We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice location”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice location”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Only some hundred meters from Acropolis and some meters from Acropolis museum. Some minutes away from Plaka with its restaurants and bars.
If you want to see Athens it is the right location.
Also with a rooftop, where you can find also two Jacuzzis and a nice view to the Acropolis.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guenther544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guenther544

Thank you for your praise of HERODION Hotel and your positive comments on our roof top terrace and the Jacuzzis which due to their view are a lifetime experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    872
    189
    38
    14
See reviews for
454
1,035
135
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We've been staying at the Herodion for years and what we enjoy is that it continues to improve. They recently updated their atrium with a step up both in the food and wine selections. They have also updated the lobby while maintaining its charm and warmth. As far as location there is no better selection in Athens for access to the historical sites (New Acropolis Museum and Parthenon), plus there are several wonderful restaurants in the area. Don't forget to take in the view from the roof garden.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear DLS53

Such comments from visitors that know us are priceless. Such loyalty, of which we are seriously proud, give us all the oomph to continue our efforts. Thank you and be sure that next time you come we will have added something more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I had a fantastic stay in the herodion hotel, the location is great, the views from the rooms and from the rooftop jacuzzi and restaurant is just breathtaking. The entire team is nice and helpful. It is so easy to go to any place from this hotel, the acropolis is just a Jew steps, the new acropolis museum is next door, plaka area is also at a few steps. I had all my dinner at the rooftop restaurant because the views are unique and the food is so good.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Marcel P

It makes us sooooo proud to read of a fantastic stay and we are very happy to have added to that. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

the best added value that i was able to get in Athen, best location ic very close to the Acropolis himself, to the Acropolis Museum and to the Acropolis promenade walkway it is in the center of the most importent places of the town.

Room Tip: as higher as you may get and with the viwe to the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear haim k

We are proud to have earned your recommendation.
Rest assured that we will pass on the recognition to our team who will be thrilled of your recognition.
We could not ask for a better review than one that promises a return. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A wonderful place to stay close to the Plaka and the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. The staff was very helpful, especially when our luggage did not arrive. They made phone inquiries to the airline/airport and kept us informed of when our bags would arrive. I din not get names of everyone who cared for us, but Lucas, Christos, and Vasso at the front desk were welcoming and willing to help. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop is amazing, especially at night. Nice cafes, a wonderful bakery, and shopping are within short walking distances. The housekeeping staff made sure we had what we needed and kept the room immaculately clean. The breakfast is extensive and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyJ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear KathyJ166

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and neighbourhood. We will pass on your comments regarding the team, and especially to Lucas, Christos and Vasso, but also to the housekeeping staff. Thank you for noticing and underlining their effort.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you when you visit next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel is located very close to the new Acropolis museum and about 3-4 min walk from the Acropolis train station. The hotel has a nice view of the Parthenon from the Roof Top terrace. On the negative side, the room didn't have a kettle, which I was told is offered only in the 'superior' rooms. The Wi-Fi is not free and the connection dropped every 10 minutes....expected a better wi-fi service especially after paying for it. The room was however comfortable though not in the 'Superior' category as termed by one of the gentlemen at the reception! A good hotel but value for money? Not really...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear archana b

Thank you for communicating your impressions from your stay. It is more or less common practice in many important city hotels world wide to differentiate their rooms according to specific qualities; therefore it comes to us as a surprise the fact that you underline such diversification, which in our case relies on view characteristics and size. All our rooms are equally comfortable and equipped, as for the need of a kettle the non ‘superior’ rooms may have one upon request. WiFi is free in the lounge and the entire reception area, with four (4) computers and a printer available free of charge to our clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This is a fairly small and simple hotel, clean, bright and convenient. It proved to be an ideally situated base for a short stay in the city, especially for us as tourists, close to the Acropolis and open city areas. The city tour buses stop just up the road. All of the staff were all warm, friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean. The rooms are clean and bright and adequately equipped: those at the rear, for a small upgrade, look across a school and up to the Acropolis. The roof top bar and two jacuzzi baths would be great in Summer. Breakfast was good, with a range of hot and cold dishes in a smart modern dining room. There is a big open bar and meeting area behind the reception. Absolutely all you need for a short city stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Arthur D

It will be our honour to welcome you again, when visiting Athens, in our “great location” in order to offer you “great service”.
Thank you for your time to write about your stay; our team at the reception, the cleaning ladies as well as the cooks will be thrilled to hear that their efforts have been underlined and appreciated; thank you so much for noticing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,764 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing