We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull view of the Acropol”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull view of the Acropol”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel very well situated near the Acropol anf the new Museum of the Acropol.
The breakfast is rich and the personnel is very good .
The terrasse on the 5th floor has an exceptionnel view of the Acropol.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Francois G

Thank for taking time to comment on your stay at HERODION. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    871
    188
    39
    14
See reviews for
453
1,034
135
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had dinner at the roof restaurant. Our first shock was a positive visual one: the stunning view of the Parthenon and the Acropolis museum. A different one followed due to the poor quality of the food. All starters were disappointing and tasted more or less te same. The spaghetti alla bottarga was dry and tasteless, the imam baildi was served in a fancy manner but had no flavour, the aioli sauce accompanying the baccala had barely any garlic, the scampi were overcooked. We had three bottles of white wine and all of them arrived in the wrong temperature, so we had to ask for a cooler. Prices were reasonable.The service was friendly, but we got the impression that they lacked coordination, as the cocktails arrived belatedly from the bar. If the food could match the outstanding view, this restaurant would make an excellent choice. Such a shame it does not.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herk-de-Stad, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Herodion has everything you need when visiting Athens.
It is centrally located and with a rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking the Akropolis and the new museum, you are set for a great holiday.
The rooms are not very big but comfortable. Clean and well organized.
The staff have been superfriendly.
Breakfast is a welcome change from the smaller simple versions you tend to get in Greece.
We stayed in full summer and the airco works :-)

Room Tip: always request view on the backside of the hotel. this gives view in the Akropolis, away from sun an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jan P

We are proud to accept the characterization as HERODION being “…the hotel that you need when visiting Athens…” Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

They seem focused on the restaurant at the roof which I thoroughly recommend for the food only. The service in this hotel is terrible. Not that they are bad people it's just that they seem incompetent though I must say some of the service staff treat the guests like they're an inconvenience to them. They seem to have had somebody's kid setup the Wi-Fi which was a comedy of errors- to the point of tears at times. The location absolutely rocks and clearly that allows them to not care much about giving serious service. Get it sorted people - still I have to say 3 stars and I'd suffer them again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank safendoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Διευθυντής at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear safendoulis

I have to admit that it comes as a huge surprise that, contrary to the opinion of everyone else, you did not enjoy the friendliness and professionalism of our knowledgeable staff. As for caring about giving serious service, I would rather let other’s comments speak …
We are very proud of our roof top restaurant, its service and quality, therefore at times we might over project its virtues, an impulsive behaviour for which I am more than willing to ask for your excuse.
Finally there are times when the wifi might seem a bit slow, which has to do with the provider’s infrastructure, but your comment rather exaggerates reality.
Nonetheless I wish to thank you for taking time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Hotel service is very good. It is near Acropolis and as such you are a few metros from Acropolis metro station, Acropolis itself, Acropolis Museun, Plaka, Adriano's Gate.

If this is the first time in Atenas, it will be perfect to stay in this hotel.

Do not forget to go to the hotel roof at night ...enjoy the view of Acropolis at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosangela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Rosangela G

“…. It will be perfect to stay in this hotel….” It is perfect of you to be so articulate of the advantages when staying at HERODION. We thank you for posting your impression of you stay, and do come back when visiting Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My family stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and by day 2 I knew I wanted to come back at the end of the trip as well. We were in a "triple" which in all honestly is a tight fit when your third is a 6'2" 18 yr old. But all was clean, fresh and in good condition. On our final night we were in a suite. I greatly advise this over the triple. 2 rooms = 2 ac units and for us that was a BIG bonus. The lobby is beautiful and I loved the atrium around bar. Tons of overstuffed couches, great chairs and private/cozy reading nooks. The architect understood how to fit a lot into a small space. You never feel cramped as all is open and airy and everywhere you turn there is a garden. I was in the outside atrium when a staff member came out to cut fresh lavender for the restaurant tables. The staff was most helpful. They took care of our luggage, called our cabs, provided directions and accommodated our every whim. And to top it off, we had a beautiful very of the Acropolis from the Jacuzzi deck.

Room Tip: Go for the suite if you value elbow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Nice hotel, very near Plaka, excellent view of the Akropolis from the terrace. Do not miss to have dinner there, incredible meals at a very affordable price. Every dish is higly recommended, classic greek food but very refined.
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL UNDOUBTEDLY.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view over the Akropolis, above the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valitabuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear valitabuenosaires

“Undoubtedly” is a magic word and we feel very proud to have earned it – thank you for your recommendation and thank you for taking time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
We will be expecting you back …. Undoubtedly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,753 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,268 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing