We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serendipity, 3 Blocks from the Parthenon”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serendipity, 3 Blocks from the Parthenon”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We were upgraded from the Phillippos (sister hotel) to the Herodion and I wish I was still there now! The rooms are small but charmingly appointed and sparklingly clean. No view from our room but that didn't matter - we were blocks from the Parthenon and the Acropolis Museum and the view of both from the roof deck of the hotel was breathtaking. Breakfast was delicious and more than abundant. The staff was unobtrusive and efficient. Despite being in a busy(ish) part of town, the room was quiet and calm and it would be hard *not* to get a good night's sleep on those pillowtop beds. Walking distance to an easygoing tourist district and lots of good tavernas.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eleebradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    860
    185
    38
    14
See reviews for
445
1,017
130
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

We went to the Herodion Hotel last summer. I had requested a room with a view of the Acropolis - got it. Even though you really just go to a hotel to sleep, shower; the place was better than expected. Very close to the train station, the new museum is next door. Great safe neighborhood.
The rooms werent gigantic, but the AC worked quite well, the room was very clean, the beds were quite comfortable. The bathroom was also nice.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooftop is fantastic,
When you get back from a long day of sightseeing, it is worth going up on the roof to relax and have a drinlk.

GREAT PLACE - Weare going there again this August.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We travel to Athens regularly, and almost always stay at the Herodion. The staff are very helpful without being intrusive, and the location in the quiet Makriyanni neighborhood around the corner from the new Akropolis Museum is the best. The restaurant offers well prepared food that often tastes more like something your "yiayia" made rather than something prepared in a hotel kitchen. The rooms vary in size, but all have comfy beds with CocoMat pillows, and many have views of the Parthenon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FQTVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We loved this hotel and would enthusiastically recommend. We spent hours pouring over reviews of hotels in the Plaka, Syntagma Square, and Acropolis areas. After having now visited, this location by far beats the others we considered. The hotel is on a quiet street just a block from the Acropolis. We were amazed how close all the major sites were to the hotel. We were up at the Acropolis just two-and-a-half hours after our plane landed, and this includes taking the metro which is quite close to the hotel. We found the boutique hotel to be elegant in the gathering areas, including lobby, adjacent bar, restaurant and amazing rooftop deck with stunning views of the Acropolis lit up at night. View the room before accepting, as we were not excited about the first one shown in a corner with no view of any kind. After tipping the bellman for helping with luggage, he found us a great room overlooking the garden. The area is safe, as we felt comfortable walking to the metro at 5:30 a.m. to catch an early flight. Most of the staff was awesome, with one in particular (so sorry we didn't get the name) providing a needed convertor and complimentary internet access. We appreciated his kindness so much. The breakfast was huge and enjoyable. What a way to cap great days touring with wine bought at the Plaka enjoyed on the rooftop terrace accompanied by a fabulous view of the Parthenon lit up at night!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indymediatypes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Why is this not the #1 rated hotel in Athens? It was only by Travelocity's error that we ended up staying here. I had booked 4 rooms at the Athens Gate based on TripAdvisor reviews, but upon re-confirming the reservations, found that we were short 1 room. I cancelled at Athens Gate and booked, one week before departure, at the Herodion. Such luck!

The location is perfect for first-time travelers to Athens: a short, 3-minute walk to the new Acropolis Museum, very close to walk up the back side of the Acropolis, and wonderfully close to the best restaurant of our entire trip: Mani Mani.

The lobby is large and welcoming; the bar, seating area, and hotel restaurant beyond, equally so. We never stayed in for dinner, but the entrees on the menu sounded great. The breakfast buffet was quite good and plentiful, including home-made olives.

Many of the rooms have small balconies - ours had a little "porch" on the side of the building looking out at the adjacent school. It was nice to sit out there to make a few phone calls, and also to hear the exuberant sound of young Athens students.

The rooms were relatively small, but quiet and comfortable. The absolute KILLER feature of this hotel is the roof deck (two levels) and the two hot tubs. My husband and I took advantage of one of the tubs after our arrival from the New England area. The views of the Acropolis were breathtaking, especially at night. The other people in our party who were still booked at Athens Gate felt that we had a MUCH better hotel at the same price.You make the call.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel has an excellent location right infront of the Parthenon. From the roof garden you have a direct view. Very pretty at night! We stayed here one night when we flew in to Athens, and got an rather unimpressive room. It was dark with carpet materials on the wall. We were a little nervous because we would be returning after a weekend in Rhodes to this hotel. I remeber putting my hand on the wall and the carpet actally gave in quite a bit as if it wasnt really attched to a wall directly. Quite strange. However when we came back for the longer stay they gave us a nicer room that was lighter in color and did not have carpet on the walls. The staff was pretty helpful most of the time. They have an elevater and a porter for you luggage. The food for breakfast was pretty good, decent choices. Great feta and honeydew melon wih meats and breads, many other things. They also served in the small restaurant/bar area something we ate almost everyday for Lunch or dinner: Cretan Dakos. Huge chunks of feta with tomatoes and basil with olive oil and vinagerette on barley rusk bread. We chatted with a gentleman who worked there, I can remeber but he may have been the owner or manager. He was quite nice. We did have to pay for internet access and I belive it was fairly fast. If i recall correctly they had 4-6 computers in the lobby. The bathrooms were pretty nice with marble and bathtubs/showers. The mattresses weren't so great. They are soft mattresses with that an American could compare to a dog bed. Lets just say you can roll it up and carry it alone into another room. They mattress I had on the second stay was really worn in the middle so it hurt my back. I finally decided to go ask for a switchof the mattresses, and the concierge did not really understand what I was saying because he told me all the mattresses were the same. I tried to explain that I knew there were the same type, but that mine was worn. He was speaking very loudly and seemed annoyed and I was pretty embarrassed for asking. They seemed to like us a little less after that. Although they did end up giving us two mattresses for one bed. The decor in the main areas is very nice and modern. I believe this hotel had a renovation for the Olympics when Athens hosted. I would def stay here again depsite the small negatives.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgnia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

I am attaching 10 photos that I snapped at the Herodion.

We stayed for two nights in April 2010. The room was clean and adequate although small. They did an excellent job designing the space so it looks lovely and provides everything you need, in tight quarters.

We had an amazing view of the Acropolis from our room. See photo.

The hotel is right next door to the New Acropolis Museum with its plentiful artifacts and clear floors where you can look down into ruins below. It is an easy walk from the hotel to the shops and restaurants of La Plaka.

The hotel's rooftop terraces provide a great place to relax, read, and nap, but a couple things to know about the two jacuzzi's: #1) only the first 15 minutes are free, you use an access card from the front desk to fire up the jets. Any add'l minutes you want, you have to buy the time from the front desk. #2) the jacuzzi's close at 9:00 pm. The front desk will not sell you any minutes after 9:00 pm.

The breakfast buffet was very generous and delicious. Seriously, don't miss it! Mix some honey into the outstanding Greek yogurt, I assure you that you won't be disappointed.

Bring a travel alarm clock since, like all the hotels we went to in Italy and Greece, a clock is not provided in your room.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirgniaBiztrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,973 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#35 of 326 in Athens
1,979 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 326 in Athens
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing