We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good...but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Electra Hotel Athens
Ranked #39 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good...but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Electra in February 2014 and I liked it.
The hotel is very well located, the staff is very nice, breakfast is good, my room was small but confortable, tv had lots of international channels, including spanish tv.
On the negative part:
-I made my reservation via my travel agency at least five weeks before my stay. My credit card number was given, the booking was confirmed and a confirmation number was sent to me. Two days before my arrival i was informed that my credit card hasd expired in the meantime and a new reservation had to be made, giving my new card number.....and receiving a more exensive rate.
- there are two elevators, extremely slow and small.
- the bathroom is small and not user friendly. Shower water was splashing out of the shower, even if i tried hard to avoid it.
- free wifi only in the lobby. Paying wifi in the rooms.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bruselense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    431
    124
    33
    10
See reviews for
176
296
66
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here the last 2 nights. Conveniently located, outstanding breakfast (although we missed it the 2nd day because it doesn't open until 7, and we had to leave by 6:45). Evening desk agent Fifo is incredibly helpful: as good as many concierge. Quiet (for an older property), clean and has a great atmosohere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank taiyaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very cool area of Athens, On Ermou Street, Syntagma Square, very close, walking distance to Placa, Monastiraky, Kolonaky, even Akropolis all the cool areas that any tourist would visit and eve any local would appreciate. Ermou Street its actually the main shopping street in Athens and you'll really be tempted.
I was lucky as i had the main suite. For a suite it was cozy but a little small. .The regular rooms are very small. Furniture a bit outdated, classical, but very maintained. I ordered champagne and they brought 2 platters of appetizers, i do appreciate that gesture and they were very tasty.
Breakfast was tasty, enough variety.
The staff was respectful and nice.
At night i could hear a buzzing sound from the mini bar.

Room Tip: The regular rooms are very small. The suite its okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have been visited Athens and accommodated in Athens Electra Hotel for the last 15 years.
The last 10 years we choose this hotel at least 2 times a year. Once in Christmas Holidays and once for few days in the summer.
Athens Electra Hotel is a very good and value for money 4 * Hotel with an excellent location. Recently renovated, but with the same quality and standards in hospitality and provided services.
Located in the most popular shopping street of Athens, is next to the central underground station (150m) and to the airport shuttle bus station (150m), both located in the Syntagma Square.
Electra Hotel is located very near (10'-15' walk) to the most popular sites of Athens (Acropolis with Parthenon, Acropolis museum, plaka and monastiraki) but also to traditional restaurants, bars, cafeterias, theaters and night clubs.
Both, the room and the bathroom are very clean. Breakfast served is rich and of a very good quality. Air conditioning and sound insulation are very good. There is a little noise coming from the shopping street, Ermou.
There is a free wifi in the ground lobby areas but unfortunately there is an extra charge for using wifi in the room.
In the breakfast restaurant there are 2 desktop computers with a printer if you need to print your boarding passes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel and the friendly staff. The location is excellent. We were in a room that was just above the street, so it was a bit noisy, but we were so tired we didn't ask to change. If I had any advice, it would be to request a non-smoking room. Smoke fumes came under our door & we had to block them with towels & plastic bags. Again - I should have asked to change rooms. Other than these problems (which I should have tried to resolve) the hotel was very well located and the tours we signed up for through the hotel were very good. The breakfast was excellent and pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from street noise if that is important to you. Also insist on non-smoking room and as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornToDrive214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The staff at the Electra were kind, responsive and frankly on top of their game at every point. They were exceedingly hospitable and welcoming. The entire property is clean and well cared for. The restaurant is very good and the bar equally good. The location of this hotel is super. You are in walking distance of all the museums and sights, as well as an inconceivable number and variety of restaurants, shops and historic districts. Added to all of this, the price was reasonable. It was truly a pleasure to stay the Electra.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned form a marvelous 5-day trip with 4 friends to Athens, a great city inhabited by a great people. The Electra was an excellent choice, centrally located, rooms clean and comfortable (tough the bathroom is very small and there is no place or hooks to hang anything....), very good breakfast (freshly squeezed orange juice!). The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Fofi who is a real jewel. The only downside was the air-conditioning. It is a central system and it was already in "winter mode", so no cooling although the days were still hot. Luckily we had a room facing the back, so we could sleep with the window open (otherwise the room was too hot and stuffy), but the mosquitoes found it too.....
All in all, highly recommended

Room Tip: If you want a quite room, ask for one facing the back street and not Ermou street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Amalia Hotel
Amalia Hotel
#17 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
NJV Athens Plaza
NJV Athens Plaza
#37 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Syntagma
Athens Diamond Homtel
Athens Diamond Homtel
#63 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Hotel Athens

Property: Electra Hotel Athens
Address: 5 Ermou | Athens, Athens 105 63, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Electra Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inviting and welcoming, the Electra Athens, in the city's commercial district is the place to stay whether you are here for business or pleasure. Subtle and elegant and just off Syntagma square, our hotel rooms and suites are ideally located to host your city break or business trip without sacrificing the style and comfort you are used to. Designed with the busy traveler of the 21st century in mind, and operated, as all Electra Hotels and Resorts are, under the philosophy of warm, heartfelt Greek hospitality, the Electra Athens features cozy rooms, supreme amenities and delicious breakfast and meals. In our well-appointed hotel rooms and suites, the comfortable beds, muted décor and carefully chosen details create an atmosphere of soothing comfort, while in the breakfast restaurant and all day café, tasty dishes complete the delightful experience. If in town for business, you will find that the hotel's business facilities, natural lit conference hall, business services and staff make Electra ideal for your business stay - plus, since it is so centrally located, you will be able to have some non-business downtime as well, enjoying the sights and vibrant Athenian scene. Situated in the beginning of Ermou Street, the city's main shopping area, the Electra Athens hotel is conveniently located within walking distance from Plaka, Monastiraki and the Acropolis, as well as from the upscale district of Kolonaki with its wide choice of shopping and dining options. With the Athens metro just a few steps away, most of the city is within easy reach too, making the Electra Athens your perfect base for venturing about the city, doing business, discovering the Athenian treasures and enjoying your time in the capital of Greece. Welcome to the center of Athens. Welcome to your ideal city center hotel. Welcome to Electra Athens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing