We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location to stay!!”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Herodion Hotel is a very good choice for people who want to visit the most interesting attractions of Athens without spending time in transport. It is about 200m of the Acropolis museum and 150m of the metro station. From the roof garden bar-restaurant you have an excellent view at the Acropolis Rock!!!
The rooms are renovated and simply decorated but they are very clean!!!!! Only the bath is old and very small. The staff is very kind and helpful!! The restaurant in the ground floor is very beautiful and warm decorated!!!!
The breakfast is very good but not equal to a 4 stars hotel. It’s a little expensive hotel but it’s in a very quiet and great location!!! I stayed 3 days in May 2014 and I recommend it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Elena2508

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
Let me remind our readers that our enriched American – Greek breakfast is offered with over 50 different variety of choices with details such as freshly squeezed oranges from Lakonia, olives from Epidavros, cheese pie and bougatsa with home made phyllo, hot loukoumades with honey from Argos ,among so many other plates carefully prepared every morning from our caring breakfast kitchen team headed by Eleni. I am sure that next time you will find our breakfast even more appealing.
To have earned your recommendation makes us very proud and engages us in bigger efforts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,227 of 2,417 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here for one night at the start of our two week European vacation. The hotel was in a great location and we easily walked to the Acropolis and to the hop-on, hop-off bus stop. There were also many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel itself was very nice and well-kept. The roof top offered an excellent view of the Parthenon. The rooms were small, but clean. The breakfast buffet had a little bit of everything and the food was very good. If I returned to Athens, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Parthenon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoJillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear ChicagoJilio

There is no better compliment and valid comment than a promise to return.
Thank you, and we surely hope to welcome you again, all 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very nice hotel, close to the most interesting points in athens.
My room was so small, with a single bed. During the night I heard a noise sound from a motor, like compressor. I worked every 30 min, for 10 min, during all night long. It really bothers a lot.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Paulista05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Paulista05

First, thank you for your Tripadvisor report! We greatly appreciate the compliments on the hotel especially coming from a Senior Contributor.
Second, let me apologise for your inconvenience; it is a pity you did not mention anything to our staff while being with us, yet even at this point your feedback will be taken into consideration for addressing the issue.
Taking honest feedback and acting upon it is our best approach to ensuring that your next visit will be an-absolutely-positive one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location was a very easy, short walk to the Acropolis Museum, Acropolis and Parliament. The staff was like a big, happy family. The desk service, breakfast staff, roof top restaurant staff and inside bar staff were excellent. They even loaned us pashminas for the cool evening dinner at the roof top restaurant overlooking the Acropolis. The view of the Acropolis from our patio was gorgeous, especially at night. Only downside was having to pay extra for the rooftop hot tub.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an Acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Kathy B

Your brilliant review is incredibly motivating for us and our team and we are very grateful the you took time to write about us. Our hotel has been ‘a-family-affair’ for all the 38 years since it started operating, and remains so for all of us! We take care of our clients as being our guests and make every possible effort to offer them the best. In that context you may justify the extra pay for the roof top Jacuzzi as it is the only way to ensure the enjoyment of full access in an ultra clean tub for all our guests, to monitor efficiently the quality of this facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location - across the street from the new Acropolis Museum - you can walk to the Plakka, the Acropolis, the subway station very easily. The hotel itself is OK. The rooms are clean, but small. The buffet breakfast is very good and they will make you a cappuccino on request. The desk staff is very helpful and accommodating. Great view of the Acropolis from the terrace (where there is also a bar). Although there is free wi-fi in the lobby (and computers you can use) there is a charge for wi-fi in your room. There is also a 5 euro charge to use the hot tub.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Carol S

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review. We appreciate the positive comments you afforded us and the feedback on our location, the front desk staff, the wi-fi.
We receive many positive comments about our ideal location which is so close to almost everything that is important and has easy access to public transport. Yet we are proud to say that for us –even if it is the major- it is not the only five-point merit of our hotel, as the quality of service and hospitality is highly praised by our guests thus honouring us with such ranking.
Concerning the wi-fi, we understand that some other hotels/ restaurants may not charge for such service; at the moment we have elected to do so only in the lobby and not in the rooms thus enabling our guests to have easy access.
We urge you to check our web site for travelling ideas and packages which very often include free wi-fi for your entire stay, which we hope to be soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights and found the hotel to be very nice, well located and the staff to be very helpful. After we left we realized we had left a Tablet and a piece of jewelry I had bought for my wife in the safe. We called the hotel from the airport and they quickly sent someone up to the room to retrieve our items which were promptly sent back to us. We found the included breakfast buffet to be excellent and there was a very interesting newsstand right outside of the hotel that stocks a fine selection of beverages including some excellent Greek beer, FIX and Alpha which were handy to take to the hot tubs that overlook the Acropolis.

Sincerely, Richard H

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Richard H

Thank you for endorsing HERODION Hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you underlining the efficiency of our staff and the location of the hotel. Truly enough the experience of Jacuzzi under the Attica blue sky at the foot of the Acropolis is one of our hotel’s highlights. Yet you did not have to depend on the news stand for a cool bear: our bar operates 24/7 and offers draught FIX as well as wonderful and reasonably priced house cocktails from our bartenders!
Nevertheless we would like to add that the local Tax Authorities do not allow any consumption from our guests brought from outside sources.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here 2 nights on our return home to U.S. from Crete (travel agent recommended seeing Athens on the way home rather than at the start of our trip to have jet lag behind us, which was great advice!). This was the perfect place to stay because time was short and we could easily walk to everything we wanted to see. The Acropolis museum is a block away and we discovered that the entrance to the Acropolis itself that's closest to the museum is less crowded without a line to get in (at least in the end of May!). The tour buses all use the main entrance. As mentioned, their roof top bar and Acropolis view is stunning. We only had a standard room without view - in fact almost no view at all because it faced an interior courtyard - but that was fine with us because we were only in the room to sleep. If you're staying longer than 2 nights I'd recommend asking for a larger room but for us, it worked. The lobby and bar area is really comfortable and lovely and the ample breakfast buffet was a real bonus. Fabulous location, enjoyable stay, decent price...no complaints!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ConnieD

It was a pleasure to have you stay at HERODION and I am happy to hear that the advice to visit us after enjoying the beautiful island of Crete was correct, thus giving you the opportunity of an exceptional closure to your trip.
Next time you travel overseas, we certainly hope to welcome you again through our doors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,931 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,418 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,739 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £78 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing