We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location and great facilities”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best location and great facilities”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel sits by the south foot of the acropolis and we booked a room with a view to the Parthenon which is simply amazing. Besides that, the hotel has a great rooftop restaurant and bar and an amazing terrace with two jacuzzis also with a view to the Acropolis. The rooms are not too big, but comfortable and nice. Only problem was when we asked the concierge to book a restaurant for us for dinner and they simply forgot it. Of course when we checked to see if everything was ok for dinner, they didn't know anything about it and it was too late to get a table anywhere (no explanation was given). But I'd recommend the hotel nevertheless.

Room Tip: go for the room with Acropolis view, no doubt about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    860
    185
    38
    14
See reviews for
444
1,017
130
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

A very comfortable stay in a superb situation. The view of the Acropolis from the jacuzzi and the roof is inspiring. An evening on the roof is well worth the visit as the Acropolis becomes floodlit. A trip 'up the hill' adds to the experience and the new museum is well worth the visit. A siesta eased the stay as the Athens' Sun reached its peak and took its toll.

Definitely would return her.

Thank you.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We thank you for appreciating our Hotel as well as underlining the convenience it added to your trip. We appreciate your interest in sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community of travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed here twice now and once at the sister hotel around the corner. Herodion is located just around the corner from the Acropolis Museum, a block from the Acropolis itself, a few blocks from the Plaka and is surrounded by many wonderful restaurants. The staff is friendly, seem eager to help and the hotel itself is spotless. A great place to stay! We are there right now!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, facing the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmeg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in the Herodion on three separate occasions during a two-week Greek excursion. We were booked into this hotel by a travel agent who specializes in Greece, and this was what she recommended given our price range. We were not disappointed at all. All three rooms we stayed in were very nice - fairly modern (which is to our liking), roomy and comfortable. Our favorite was the room with the balcony, upon which we enjoyed evening cocktails with a view over the roofs of the surrounding neighborhood. Some rooms have a view of the Acropolis - but I think those are pricey. Our least favorite rooms were in the interior of the building - not bad, but not special. Staff were helpful and friendly. The location is fantastic - a great base station for exploring the city by foot, and reasonably close to a subway station for excursions further afield (and for getting to the airport). Very close to the Acropolis and the amazingly fantastic Acropolis Museum, and (to me this is a big plus) a few blocks outside the most egregiously touristy parts of Athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us; is wonderful to read that, overall, you enjoyed the atmosphere and the location of Herodion Hotel. It is true that our family run hotel is just 85 meters from the door of the new Acropolis Museum and only 258 meters from the Acropolis itself, while located in a genuine and tranquil neighbourhood.

We hope of having the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. In the meantime do keep in touch through our FaceBook page for news and events, packages and offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a very nice hotel conveniently located next to the Acropolis Museum and the Plaka. Service and amenities were top notch. The roof restaurant and bar have a great view of the Acropolis. The included breakfast was sumptuous and among the best we'd had. Our only reservation is that wifi was an additional charge and we always had to log on, but at 5€ for 3 nights, that was not a big deal. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms had a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nahaidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at this stylish hotel twice, before and after our trip to Santorini. Both times we found the staff incredibly helpful. We were able to store our large suitcases there while we were in Santorini. The hotel is comfortable, great beds/pillows and air-conditioning that works well. The second time we stayed, we had a room with a view of the Acropolis. The roof top restaurant is lovely too. Hotel is in a great location, right next to the Acropolis museum and only a short walk to the Plaka. This was the best hotel we stayed in during our 6 week trip. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for appreciating our hotel and thus giving substance to the efforts we all make. It is true that all of us, staff and administration together, invest in the well-being of our clients as the company’s motto is ‘we treat our clients as guest’.

We are glad to have added to your trip in our country and hope to see you again when coming to Athens. In the meantime do keep in touch through our FaceBook page for news and events, packages and offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotels location was good but the rooms were very tiny, the bathroom didn't have any amenities, no free wifi and they charge 5 euros to use the jacuzzi for 15 minutes. Could not believe that!!! Air-condition was really loud, only 1 english channel on tv (BBC News) and could barely hear anything over the loud AC. Our room came with a free continental breakfast which was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us, and rest assured that we take very seriously all of our clients' remarks as they help us to improve further wherever that may be possible.

Our staff is well known for its dedication to customer service, I am therefore sorry to hear that you did not request from our front desk to resolve the problem you had with the A/C or from the maid-in-charge to solve the lack of bathroom amenities, which are standard in all our rooms.

As for our pricing, we constantly encourage our guests to check our packages and offers from our website, where several amenities and services, such as the internet and/ or Jacuzzi are free.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel, and hope that you will give us the opportunity of ‘gaining' you as one of our many fans and –why not- regular guests, as the ones honouring our hotel for the last 37 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,237 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,972 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,979 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing