all, I'd definitely recommend Herodion to anybody and i'd definitely go back and stay there again the next time around.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BorderlessVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
It's great to hear that you enjoyed many elements of the stay including the location, breakfast, helpful personnel and views. Definitely, your recommendations will service us in improving for our future guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, please stay in touch through Facebook and contact us directly next time you wish to book so we can provide you with our best rates possible! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very well located, close to the Acropolis. Very small single room with a small bathroom. I don't like carpets in the room. Air conditioned very noisy. Bad breakfast. No free access to the Internet.
Personel at the reception desk were very kindly and helpfull.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIGUELD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for staying at the Herodion. We met your expectations regarding the location and the professionalism of our front desk but apparently not in other aspects. After discussing with our receptionists and breakfast staff , we realized that during your two day visit you never asked for a room change nor for a different dish from our buffet selection, in which case we would have been more than happy to accommodate you according to your personal preferences.

We hope that we will able to assist in making your trip special in your next visit and that should you return to Athens in the near future, would give us again the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is easy to find from the nearest Metro station. The rooms are on the small side but are clean and tidy. I booked an Acropolis room and so we benefitted from the lovely view and the early morning call from the local school! The breakfast was good with plenty of variety although I feel the cooked food and plates could be kept hotter. My wife and I had an evening meal at the hotel. The quality of the food was excellent and I would recommend anyone staying at the hotel to have a meal there.The drinks are on a par with local bars but the hotel was very quiet in the evening and I feel that they could reduce the prices a little to gain the custom of the residence.

Room Tip: Book an Acropolis view room. Bring your own kettle and tea or coffee for use in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We really like to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are able to benefit from a relaxing break with us and so I was delighted to read that you were happy with your Acropolis room and our breakfast and most of all the “excellent meal” you had at our winter garden restaurant.
We take into account your comment about the morning hot dishes and plates and we will pass it along to our staff . About the prices at the bar, having kept them constant for the past four years and compared to local prices at hotel bars, we constantly strive to be affordable, as you very well suggested to “to gain the custom of the residence” .
We always try, as a family business especially, to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for five nights in February when the hotel was quiet. I can only reinforce all the good things that have been said by others about the hotel. We were there during the General Strike and the hotel staff went out of their way to help us get to Delphi when all our other options were cancelled because of the lack of transport. Wonderful location with the tour bus stopping virtually outside the door. Lovely breakfast. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your warm comments about your stay at the Herodion hotel.

We are delighted to read that you found the location “wonderful” and the home made breakfast “lovely”.

It is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about our staff as they aim to make every guests’ stay memorable. I am pleased that our front desk personnel was especially flexible and efficient on a difficult day. I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto them and that their service is duly recognised.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Attractive hotel in a fantastic location. Friendly staff, very clean, tasty breakfast. Rooms are simple, but totally adequate after a day of sightseeing.

Expect "a small charge" for any amenities including wi-fi time. Although, 5 Euro for 15 minutes of jacuzzi bubbles with a view of the Acropolis under the stars was absolutely worthwhile.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poet_Physicist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
I would like to thank you personally for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location and the experience from our jacuzzi under the Acropolis as well as the breakfast, the cleanliness and most importantly the friendliness of our staff.

As much-valued guests, your review is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.
I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to our wonderful city of Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,239 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,720 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,974 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,981 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 326 in Athens
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing