We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location to see the sights”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal Location to see the sights”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights and to see the sights of the Acropolis an be close to Plaka etc it is a god location. The taxi's charge a flat 35Euro to the C BD so you might as well stay close to the tourist sights an close to highway to access the port area to join a cruise. From when we arrived the staff were very friendly and assisted with any questions.the rooms are a good size, large bathrooms clean etc. and we had good Wi-Fi in our rooms. The rooftop bar an restaurant offers great views an good way to unwind. The breakfast is great with a wide choice and is continually topped up even five minutes before due to close which was great and lovely staff in that area. Great value hotel and would definitely stay again when in Athens.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Trevor F


Your promise of return is the best feedback for us. Thank you! Until then we will not stop improving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    860
    185
    38
    14
See reviews for
444
1,017
130
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Herodian has three types of rooms.
The first are the Acropolis view rooms on the upper floors at the rear of the hotel. Very nice, most expensive. The second are the city view rooms, mostly at the front of the hotel. The top floor rooms have balconies that look out over the neighborhood; we had one of these. The third category of rooms has a view only of a light well in the middle of the hotel. You get the benefits of the location and amenities of the Herodian, but no view whatsoever.
The hot tubs closed at 9 p.m. In a city that doesn't even start thinking about dinner until 8:00 or 8:30 p.m., this seems too early. Nevertheless the deck with the 2 hot tubs and the bar/restaurant on the floor above are very nice. Needless to say the restaurant stays open later. Finally, there are a number of very comfortable seating areas in the hotel lobby, some quite quiet and out-of-the-way. You can bring your book or tablet down to a corner of the lobby, order something to drink, and spend a very pleasant hour. On the whole, the Herodian a very good hotel that it is easy to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrSteve316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear MrSteve316


We cannot thank reviewers like yourself enough! I thank you for describing us as a “very good hotel that is easy to recommend”! The types of rooms you mention are also described in detail in our site; one addition to what you mention is that the standard rooms with internal courtyard views have mural paintings created by Jason, a promising young Greek street artist, who has tried to mingle the present with the past! As for the Jacuzzi that closes at 21:00 for safety reasons, yes sometimes I myself feel the urge to enjoy a drink while sipping a cocktail, but fortunately enough I can do so earlier as the Cocktail Bar and Restaurant open at 19:00!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here twice during month of May, 3 nights at firsta nd one night on oru return from the Greek Islands. The locatino is perfect. we can easily walk to the Acropolis and are within easy walking distance to Plaka. The hotel itself isexcellent and the rooms ample size, clean and the staff are very helpful There are I believe 3 computers downstairs available to guests at no cost, including the use of a printer. From the roof where there is a restauarant one has spectular views of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear PeteArgentina


Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are especially pleased that apart from the location and the excellence of the rooms, you also comment on our team, both at the reception and in the rooms, as having a positive impact on your stay; we will share your comments with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

For those of you staying just a night or two in Athens and planning to hit all of the sights - I highly recommend the Herodion Hotel. While it's not 5-star, it's definitely comfortable and perfectly located to all of the major sightseeing you may want to tackle.

We arrived just before Sunset and had dinner on the rooftop restaurant, Point A, looking at the Acropolis. The hotel is only 289 meters (so it says on the menu ;)) from the Acropolis. This allowed us to get up, have a lovely complimentary breakfast and get to the Acropolis by foot before 8am (when it opens). I highly recommend you do this, because by 9:30am it's crawling with tourists.

The hotel is also located 2 blocks from the Plaka and immediately next to the New Acropolis Museum.

The staff is lovely and the rooms are clean and efficient. Perfect for a quick trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Joni K


We are very proud to have earned your “high” recommendation. Thank you. I also thank you for sharing with the rest of the TripAdvisor community your impression of HERODION being a 5* hotel, when it is 4* but, yes, we present our guests with many added values!

As for the distance from your seat when dining at POINTa: it is 289m; truly soooo close!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Loved our stay at Herodion, the staff were friendly, accommodating and very helpful. Rooms were spacious and very clean and our view was awesome. Furthermore, the view from upstairs where we had dinner was great. Superb.

Room Tip: Get a room looking up at the Acropolis if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Carol C


Thank you for your “superb” feedback; we wish you a joyful cruise, and hope to see you again at HERODION hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in early June and had a great experience. It is a short walk from the Acropolis metro station (I recommend turning right out of the metro station instead of left to avoid dragging luggage over cobblestones - right onto Makrigianni then right on Chatzichristou which turns into Rivertou Galli). The service was amazing: we arrived early and our room was ready, the front desk was very helpful, the waiters at the rooftop restaurant were polite and knowledgeable, they kept our bags when we left for a day trip to Delphi. The Acropolis museum and the Acropolis are a short walk away and there are also many excellent restaurants nearby in the Plaka, as well as an outdoor market for souvenirs.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of good options - Greek yogurt included. No olives or tomatoes; they seem to be catering to the crowd from the US and other European countries (e.g. no Greek coffee at breakfast).

The room and bathroom were smallish, but not by European standards. If you are used to a good hair dryer, beware that the one in this hotel is the kind that looks like a small vacuum cleaner and is not very powerful - it would be difficult to straighten your hair with it. I recommend buying one in Greece if you want to use a regular one while you are there. The toiletries were decent, but we did notice that most hotels did not have conditioner (we stayed in 5 different hotels in Greece). It's easy to find a place to just buy a big bottle of it while you are there.

The rooftop restaurant has a wonderful view of the Parthenon and it is a treat to watch the sun go down as the Parthenon lights up at night. The food was great and, in typical Greek style, no one is rushing to get you out the door quickly - very relaxing after a long flight!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COBLittleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear COBLittleRock


Your feedback is precious to us, thank for taking time to share your impressions with the other TrAdv travellers.

At HERODION Hotel we value personal service to the extent that it supports the needs of our guests while giving them a bit of oomph! Your description does justice to all the hotel information in the best possible way, and we thank you for that. Moreover this is why I simply have to underline that it is just impossible that you missed our home made Greek Kalamon olives, the plate of fresh red Greek tomatoes and Greek coffee boiled in the warmth of the sand –the traditional way!

If the above do not justify for a return, then we hope to see you for the enjoyment of a relaxing roof top drink!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was very appropriate for my stay in Athens. I chose it because of its distance to the Acropolis and the fantastic view from its rooftop of the Acropolis and I was not disappointed. It was very clean, with a lovely décor and some quirky art pieces in the lobby that I liked. I did not need to use any public transportation for my visits to some of Athens’ major tourist attractions because I could walk to them from this hotel, and I do not mind a reasonable walk. It is very close to the Acropolis, and the Acropolis museum, and I was able to see the Acropolis both during the day and at night. It was also a walkable distance to Plaka with its numerous stores and restaurants. Breakfast was good with a lot of choices in a lovely restaurant. The view from the rooftop terrace of the Acropolis is truly good as I read in the reviews of the hotel before I chose it. Also, I did have a great plate of Moussaka at the hotel restaurant, and dinners in the restaurant are good and reasonably priced. One major negative for me is that there is no wifi in the rooms so we had to come down to the lobby to use wifi. Evenings in the lobby looked like people hanging out in an expensive Starbucks because everyone came down with their phones or laptops to use the internet. However, the staff made me hot chocolate to enjoy as I used the internet in the lobby so that made me feel better. I enjoyed staying at this hotel and may stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabGlobetrotter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear FabGlebetrotter03


I am thrilled to hear that we have not disappointed you and thank you for the detailed description of all the aspects of HERODION Hotel. I am very happy that you have ‘spotted’ the artistic touch of our interior decoration; we make endless efforts to ensure that our guests upon leaving will take with them the feeling of contemporary Greece may it be through what they see in terms of art or what they taste [breakfast or meals or house cocktails].

We will be thrilled to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,237 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,972 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,979 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing