We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST VIEW OF ACROPOLIS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
MT ELIZA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BEST VIEW OF ACROPOLIS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very well run hotel, staff are very good, facilities very good(a pool would make it excellent), and a magic view of acropolis, especially at night. Great location next to the Acropolis Museum and 5 min from nearest metro. Roof top restaurant is very good with a menu that is a different from most of your Athens eateries. A great place to stay to see the sights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear rob F,
Thank you for your complementary review, your mentioning about our summer menu and for taking the time to share with fellow travelers. It was a pleasure to welcome you and hope to do so again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    839
    182
    38
    14
See reviews for
430
970
128
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at Herodion for first time. Arrived in evening, wasn't happy with family room as very small - with small en-suite with little storage space for clothes. Stayed for 4 nights living out of suitcases. The room was clean and tidy. The service at reception was friendly and welcome, the food and rooftop views were wonderful. The location was fantastic with most things within easy walking distance. The service, food and location was definitely first class. If i was single or with only my wife the room would have been fine, but not suitable for family room.

Room Tip: If staying in family room check size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear David E,
Thank you for your praise of Herodion and your informative analysis for so many aspects of our services. We really try hard through our team's genuinely caring attitude and efficiency to set us apart from the other fine hotels in Athens.

Let us suggest for your next visit with your family to contact us and see upon availability, the option of taking two connecting rooms at a reasonable package.

Thank you once again for your endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and city, Athens is a wonderful city to discover once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

5 mins from acropolis and plaka. Rooms are clean and spacious. Rooftop bar and restaurant is excellent with stunning views of the acropolis. Breakfast buffet is decent but the bread was never fresh. Only downside for us was there was no wifi - the first 24 hours we had none at all and then extremely slow dropping in and out for the second and third day.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Tarran G,
Thank you for the valuable time to post your review on Tripadvisor on your impressions from the location, room space, cleanliness, Point A restaurant and views. We are truly sorry that due to technical issues our wi-fi had some interruptions at the rooms that particular day of your stay, but we assure you that we are trying our best to address such troubles as efficiently as possible. However our guests can use for free the lobby internet as well.

Regarding our bread during breakfast, everyday we are baking home made bread with “prozimi” (bread yeast) using whole wheat and rye flours. This is happening everyday because of its large consumption, our guests prefer it much more than the fluffy standardized white flour bread that it also available for all tastes.

We would be most delighted to have you back next time you visit our city and show you all our constant improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My adult daughter and I recently had a short 2 night stay at the Herodion. We had a 3d floor room with a balcony & an unobstructed view of the Acropolis. The bed was comfortable but the room was small and the bathroom even smaller. The location is convenient short walk to the Acropolis and to the Acropolis metro stop. We enjoyed wine and playing backgammon in the hotel lounge. The rooftop restaurant has fantastic views of the Acropolis, is large and comfortable. The food & the service was somewhat disappointing though. The lamb souvlaki was ok but the moussaka was bland, tasteless & mushy. Once our food arrived we had no service to speak of after - the bill was left & we signed and that was that. The breakfast assortment was good with a cook available for fresh egg & omelet requests. The breakfast area spacious & comfortable. The hotel was immaculately clean & suited our needs for our short visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Angie S,
Thank you for communicating your positive impressions from your stay and for trusting us to make a special trip with your daughter a memorable one.

It comes however as a surprise to us your comments about the roof top restaurant that you visited twice. Maria Chondrou took care of you both times and I was personally there too. She discussed with you for your impressions from your museum visit, the temple of Erechthion, your daughter's love for history and she even went to the reception to look for your missing eyeglasses. I remember, the last night you both expressed your enjoyment about everything including your food choices. Our Moussaka is a favourite choice among the local Athenians who are visiting our restaurant for our new version of kebab lamb souvlaki as well. .

It was a pleasure to welcome you and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived late night, friendly reception, walked to Acropolis early morning at 9:00, walked around and left before crowds and sun took over. Walked back 5 minutes, had good coffee in the hotel and relaxed. Walked over to acropolis museum in 2 minutesat 13:00, great visit and had lunch inside. Good food, cool.
Walked another 5 minutes to metro. 20 minutes to national museum. Great collection. 20 minutes back (walked a total of 20 minutes in heat).
Back in hotel refreshed, had drinks and small food at roof with the view. Walked over to open air theater at 8:30, enjoyed opera and were back at the roof for drinks and night view of acropolis at 00:30. A fantastic day thanks to great location and service of the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geleyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Geleyn M,
It is great that you experienced a “fantastic day” during your stay at the Herodion hotel, pointing out the supreme location and the overall quality we offer to our guests. Even in such a hot day, Athens is always an amazing city; unique antiquities in the morning, cool drinks, nice food at our terrace , opera in the evening from our amazing Greek National Opera ! Thank you for sharing these impressions with Tripadvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent a night at the hotel during our short visit to Athens. We booked a room with Acropolis view - it was a disappointing experience. Rooms are rather small, walls and doors are thin and you can hear everything (including the elevator) and everybody nearby (it is really annoying at night).
From our room will saw a sport yard of a local school and only then the Acropolis, so it was not so pleasant as advertised. View from the roof is much better, but I can not recommend having dinner there - though it is an interesting experience, food is very average and the prices are higher then average. So it is only up to you whether to have it or not.
Breakfast and service were very good - really good, almost like in a 5 star hotel.
So all in all, in my personal ranking Heradion is a 3 star hotel, so to be in good shape they should either make rooms more comfortable or prices lower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey_Rantcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Alexey_Rantcev,
Your review comes as a huge surprise to us, as it appears one year later than your stay. We were unable, under your name to locate your stay and it will be helpful if you could give us more information so we can truly understand your disappointment.

Moreover, we would like to state to our fellow readers that the pricing at our food and beverage department is definitely very reasonable according to all dinning alternatives in Athens, aiming to be affordable to guests of three and four star hotel in Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed at the Herodion while on a 10 day trip to Greece with my family of six. We started and ended the trip in Athens, and stayed at the Herodion both times. If you have limited time in Athens and want to see the Acropolis and all the nearby sights, the Herodion is the perfect hotel. All the reviews gush about the view from the roof deck - and it is spectacular - but what really makes Herodion stand out is the great customer service. Despite being busy, all the front desk staff will gladly take time to draw you a map and recommend restaurants, shops, open air cinemas, whatever. The management is willing to work with you if you need to check in early or late, or leave your bags in the lobby. These are the little things that can make or break a guest's experience, and Herodion clearly understands that. My only complaint is that the rooms are quite small for the price, though this is pretty much across the board in Greece so not really a knock on the hotel itself.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Mike P,
Thank you for your lovely analysis and the time spent to write it. It is important to us, a family business, to offer you as a guest , the genuine Greek hospitality that we call “filoxenia” . Thank you for your thoughtfulness to express it and share it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing