We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Comfortable”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

In a city like Athens you want to be assured of peace and quiet and proximity to the main sights. This is our second visit to the Herodion because it ticks both boxes and also has friendly staff and a good breakfast buffet too. Plaka is a pleasant walk to the north east and there is a wide pedestrian promenade behind the hotel at the base of the Acropolis which was built for the 2004 Olympics and is a pleasant stroll to the Monastiraki area where we spend a lot of time exploring markets and shops selling everything from spices to fish via tools, army surplus and shoes. On a Sunday there is a flea market on this route where Athenians take the air. Standard rooms are basic. The nicer ones are on the 4th floor overlooking the Acropolis and the neighbourhood junior school. The roof terrace is a great place to catch some sun. We will be back. Book direct for the best prices.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Carts123


We are honoured to have earned a repeat visit, it was a pleasure to welcome you back!

Yes, you are right to keep checking our web site (and liking our face book page) for offers and traveling proposals.

We can't wait to say hello a third time, and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were looking forward to our trip to athens and hoping that the hotel was good but it exceeded all our expectations! Ideal location , and perfect accommodation . We even invited our Greek friends over and they were impressed . Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Shropshier Lauren


We are exceptionally happy when we can exceed the expectations of TripAdvisor reviewers, and even more happy when they become ambassadors of our hotel to other Greeks! Thank you. It will be our honour to welcome you again when visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at Herodion hotel for 2 nights in January 2014. Hotel reception were excellent: very nice and helpful and the rooms were great too. When we complained that our room was missing extra amenities (it was a superior double), they apologized and directly provided all that was missing. And the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

The hotel's breakfast was excellent. A very wide variety of food to suit all tastes and fresh orange juice was available.

We had dinner at their lobby restaurant. Food was good and the prices were very reasonable.

To sum up, Herodion hotel is an excellent choice for a visit to Athens.

Room Tip: superior double.. with acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carinez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear carinez2014

We are very proud to have earned your endorsement and recommendation. Thank you for choosing HERODION, and we hope your next trip may come about soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel is very nice, just next to Acropolis Museum and two minutes away from Akropoli metro station. Hotel has a nice, modernist design concept in the loby and bar areas. We stayed in the triple room at 3rd floor. Our room was looking a bit older but comfortable. I cannot stay it was "spotless clean" but average. There was a sliding door system opening to a french balcony which was overlooking the street.
Although the hotel is located on a central street, it was very silent during the night.
Bathroom was big enough and water pressure was fine. The only problem was the short separator on the bathtub, bc of this, after the shower all floor was wet.
Staff is very helpful, smiling and practical. Breakfast was satisfying but do not expect a large variety of food.
The only negative thing about the hotel was paid internet in the rooms (but free of charge in the lobby & bar area). I'm having difficulties in understanding it at this era of internet.
There is a roof terrace which you can use if the weather is fine during winter. It has a nice panoramic view of the city.

In general, I definitely recommend the hotel considering its reasonable price and good location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bunraku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear bunraku

Thank you for your time to write about your stay with us. We are proud to have earned your recommendation.
It is true that being a family run hotel gives us the chance to communicate a specific atmosphere to our guests, both through the attentiveness of our team as well as the hand picked designer’s and artist’s items that decorate all hotel areas.
The hotel’s location is an upscale Athenian neighborhood acknowledged for its proximity to the most important sites of antiquity, both of which you have so well enjoyed.
Among other aspects of our hotel for which we are proud are the 50 different variety of choices one is offered during the morning buffet breakfast mostly home and freshly made , of course the cleanliness for which we so often gain top score!

Please do not hesitate the check out our site with the best available rates and the packages with free internet.
We sincerely hope of having the opportunity to welcome you again back to HERODION HOTEL, and hopefully enjoy dinner at our roof top restaurant which you were acquainted with during a sunny winter day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

If you want to have views of the Parthenon and be within walking distance of the Plaka and the metro, this is a good hotel. The rooms are neat and clean; the staff helpful. A meal on the roof looking at the Parthenon is a great way to end the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear WaterArt

It will be our honor to welcome you again, when visiting Athens, in our “great location” and terrace with the amazing view of the Acropolis.
Thank you for sharing the impressions of your stay with the Trip Advisor traveling community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

First impressions count! Ours of Herodion was walking through a cloud of cigarette smoke at the front doors to get to reception. This was because the lobby and restaurant are smoke free but they allow smokers to sit on the ledge at the front door and puff away. Of course the smoke pours in when the doors open. I was then surprised to learn this hotel had smoking floors-wow is this the 80s still. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful but were unusable by me as an asthmatic as they constantly stank of smoke. Our room was clean, with plenty of storage space, but the beds were the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on(this was our 12th hotel on our 11month world trip). I asked the staff whether these were standard throughout the hotel and they were shocked to learn that I found then so uncomfortable. A 10cm mattress on a hard base isn't something I think most people will find comfortable. Sleeping was made even more difficult by the very loud air conditioner unit located within the central courtyard of the hotel. It turned on every 15 minutes and rattled away all night.
The staff are the reason this hotel is so highly rated. They are outstanding and will do almost anything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They moved us to a different room and while my bed was the same, my daughter slept on a pull out sofa lounge with a "normal" mattress and had a much better sleep for our last 2 nights.
The breakfast buffet is excellent, with a variety of choices to suit all tastes. The fresh OJ was a particular favourite.
This hotels location is also a plus. It's a 5 minutes walk to the Acropolis Museum and entrance and a few more to the subway. The roof top garden has a spectacular view of the acropolis, particular at night.
Would I stay in this hotel again, no I wouldn't, simply because of the smoking!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the Acropolis, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natandymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Natadymac

The facts are that, we are a non-smoking hotel, only in one specific block of rooms smoking is allowed thus respecting our smokers-clients, which according to a review by the WHO in 2013 still account to ¼ of the adult population. Especially in our spacious non smoking lobby it is impossible to have any such negative smell from the outside entrance as the one you mention and of course the smoke cannot possibly pour in the hotel from some smokers that might happen to be sitting outside, through our two divisions of double automatic doors. The everyday reality shows that very few guests smoke outside the hotel , therefore your disappointment comes as a great surprise.
In respect to the quality of sleep, all our hotel has equipped with the Cocomat bedding system. COCO-Mat is a leader for natural sleep products in Europe. Our bedding system comprise of three layers, a bed base, mattress and topper all with natural materials like natural rubber , completely metal free to offer you comfort, elasticity and support. Especially the top layer is filled with goose down that compliments the other two and supports even to the lightest part of the body. It is important to us, as a family business to offer quality in all areas, It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy it.
We are also sorry that you did not address yourself to the front desk in respect to the loud air conditioner; our 24h maintenance service would have done everything in their power to solve the problem, if there was one.
Thank you for mentioning our hotel’s impeccable cleanliness, the outstanding staff, the excellent breakfast and the ‘plus’ of our location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Beautiful room and look from the roof. On the other side, the view from the room was not so nice. A free internet connection would have been better. The staff was really nice and willing. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashtoash80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear ashtoash80

Thank you for your comprehensive review and endorsement. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,964 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,464 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,749 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £75 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing