We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good value”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

very nice location, very nice and friendly staff. i had booked a luxury room with acropolis view and the view was truly spectacular. unfortunately the generator on the roof terrace above me kept on humming loudly all night and i had to eventually move rooms to the other side, street view. the second room was actually much bigger and the balcony was really more of a nice big terrace. another disadvantage of the rooms with acropolis view is the fact that there is a school with basketball court about 20 m opposite the rooms, so if you want to sleep longer than 7.45 am, i advise you to get a room facing the street and enjoy the acropolis view from the roof terrace. all in all, a good experience, especially because of the very helpful and friendly staff. PS: breakfast was very nice and offered many choices!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkspitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location! Is close to everything. For those going far, the metro station is very near of. We thought that the room was a little bit small for three people, but the beds were very comfortable. What bothered a bit was the carpet, we thought it might be another type of flooring. The Hotel is very quiet, was in a region with many bars and is very safe. The attendants were very polite. Has a great value for money. Be sure to enjoy the hotel's terrace, which is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janaprevidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the Herodion Hotel and for mentioning its great value for money. The location, the surrounding area, the calmness of the region, and all just 385m far from the Acropolis itself, prove to be facts very valuable to travelers.
We have taken note of your comment about the carpeting, yet let me point out that for some it proves a warm and cozy feeling. As for the room size please, if you decide to come back, check our web site for all types of rooms as you may find different categories.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Wonderful staff, a view of the Acropolis! Nothing negative to say at all. Always ask for a view of the Acropolis. Within walking distance of the Acropolis and many other ancient ruins. Next door to the new Acropolis Museum which is a must see and next door to Plaka!!

Room Tip: Always ask for a view of the acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mynoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

We are delighted to know that our hotel, with its ‘wonderful staff’ and its incomparable proximity to the Acropolis has added up to your enjoyment. Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My daughter and her friend, traveling during a study break thought they had booked a room at the Herodion Hotel for 5 days through a booking agency for a particular week in November, but they found out they were booked in for the wrong week after they were already headed for Greece. The hotel management couldn't have been more professional and accommodating in helping secure a room at their hotel when they arrived. Thank you for changing the reservation and for making the parents feel at ease in the states. My daughter raved about the breakfast daily and she also enjoyed several dinner meals and the chef was very accommodating. They visited about 10 of the favorite sites in Athens and they could walk to everything from the Herodion. The hotel has a great location, superb breakfast and puts customers first.
Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank marymac882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your high appreciation of our staff services and support to our clients; our aim is to make them feel as guests! And when parents are far away then it is even more important! We are very proud to have added to your daughter’s enjoyment and surely hope to welcome you ‘en famille’ in our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Once again our stay was excellent! First, the people...very friendly and professional staff - first class. They will take care of your questions, get you taxis (so you don't get ripped off) and provide you directions to wherever you want to go. The location is the best for the Acropolis, Plaka, the metro and is in a lovely section of town. The rooms are always clean and comfy cozy...especially the beds - large with plush toppers. The shower/bath is heaven sent - you don't want your grooming to end! A lovely roof garden overlooks the Acropolis and the Parthenon - delightful day or night. Morning breakfast provides for everyone - cereal, yogurt, fruit to eggs, bacon/sausage and many assorted breads and cheeses. YUM! My husband and I live on Crete and have enjoyed all our many stays at this exceptional hotel...we won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: You can request a room on the Acropolis side with balcony. If one is available, they will give it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for appreciating the best in us. Our non ending efforts for improvement have earned us loyal guests, such as you.
We will be expecting you when traveling to Athens, and in the mean time check our website for offers and ideas, especially as Xmas is approaching!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Very close to the Acropolis museum (50 m), the hotel's restaurant has a panoramic & amazing view of the Parthenon and its museum (even if closed at midday).
The room was small but nice, clean & confortable.
The staff were always kind and helpfull.
Nice breakfast choice in a small room (a pitty they don't use the terrace for it).
Jacuzzi but with extra cost.
A really good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgataLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

‘A really good choice’ : we are proud to have left you such an impression!

Thank you for taking time to share it with the Trip Advisor travelers; we will be looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here after a search for a hotel and found positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Not the least disappointed-great welcome, beautiful, comfortable lobby and nice skylights over the dining room.
Our room was not on the side of the Acropolis but still pleasant, size as per Europe with great balcony. Extra pleasant staff always ready to help in any way. The breakfast was a bonus and complete with hot, cold, fruit, Mediterranean and Western choices in a bright room with , again, good service. The rooftop was extraordinary and although it was November, the fountain was lit and chairs were still available. The hot tub was working but we did not use it. The view of the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum, especially at night, was fabulous and we spent each evening out there enjoying a perfect view.
Although there was no free Wi Fi in the rooms, there were computers alongside the lobby which also had a printer so online check-in was easy. The location was perfect within short distance to the Acropolis, the museum, the Metro and many restaurants, both touristy and local. The Hop-on/off stopped within a few meters of the door.
Could we ask for more during our stay? Not likely and the price was a bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for appreciating us as ‘Great Place’. Thank you for mentioning that in addition to all you enjoyed the price was a bonus. We respect and credit the choice of our clients, when coming to our hotel, therefore we, the management and the entire staff, exceed in our efforts on every aspect. We hope of having the pleasure to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,485 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 284 in Athens
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 284 in Athens
1,756 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,307 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#18 of 284 in Athens
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £83 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing