We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly staff”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Helpful and friendly staff”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great front desk very helpful. Small rooms. Awesome rooftop deck and restaurant/bar. The restaurant staff was so friendly, our server Viki gave us great suggestions for islands and towns to visit and the bartender was very good at his job and also very friendly. Good breakfast. Close to attractions and other good restaurants. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Cindy G

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of HERODION. Thank you for your comments as it helps me appraise how our services and facilities are received by our guests. It has been mentioned again by other overseas travelers that in most central hotels, in European cities, rooms might be on the small side, but this is expected as location is so “valuable”. Please, do not hesitate next time you visit us to choose, through our website, the room that might best suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    884
    190
    39
    14
See reviews for
463
1,057
138
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

This is not a five star hotel and shouldn't be reviewed to those standards. It is however perfectly comfortable and clean and the staff were always very helpful. The rooms were fine and the beds comfortable. I have nothing to complain about. It's just not luxurious, if that's what you're looking for. It does, however, have a first rate view of the Acropolis from its roof garden and it is located just five minutes from the popular Plaka district. It is also pretty reasonably priced for a hotel in the centre of Athens.

Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulS269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear PaulS269

The HERODION is a family run four star hotel which, ever since it first operated 65 years ago, has been treated by its owners as an extension of their home and hospitality. Our effort has always been to ensure that our clients feel as guests and to introduce them to an integrated experience of what is Greek culture. While the Hotel's location helps introducing the visitor to the ancient civilization, we at the hotel take care of the contemporary point of view: from the Greek art and design that is hand picked and is everywhere in our hotel, to the culinary selections of our chef offered at breakfast or the restaurant. Finally our staff is plays a significant part in what we offer as 'filoxenia'.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your time to review us on TripAdvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Front desk personnel went above and beyond to help us feel welcome. They were so helpful with information and suggestions. Even though we were only there for 1 night they were so accommodating. The staff was happy to help with the smallest request to booking a private service to Thermopele on a 2 hr notice. Special praises for Elpida was exceptionally helpful and warm.. Bed was firm but comfortable and the view of the Acropolis from rooftop was breathtaking. The hotel is well located for easy access to popular tourist destinations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valbert125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear valbert125

It is exactly this that sets us apart from our honourable first-class hotel colleagues; the fact that HERODION is, in addition to its location and quality, a family run hotel thus giving the staff the opportunity to be trained in hospitality and problem-solving-ways directly by the owners! Thank your for recognizing the effort; we will certainly pass on to our team your remarks who will be humbled by your compliments. Thank you for your feedback and for mentioning in name one of our front desk stars, Ms. Elpida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I would like to thank the staff of the Herodion for the wonderful caring and attentive service they gave us. My husband and I arrived four hours before checkin and were treated to a buffet breakfast free of charge! I have stayed at countless hotels in the past and this is a first for me!!! They also allowed us to take our bags back to the hotel three days after we had already checked out so that we could go around Athens without having to take our bags with us. I cannot sing their praises enough. Thanks seem to fall short. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone coming to Athens. The location is also perfect for sight seeing as the Acropolis, Hadrian's Arch, etc are all close by. And it had free wifi!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Kuarta

Wow! What a review! Your appreciation can only act as a springboard for us to try even harder. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly, location is great (only 5min away from the Acropolis' entrance), lobby and breakfast are nice, rooftop is great for a late drink with Acropolis view. For a 4*, rooms are like the name of the hairdryer in the bathroom: basic but have all the amenities needed. Good hotel overall.

Helpful?
1 Thank Loic B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear coccodrilloverde

Thank you for choosing HERODION for your stay and for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. We very much liked your playing with words, yet the full name of the hairdryer in the rooms is 'basic ELITE', which obviously adds up to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

A great location. Close to the acropolis, plaka area, museums, and lots of restaurants. Also public transport is close. The hotel itself was very well maintained, beds really comfy, quiet from the street . Only thing was our air conditioner was a bit noisy. If you are into breakfast they have a really good selection of very nice food and the roof top garden restaurant has a lovely view of the acropolis. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintyheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Mintyheaven

We will happily see you coming through our doors and be sure that will continue doing our best so that you may once again enjoy the same relaxed and hospitable environment. Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights at the Herodion Hotel in late August 2014. Our room was on the 4th floor in the back and had an amazing view of the Acropolis. The rooftop restaurant and bar was a great place for a night cap with the Parthenon all lit up. We also had a very tasty dinner there. The staff were incredible - very helpful and patient. We highly recommend Herodion!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Cristopher B

Thank you for 'highly' recommending HERODION and for your appreciation of our staff as incredible. We will certainly continue doing our very best so as to keep earning such wonderful reviews. We appreciate you taking time to share, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,300 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,079 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing