We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,760)
Filter reviews
2,760 results
Traveller rating
1,467
1,014
217
45
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,467
1,014
217
45
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacropolis museumatrium restaurantgreat locationrooftop jacuzzihot tubacropolis viewwithin walking distancerooms are smallhop on hopvery nice hotelan amazing viewplaka districtsister hotelyogurtmetro stationbreakfast buffet isquiet street
Filter
Updating list...
2,007 - 2,012 of 2,760 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed here for four nights and loved it, a very comfortable and calm haven to retreat to after a day sightseeing. Fantastic location right next door to the New Acropolis Museum, just down the road from the entrance to the Parthenon ,easy walking distance to the Plaka area where there are numerous very good eating places and in a very safe location. It is also worth noting that it is within walking distance of the Acropolis metro station which makes it very easy to get to from the airport. Other plus points are that the restaurant and bar prices are very reasonable for a hotel of this standard and location. Great rooftop gardens with fab views of the Parthenon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanperry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

When we first arrived at the Herodian it was quite a pleasant experience to get all the help we need from the staff as well as a quick and swift check-in. The rooms are small but not abnormally small, more like the rest of Europe. If you travel in a large group we did get a great rate but from what I've read for a "normal price" it's not worth it. You have to pay for every like thing in the room. Using a calling card is a euro, the safe is a euro 80 per day, the mini bar is ridiculous, to use the hot tubs on the roof it's five euro for 15 minutes, wifi is expesive (3 euro for 30 minutes or 6 for 24 hours), and they charge a three % commission for exchanging currency. Other than that it was a pleasant stay. The room needs more outlets though, the only one I could find in the room was the one in the bathroom and it says (rasors only), but where am I supposed to plug in my phone?!? We will be back for another stay in about a week and I am looking forward to it, except for the amount I need to front to use basic services offered by the hotel. View of the acropolis is amazing from the roof and there's plenty of room to hang out up there with a few friends and enjoy a bottle of ouzo bought in the many shops and cafes in the area. The hotel is situated wonderfully! Literally right next door to the acropolis museum and just a short walk to the acropolis itself, great place if you plan to visit the area around quite a bit, as well as a metro station about a two to three minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turema01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I stayed at the Herodion from 31st December to 3rd January and truly enjoyed the stay. The hotel is in a great location: close to the main sites but in a quiet neighbourhood. The hotel has recently been refurbished and was very pleasant. Service is good and courteous. The roof terrace was great, including the outdoor jacuzzi (yes it was warm enough outside to use it on New Year's day).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foubertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Pros: Very very good location, one of the best in Athens for visiting and very safe, even on night. Good breakfast. The in-front reception guys were helpfull, they've negotiated for me the price with the agency to book a cruising tour, very nice...
Cons: Room outdated, even we've booked a triple one, we saw that the double was exactly the same (minus the third bed)... so, no suplementary space for the third person... The AC unit didn't work on heat position, we've call the reception, one guy came twice and tell us it is everithing OK, just to be patient, "it's coming"... finally we gave up and my wife got a cold after that night... The next night, the heating started to work but we had no hot water... hehehe... the answer, to be patient, "it's coming"... never came that night...
The corect standard for the hotel should be 3 stars.
The location save the general good impresion.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank popab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This hotel is located right at the foot of the Acroplis and near to the Place with a stop for the hop on, hop off, tourist bus just about right outside. The hotel staff are excellent, nothing is too much trouble. Agree with others comments that it would be good to have breakfast in the Atrium. Good value for money, small but comfortable rooms. As usual for a city centre hotel you can't expect piece and quiet! very clean room and public areas. If you want to do lots of sight seeing and culture then this is the place for you. If you want a relaxing quiet break, don't go to a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews