We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was a perfect ending of our Greek holiday. Perfect location for a speed sightseeing of Athens, exceptional rooftop restaurant, nice room, eclectic food, superb view of Acropolis, friendly staff. We will absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Håkon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank so much for the high praise of the Herodion .We really try hard through our team's genuinely caring attitude and efficiency to set us apart from the other fine hotels in Athens.


We are grateful for your mentioning the “eclectic food” an area that we really focus to enrich our services . We consider your promise for a return visit as the best compliment, Athens is a wonderful city to discover once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    852
    184
    38
    14
See reviews for
435
997
128
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for work in January 2014. The hotel reception was great and very helpful (they usefully advised me on the fixed price of a taxi to the airport), the room clean and fine - it even had a small but cute little balcony. The view, tables and spa on the rooftop is the best thing about the place: the acropolis looks amazing from there day or night. The breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Hera_9,
Thank you for your support and writing about us favorably after so many months!

You simply must come and experience Point A our roof top restaurant , this new addition to our hotel has been incredibly well received by all our customers and I would welcome your feedback on the new offering.

I look forward to welcoming you back, also in a warm season and hear your impressions of our new restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A speedy check in after a tiring journey was very welcome . We were on a short trip with our Grandaughter so we were allocated a triple room which was spacious enough Room 222. To get to the Acropolis you only need to turn right as you leave the hotel and walk for 5mins to get to the lower section. We took a cab ride to the Olympic Panthenaic Stadium for a lap of the track great photo opportunities there . Rooftop bar is a must with great views of the Acropolis day and night. Pop down to reception to get a card for the Jacuzzi and a towel ( 5 euros) and make your way to the 4th floor for amazing views!! Breakfast buffet is mostly continental choice although there were bacon and eggs and mini frankfurters and toast as well. A visit to the Acropolis museum is a must even with a small child as they are well catered for. All in all we would definitely visit again but for a longer trip.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers are facing onto an indoor courtyard garden and residential but are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chardonnaylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Chardonnaylil,
Thank you for recommending the Herodion and for your informative review. Thank you for your kind words , we will do our best to keep earning such wonderful reviews. Please do not hesitate to contact us in order to offer you suggestions for planning a longer visit to our amazing city with plenty of ideas to discover its hidden treasures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MT ELIZA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very well run hotel, staff are very good, facilities very good(a pool would make it excellent), and a magic view of acropolis, especially at night. Great location next to the Acropolis Museum and 5 min from nearest metro. Roof top restaurant is very good with a menu that is a different from most of your Athens eateries. A great place to stay to see the sights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear rob F,
Thank you for your complementary review, your mentioning about our summer menu and for taking the time to share with fellow travelers. It was a pleasure to welcome you and hope to do so again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at Herodion for first time. Arrived in evening, wasn't happy with family room as very small - with small en-suite with little storage space for clothes. Stayed for 4 nights living out of suitcases. The room was clean and tidy. The service at reception was friendly and welcome, the food and rooftop views were wonderful. The location was fantastic with most things within easy walking distance. The service, food and location was definitely first class. If i was single or with only my wife the room would have been fine, but not suitable for family room.

Room Tip: If staying in family room check size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear David E,
Thank you for your praise of Herodion and your informative analysis for so many aspects of our services. We really try hard through our team's genuinely caring attitude and efficiency to set us apart from the other fine hotels in Athens.

Let us suggest for your next visit with your family to contact us and see upon availability, the option of taking two connecting rooms at a reasonable package.

Thank you once again for your endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and city, Athens is a wonderful city to discover once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

5 mins from acropolis and plaka. Rooms are clean and spacious. Rooftop bar and restaurant is excellent with stunning views of the acropolis. Breakfast buffet is decent but the bread was never fresh. Only downside for us was there was no wifi - the first 24 hours we had none at all and then extremely slow dropping in and out for the second and third day.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Tarran G,
Thank you for the valuable time to post your review on Tripadvisor on your impressions from the location, room space, cleanliness, Point A restaurant and views. We are truly sorry that due to technical issues our wi-fi had some interruptions at the rooms that particular day of your stay, but we assure you that we are trying our best to address such troubles as efficiently as possible. However our guests can use for free the lobby internet as well.

Regarding our bread during breakfast, everyday we are baking home made bread with “prozimi” (bread yeast) using whole wheat and rye flours. This is happening everyday because of its large consumption, our guests prefer it much more than the fluffy standardized white flour bread that it also available for all tastes.

We would be most delighted to have you back next time you visit our city and show you all our constant improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My adult daughter and I recently had a short 2 night stay at the Herodion. We had a 3d floor room with a balcony & an unobstructed view of the Acropolis. The bed was comfortable but the room was small and the bathroom even smaller. The location is convenient short walk to the Acropolis and to the Acropolis metro stop. We enjoyed wine and playing backgammon in the hotel lounge. The rooftop restaurant has fantastic views of the Acropolis, is large and comfortable. The food & the service was somewhat disappointing though. The lamb souvlaki was ok but the moussaka was bland, tasteless & mushy. Once our food arrived we had no service to speak of after - the bill was left & we signed and that was that. The breakfast assortment was good with a cook available for fresh egg & omelet requests. The breakfast area spacious & comfortable. The hotel was immaculately clean & suited our needs for our short visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Angie S,
Thank you for communicating your positive impressions from your stay and for trusting us to make a special trip with your daughter a memorable one.

It comes however as a surprise to us your comments about the roof top restaurant that you visited twice. Maria Chondrou took care of you both times and I was personally there too. She discussed with you for your impressions from your museum visit, the temple of Erechthion, your daughter's love for history and she even went to the reception to look for your missing eyeglasses. I remember, the last night you both expressed your enjoyment about everything including your food choices. Our Moussaka is a favourite choice among the local Athenians who are visiting our restaurant for our new version of kebab lamb souvlaki as well. .

It was a pleasure to welcome you and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing