We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Athens”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel in Athens”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Herodion last week and it was truly excellent. The best possible location in Athens close to the Acropolis and the center of the city. The staff was really great, friendly and helpful in every way possible. The hotel is spotless and the lobby lounge and restaurants are very tastefully decorated and comfortable as are the rooms. The rooftop restaurant left us speechless when we fist walked outside and saw the views of the Acropolis and the museum right next door. The food was excellent in the restaurant as well. We thoroughly enjoyed or stay and will absolutely stay here again on our next trip to Athens!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    872
    189
    39
    14
See reviews for
454
1,036
135
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Herodion Hotel is a very good choice for people who want to visit the most interesting attractions of Athens without spending time in transport. It is about 200m of the Acropolis museum and 150m of the metro station. From the roof garden bar-restaurant you have an excellent view at the Acropolis Rock!!!
The rooms are renovated and simply decorated but they are very clean!!!!! Only the bath is old and very small. The staff is very kind and helpful!! The restaurant in the ground floor is very beautiful and warm decorated!!!!
The breakfast is very good but not equal to a 4 stars hotel. It’s a little expensive hotel but it’s in a very quiet and great location!!! I stayed 3 days in May 2014 and I recommend it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Elena2508

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.
Let me remind our readers that our enriched American – Greek breakfast is offered with over 50 different variety of choices with details such as freshly squeezed oranges from Lakonia, olives from Epidavros, cheese pie and bougatsa with home made phyllo, hot loukoumades with honey from Argos ,among so many other plates carefully prepared every morning from our caring breakfast kitchen team headed by Eleni. I am sure that next time you will find our breakfast even more appealing.
To have earned your recommendation makes us very proud and engages us in bigger efforts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here for one night at the start of our two week European vacation. The hotel was in a great location and we easily walked to the Acropolis and to the hop-on, hop-off bus stop. There were also many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel itself was very nice and well-kept. The roof top offered an excellent view of the Parthenon. The rooms were small, but clean. The breakfast buffet had a little bit of everything and the food was very good. If I returned to Athens, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Parthenon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear ChicagoJilio

There is no better compliment and valid comment than a promise to return.
Thank you, and we surely hope to welcome you again, all 5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, close to the most interesting points in athens.
My room was so small, with a single bed. During the night I heard a noise sound from a motor, like compressor. I worked every 30 min, for 10 min, during all night long. It really bothers a lot.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paulista05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Paulista05

First, thank you for your Tripadvisor report! We greatly appreciate the compliments on the hotel especially coming from a Senior Contributor.
Second, let me apologise for your inconvenience; it is a pity you did not mention anything to our staff while being with us, yet even at this point your feedback will be taken into consideration for addressing the issue.
Taking honest feedback and acting upon it is our best approach to ensuring that your next visit will be an-absolutely-positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthem, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location was a very easy, short walk to the Acropolis Museum, Acropolis and Parliament. The staff was like a big, happy family. The desk service, breakfast staff, roof top restaurant staff and inside bar staff were excellent. They even loaned us pashminas for the cool evening dinner at the roof top restaurant overlooking the Acropolis. The view of the Acropolis from our patio was gorgeous, especially at night. Only downside was having to pay extra for the rooftop hot tub.

Room Tip: Pick a room with an Acropolis view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Kathy B

Your brilliant review is incredibly motivating for us and our team and we are very grateful the you took time to write about us. Our hotel has been ‘a-family-affair’ for all the 38 years since it started operating, and remains so for all of us! We take care of our clients as being our guests and make every possible effort to offer them the best. In that context you may justify the extra pay for the roof top Jacuzzi as it is the only way to ensure the enjoyment of full access in an ultra clean tub for all our guests, to monitor efficiently the quality of this facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location - across the street from the new Acropolis Museum - you can walk to the Plakka, the Acropolis, the subway station very easily. The hotel itself is OK. The rooms are clean, but small. The buffet breakfast is very good and they will make you a cappuccino on request. The desk staff is very helpful and accommodating. Great view of the Acropolis from the terrace (where there is also a bar). Although there is free wi-fi in the lobby (and computers you can use) there is a charge for wi-fi in your room. There is also a 5 euro charge to use the hot tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Carol S

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review. We appreciate the positive comments you afforded us and the feedback on our location, the front desk staff, the wi-fi.
We receive many positive comments about our ideal location which is so close to almost everything that is important and has easy access to public transport. Yet we are proud to say that for us –even if it is the major- it is not the only five-point merit of our hotel, as the quality of service and hospitality is highly praised by our guests thus honouring us with such ranking.
Concerning the wi-fi, we understand that some other hotels/ restaurants may not charge for such service; at the moment we have elected to do so only in the lobby and not in the rooms thus enabling our guests to have easy access.
We urge you to check our web site for travelling ideas and packages which very often include free wi-fi for your entire stay, which we hope to be soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights and found the hotel to be very nice, well located and the staff to be very helpful. After we left we realized we had left a Tablet and a piece of jewelry I had bought for my wife in the safe. We called the hotel from the airport and they quickly sent someone up to the room to retrieve our items which were promptly sent back to us. We found the included breakfast buffet to be excellent and there was a very interesting newsstand right outside of the hotel that stocks a fine selection of beverages including some excellent Greek beer, FIX and Alpha which were handy to take to the hot tubs that overlook the Acropolis.

Sincerely, Richard H

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Richard H

Thank you for endorsing HERODION Hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you underlining the efficiency of our staff and the location of the hotel. Truly enough the experience of Jacuzzi under the Attica blue sky at the foot of the Acropolis is one of our hotel’s highlights. Yet you did not have to depend on the news stand for a cool bear: our bar operates 24/7 and offers draught FIX as well as wonderful and reasonably priced house cocktails from our bartenders!
Nevertheless we would like to add that the local Tax Authorities do not allow any consumption from our guests brought from outside sources.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,761 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing