We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good Value and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights. At the time of booking I requested a "view of the Parthenon", based on another review on here. That is what I got. Believe me, that is a view you will never tire of. I did not pay any extra for it. The double room, whilst relatively tight, had all the amenities you need. The minibar was well stocked, but also well priced so you drink out of that at your peril. The room was very clean and housekeeping very efficient. Breakfast was excellent. The location of the hotel is superb, right underneath the Athens acroplis in the fashionable side of town. It is also right beside the new Acropolis Museum which was not open whilst I was there but that can only improve the appeal of this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharpattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    837
    182
    38
    14
See reviews for
429
969
128
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

I spent 7 nights here and am extremely pleased with my experience. Fantastic location, not on a noisy main road, metro round the corner, great views from the beautiful roof garden (Acropolis, Lykavittos, Ymittos, Piraeus etc), extremely well laid out inside with good material finishes, spaces and light.

Staff always helpful and courteous. All-day dining in the Atrium with good meals and menu. Breakfast set me up well for each day of serious walking and exploration of the city.

I also spent a night at the Electra Hotel in Ermou, which doesn't beat Herodion in any way. I'll definitely return to Herodion again, whether for 1 night or 1 week.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rwbcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

This was one of the more affordable options that I opted to stay on our first night in Athens before we left for the islands. We had a little difficulty finding it but the service was helpful in holding our ferry tickets for us, and booking our cab for the next morning. It was conveniently located. The overall feel of the hotel is fairly dark when walking to your room.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank travellinallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

We are a family of 4 and were booked in to stay at the Herodians sister hotel, the Philippos Hotel. We spent 1 night at the Philippos and were transfered to the Herodian after 1 night due to renovations. The Herodian is a clean neat hotel situated very close to the Parthenon. Rooms are small, breakfast is OK. Overall an average hotel which offers nothing special - yes it has a nice bar, jacusi on the roof, but quite a sterile environment. Of course you pay for these extras in the room cost.
If you are in Athens to see the sights and soak up the atmosphere and just want a comfortable clean hotel at a good price, then stay at the sister hotel - Philippos, which is nearby and close to Acropoli station.

  • Liked — Clean, tidy & good location
  • Disliked — Room rate
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank VicM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWEDEN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2008

Very cosy and clean hotel with polite and clean staff.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank majodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Herodion for 4 nights in early November 2008 at the tail end of our three week 10th Anniversary vacation through Italy and Greece. We found the hotel and booked our reservation through Booking.Com. We were both very pleased with the hotel and would definitely recommend it to others. The Herodion is within easy walking distance to the Acropolis, the Plaka (a must-see district of Athens) and many other sights. We were very impressed with the complimentary breakfast (many hot and cold choices) and the front desk staff were helpful when asked for assistance. Loved the view from the rooftop terrace!! The only downside we could comment on is that our food, ordered through room-service the one night we ate in, was cold and not very tasty. Our favorite restaurant was Vitro Restaurant, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Excellent piano player every night.

  • Liked — The location and the rooftop terrace.
  • Disliked — Food ordered thorugh room service was cold; our bed was two singles pushed together.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moreworld2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2008

Although the rooms are a bit small, the public areas of the Herodion are beautiful. Very modern, with lots of comfortable couches and chairs in the lounges, a bar which is open all day and most of the night and a very good restaurant. It was a bit too cold to use the roof garden and the jacuzzis, but these areas are really gorgeous, with a fine view of the Acropolis. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location at the food of the Acropolis is perfect. We had a lovely trip.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPersephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing