We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anthens location”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #11 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Nice boutique hotel in perfect Athens location. The rooms are standard European size, the furniture is new(ish), the beds are comfortable with quality linens, there is a mini bar in the room, and balconies with a table and chairs are a nice touch. The street facing rooms have much larger balconies than the Acropolis facing rooms (but then you have the Acropolis view!). The staff is knowledgeable and professional, and will arrange for easy and reasonably priced airport pickup. The breakfast is adequate but not spectacular, the lobby bar/cafe/restaurant has good food at reasonable prices, although the wait staff is a little grumpy, but the real gem is the roof-top terrace. With two jacuzzis, potted olive trees, fountains and the lit-up Parthenon, it is the perfect spot for evening drinks (the rooms service will bring drinks and snacks to you). With the new Acropolis Museum opening in June 2009 one block away, this hotel's location will become even more desirable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unique_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,734 - 1,740 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stayed here for three nights in April and found it to be very comfortable and perfectly located for our time in Athens - within walking distance of the Plaka and the Acropolis and very near to public transport as well. Our room had great views of the Acropolis and the rooftop views were sensational. We were travelling with friends and our children really enjoyed the rooftop jacuzzi - my only complaint would be that you had to pay extra to use these facilities. The outdoor areas of the hotel are lovely with comfortable lounges and tables for relaxing, a misting system to cool down in the heat and shade as well. Our room was very comfortable, although quite small. Bathroom had fluffy, thick towels and good toiletries. We did have one or two mosquitoes one night but otherwise slept very soundly. The buffet breakfast was good and service was efficient. I would definitely recommend the hotel for its location and convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The Herodion Hotel in Athens is a fantastic hotel. Let me first say what little negative there is. For some reason, our room had the entire mosquito population of Athens and we could never find the source. There was no rain, and it was in the 50's so it's anybodies guess where they were coming from. Our room (319) faced out to the Parthenon - what a treat!! The room was small but clean. Beds were a bit hard but sleepable. The staff was extremely helpful. Best part? Only 4 blocks to the Plaka and just a perfect location. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judigraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

What a great hotel! The location is within walking distance of the Plaka, directly under the Acropolis. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are small but nicely appointed, the breakfast buffet (included) is exceptional: yogurt, fruit, breads, cereals. Perfect choice!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

Stayed at the Herodion for a few nights in February. It is ideally located around the block from the Acropolis station on the Metro system and sits behind the new Acropolis Museum. Staff was great and willing to help. Breakfast included with the room was plentiful and good in variety. The "mono" or single room was more than compensated by the comfortable bed and cleanliness of it. Would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Athens. There is a charge for wi-fi approx 8 euros a day.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grkjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

I spent 4 nights at the Herodion in March 2009 with a friend. We did ask for a twin room at reception which we didn't get but the beds are so huge this didn't matter. Rooms are nice and communal areas are lovely. Breakfast is good but the best thing about this hotel is the view from the roof terrace. The jacuzzis on the roof terrace are lovely but you do have to pay 5 euros if you want bubbles. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great, near the old town and all the main sites. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttraveller286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Before going to Athens I read reviews of almost every hotel in Athens & since I am Greek American I am familiar with the various neighborhoods where most hotels are located. A friend's co-worker suggested Philippos Hotel as she had a good experience, but I wanted to updgrade so we decided on The Herodion. The hotel is conveniently located 1 block from the Akropolis train station which made transportation convenient. Since it is close to Sygrou it was very easy to get a taxi as well. The staff that I interacted with were all friendly, in especially the cleaning ladies. The breakfast that was included with the price of the stay was a pleasant suprise and had many different items. I almost regret not waking up earlier on most of the vacation to enjoy breakfast. The hotel is very modern & clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. If you are thinking of a hotel and the rates are within your budget I suggest you go to the Herodion.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maruas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,893 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 281 in Athens
3,206 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 281 in Athens
1,801 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £90 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing