We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved the front lobby area. It was spacious and comfortable. The atrium cafe inside is just a great place to sit, read, relax with a snack. The rooftop view of the Acropolis is exceptional, not to mention its view of the Acropolis Museum. Relax in the rooftop hot tub, get some sun, have a drink and a meal. I liked the rooms; they're larger than I'd expect in Greece hotels. I only wis the hallways were painted such a dark color. Staff was very helpful (getting our room ready ASAP and also help with getting a car rental.) Its location is perfect for tourists: a couple blocks to the Acropolis, the Museum, wonderful local restaurants. We stayed at several Athens hotels during our trip to Greece, and we liked this the best.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms definitely give you a better view of the Acropolis. Lower floors have views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTP1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Antony V


Having earned your “best” vote among many other prestigious hotels of our city is a true honour. We thank you for reviewing the impressions of your trip on TripAdvisor, As for the colour of the corridor, yes racing green is a rather dark colour but it was selected by the architect in order to counter balance the brightness of the summer sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    884
    190
    39
    14
See reviews for
463
1,057
138
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in the Herodion hotel on the way to our daughters wedding. First impressions were lovely the staff were welcoming and helpful after our long journey from the UK. Our luggage was taken off us to take to take to our rooms and the staff explained how to get to our rooms. We had three rooms altogether, my other daughter had a lovely family room with a baby cot, very spacious and clean, lovely decorated. Our room was spacious clean and welcoming as was my parents room. The air conditioning was easy to use, the on suite bathroom was well equipped and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and all rooms had a balcony with views of a leafy street and the far off mountains. The choice at the breakfast bar was plentiful and freshly cooked, again the staff were friendly and helpful. We loved our three night stay and visited many of the many attractions Athens has to offer which are easily accessible from the hotel. If we come to Athens again we would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you very much all involved with the hotel, you were all great :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crantocknewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear crantocknewqeay


I deeply thank you for your review. I will pass on your comments to the entire staff because what you mention in your last phrase is the truth «. all involved … » ; it is exactly this team effort and support that enables us to such results. Thank you for taking time to share your valuable impressions with the other TripAdvisor travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A belated review for our stay in January 2014. The Herodion has an excellent location within walking distance of all of the key places of interest in the city (reception were happy to provide us with maps & tips for the best routes). For those wanting alternative transport it is situated on the tourist bus route or about 3 mins walk to the metro. A selection of bars / restaurants are also close by.

I contacted the hotel in advance to seek prices to upgrade to a Parthenon view room as it was my husbands birthday. The hotel immediatley offered an upgrade to a superior room free of charge, along with providing the costings for the room with this view, which we took. I can only reccomend the upgrade to a Parthenon view, fabulous! So too are the views from the roof terrace.

The hotel room was a very good size for a city hotel & was kept immaculately clean. Buffet breakfast offered something for every taste, always plentiful & fresh.

This was our first trip to Athens, having travelled throughout other areas of Greece over many years. Both the city & the hotel exceeded our expectations & we very much look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Tracey C


Reviews such as the one you granted us with, is what one would wish for. In our family owned and run hotel, our credo is to treat our customers as guests. Thank you for acknowledging in such precise and descriptive manner the results of our efforts. We very much would enjoy seeing you passing through our doors again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It's hard to reserve a room at a hotel sigh unseen, but you should feel at ease in booking with the Herodion. It was not only close to EVERYTHING, the service was wonderful, the staff knowledgable, and rooms clean, big enough (for Europe), and the hotel itself - a welcome respite from the Athenian heat. We also stayed at the King George (one of the best luxury hotels in Athens) and while I loved the luxe, admittedly if you are their to tour Athens, the Herodion might be a better bet as it is closer to everything (literally it's a short walk to all the major sights). Also, the roof top bar and jacuzzi were perfect after a long day of walking. I would recommend this hotel over and over!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aveintransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear aveintransit


We are sooooo proud to have earned your recommendation. The fact that our HERODION stands up to the comparison with King George, a 5* luxury hotel, and even wins at the points on certain aspects is very important to us. We thank you for doing us justice and hope to see you again when traveling to Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic! Beautiful, clean, close to Acropolis, great food! Loved the rooftop restaurant and breakfast. The staff is extremely helpful. Many good restaurants nearby in the Plaka area. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mholifield08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear mholifield08


We definitely expect you to stand up to your promise, and hope that you will do so soon enough! We will pass on your good comments to our staff: housekeeping, cooks, lobby as such comments are the best encouragement for all. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Easy walking access to historic sites. Rooftop view of Acropolis at night is lovely. Food and furnishings are fine but not fabulous. Very safe. Good value for historic Athens. Forget pricey and overly touristy Plaka. Easy access to the Acropolis museum and metro. Take the metro from the airport. It's clean, air conditioned, and safe. 5 minute walk to the hotel, and everyone in the area speaks fluent English if you get lost or confused.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear T W


Thank you for your feedback. HERODION Hotel resides in a safe upscale residential area, while being close to most of what is primly important to a visitor of the antiquities and the city itself. The hotel’s style is modern with underlining aspects of quality, without being loud, A lot of Greek contemporary culture is introduced either through the art works on display or the culinary selections at breakfast and/ or restaurant menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a disastrous 1st night at their sister hotel (Philippos) we have been moved to Herodion for 3 other nights in Athens. The first two nights have been outstanding as they put us in their junior suite (410). Our son could sleep in a separate room and we had plenty of room for the luggages. We had a nice view on the acropolis which is 10-15 min walk away. The location is praised in many reviews as it is also close to Plakka and its stores and restaurants. Very touristic of course but this is what you must expect in this area of Athens.
The room has a hardwood floor, much cleaner than any carpet and the bathroom was decent size although with limited shelves space to set our toiletries.
The breakfast buffet is diverse enough to satisfy many different tastes and diets and we never had to wait for a table.
There is a nice rooftop with a good restaurant where we ate twice. We also spent some time after dinner at the bar there with an amazing view on the acropolis. No pool but two jacuzzis viewing the acropolis at the 4th floor.
The staff was very nice and helpful. They really made it up for our terrible 1st night.

It went south for our last night in Greece when we returned from Santorini. We were told by the agency that we would have the same room. Unfortunately it was another lie from this agency (Private Tours Greece). They put us in a small triple room with 3 twin beds viewing the street and just one spot to put one suitcase (309). Same size as the Philippos, just more modern and not smelly. After we complained, the staff was amenable to propose to put our son in a separate room (201) viewing a small inside patio. But at least we could use the 3rd bed to put one of our other suitcases. We have to give credit to the reception staff to try to make our experience nicer.
The bathrooms were OK in size with even a larger counter than in the junior suite we had before.
Three major downsides for a 4-star hotel though:
- the TV was not working (frozen screens resulting in that I couldn't watch the World Cup soccer game!!!!)
- there were crums on the carpet showing that it had not been vacuumed
- Internet was mostly down and didn't get better even after we asked the reception to reboot the router.

In conclusion, you can have an amazing experience if you are in one of their larger rooms with view on the Acropolis but if you travel with 2+ people, the rooms are two small for 3 adults or a family with young kids in my opinion for the price/level of this hotel. Thus our mixed experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmeky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Schmeky S


Thank you for concluding that one may enjoy an amazing experience when staying with us. Yet, even if it is not in my habits to disagree with a client, I cannot see how one can be disappointed when offered –and accepting- a free upgrade from a 3* to a 4* hotel. Even if your booking, through your agent, was for a 3* hotel, we did not skimped on offering you a solution when you expressed your dissatisfaction: a suite in our sister property hotel –given the fact that it was available. Upon your return from Santorini, and without us having promised you the same room, we again willingly came up with a solution in order to comfort your subjective dissatisfaction of limited space in the triple room allocated to you: a second room, in addition to the triple, was offered to you.

Let me conclude that all the above consist, at least from our part, a tangible proof that we worthily serve our major concern, which is the satisfaction of our clients at any cost, within the limits of our ability especially during a high occupancy period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,300 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,079 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing