We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel For Our Stay In Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel For Our Stay In Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

At first I was a little put off by our room; I found it a bit dreary and the furniture dated. Our room had a nice shaded balcony, however. But, we were not in Athens to stay in our room. The location of the hotel is great for visiting the Acropolis, Temple of Zeus, Hadrian's Gate and the museum, all within easy walking distance. The staff at the hotel is friendly, helpful and very prompt. Our air conditioner broke twice and was fixed immediately after we notified reception. The rooftop terrace was so relaxing, with a wonderful view. The food was good, and the prices fair for both restaurant and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesehead_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Cheesehead_In_T…

Thank you for choosing the HERODION and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
I am very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay, despite feeling a lack of space in your particular room category. As for our team, they love nothing more than to be part of our guests’ well being and going the extra mile is an expression of our passion for service delivery.
We look forward to welcoming you back, when next in Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    837
    182
    38
    14
See reviews for
429
969
128
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Messery, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel in central athens for those that don't want to pay 200+e per night. We got a very reasonable rate so cannot complain about room size/view etc. Great view from the roof terrace. Clean, efficient, helpful. Recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank themisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear themisb

We are very proud to have earned your recommendation and thank you for being so prompt in your review. It will be our pleasure to see you through our doors again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Well located close to all attractions, well priced with a jacuzzi on the roof. Great place to retreat to after a day's sightseeing. Great breakfast and professional staff. The room, whilst small was clean and comfortable.


Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Lisa I

We are more than happy when we are thought of as “… a great place to retreat after a day’s sightseeing …” Our efforts are towards offering our guests a relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere when with us. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel very well situated near the Acropol anf the new Museum of the Acropol.
The breakfast is rich and the personnel is very good .
The terrasse on the 5th floor has an exceptionnel view of the Acropol.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Francois G

Thank for taking time to comment on your stay at HERODION. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had dinner at the roof restaurant. Our first shock was a positive visual one: the stunning view of the Parthenon and the Acropolis museum. A different one followed due to the poor quality of the food. All starters were disappointing and tasted more or less te same. The spaghetti alla bottarga was dry and tasteless, the imam baildi was served in a fancy manner but had no flavour, the aioli sauce accompanying the baccala had barely any garlic, the scampi were overcooked. We had three bottles of white wine and all of them arrived in the wrong temperature, so we had to ask for a cooler. Prices were reasonable.The service was friendly, but we got the impression that they lacked coordination, as the cocktails arrived belatedly from the bar. If the food could match the outstanding view, this restaurant would make an excellent choice. Such a shame it does not.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Mika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herk-de-Stad, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Herodion has everything you need when visiting Athens.
It is centrally located and with a rooftop restaurant and bar overlooking the Akropolis and the new museum, you are set for a great holiday.
The rooms are not very big but comfortable. Clean and well organized.
The staff have been superfriendly.
Breakfast is a welcome change from the smaller simple versions you tend to get in Greece.
We stayed in full summer and the airco works :-)

Room Tip: always request view on the backside of the hotel. this gives view in the Akropolis, away from sun an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jan P

We are proud to accept the characterization as HERODION being “…the hotel that you need when visiting Athens…” Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

They seem focused on the restaurant at the roof which I thoroughly recommend for the food only. The service in this hotel is terrible. Not that they are bad people it's just that they seem incompetent though I must say some of the service staff treat the guests like they're an inconvenience to them. They seem to have had somebody's kid setup the Wi-Fi which was a comedy of errors- to the point of tears at times. The location absolutely rocks and clearly that allows them to not care much about giving serious service. Get it sorted people - still I have to say 3 stars and I'd suffer them again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank safendoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Διευθυντής at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear safendoulis

I have to admit that it comes as a huge surprise that, contrary to the opinion of everyone else, you did not enjoy the friendliness and professionalism of our knowledgeable staff. As for caring about giving serious service, I would rather let other’s comments speak …
We are very proud of our roof top restaurant, its service and quality, therefore at times we might over project its virtues, an impulsive behaviour for which I am more than willing to ask for your excuse.
Finally there are times when the wifi might seem a bit slow, which has to do with the provider’s infrastructure, but your comment rather exaggerates reality.
Nonetheless I wish to thank you for taking time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing