We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, average accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Titania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Titania Hotel
Ranked #123 of 325 Hotels in Athens
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, average accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the Titania on a recent business trip to Athens. The hotel seems to cater for tour companies which might explain the mediocre rooms and average breakfast as the tourists will be rushing to get out all day sightseeing.

The lobby is very grand with a cafe to the left. After 10pm this will be filled with people making use of the free 1hr wifi which they say is only available in the lobby but I managed to connect to it from my room also.

The reception staff are very friendly and courteous and do a very good job, even when faced with 40 tourists and their coach loads of luggage. The breakfast staff are a little more stressed, but still manage a smile. Breakfast is a good spread of hot and cold items, cereals and some traditional Greek items. However, the juice comes out of a machine and appears to be a water/syrup mixture. The Olive Garden is the redeeming feature of the Titania, a rooftop terrace area and restaurant where you can have a drink/meal and enjoy a great view of the Acropolis, Lycabettus hill and the sprawling city of Athens. Food is good but expensive as you are paying for the view.

The rooms are basic and clean but a bit on the small side, the bathroom I had was very small and I had to manoeuvre myself like a gymnast to use the bath in the mornings. The walls are thin and you often hear the people above and next to you, if you are near the elevators you will hear that going up/down all night. The room I had faced out onto the other side of the hotel and the space between us was where the extractor fans, a/c units and other such utility items are located, so no view at all. If you have the option ask for a front (street) facing room.

Although the report sounds quite negative, the hotel is an OK base for any tourist trip to Athens as you will rarely be spending your day in the hotel room. As such the hotel is in a very good location for getting buses/trains around Athens. You're a 10 minutes walk to Syntagma square, less than 20 minute walk to the Plaka area at the foot of the Acropolis, 35 minutes to Lycabettus hill, and about 3 minutes to Omonia square.

I was a bit disappointed that the gym/fitness facilities did not open early or late enough to fit a workout in around long office hours.

Room Tip: if available ask for a room facing out to the street rather than facing the internal courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLOB3TR0TT3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    505
    455
    170
    99
See reviews for
222
398
73
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Titania Hotel for two nights at the start of our Greece vacation, and for two days at the end. The rooms were clean and neat, but the room we had at the end of our stay had an unpleasant sewage odor (I think it was coming from the floor drain in the bathroom). We opened the window for a few minutes and the problem was solved. Service at the hotel was very good, from the front desk, the breakfast room, and the lobby bar/restaurant. We also ate dinner at the roof top restaurant, the Olive Garden, overlooking the Acropolis. The view is not to be missed. On a couple of occasions we enjoyed having a glass of wine at the lobby bar, where we enjoyed excellent service from our friendly, competent bartender, Christos Toumpekis. The hotel is located centrally, and the Plaka is only about a thirty minute walk away. The Syntagma Square and the Parliament (Old Royal Palace) with the hourly changing of the guard, are only a ten minute walk up the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank collie1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θεσσαλονίκη
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent breakfast. The personnel are very helpful and kind. Very close to the city center - though near Omonia, which is not the safest place to move around during late hours (during the night always prefer the metro station of Panepistimiou and not of Omonia). I've ordered food in my room, which was really tasty and cheap. The bad thing is I found a hair inside it, at the end, but I guess this could have been just an unlucky incident. The room was quiet and quite clean (towels were changed on a daily basis), but there was an annoying smell of cigarettes every morning, probably coming through other rooms. The hotel (building-furniture-plumbing) needs renovation. You pay for the WiFi (check the price rates at the hotel's website). Generally, I think it's a nice hotel, but you get less than you pay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Σοφία Κ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Overview:
Stayed as a couple on business for a Conference in the hotel for 4 days mid May 2014 with tourism and sightseeing afternoon/evenings.

Tip:
Absolutely essential you opt for a Superior room or higher category, if not you may have an internal atrium or no view with single beds and be close to five lifts and their electronic beeps and pings all night long (no sleep!); we moved on second day... much better. The hotel is very busy and often fully booked but this causes no problems in the three restaurants, bars or gm - just the lobby is mayhem.

Rooms:
Go Superior or higher and included are: 2 Robes, 2 pairs Slippers, Toiletries, electronic Safe, King Bed with 2 side tables, LCD Sat TV, Wired LAN point, Desk and chair, 2 sofa chairs and large coffee table, mini-bar (at charge), Power massage Shower over bath, single sink and WC. Air-con. Very clean. Comfortable. You won't be happy in a standard room (I rate 3*) believe me so don't risk it a Superior is 4*.

Reception:
Fantastic service considering the very busy nature of this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. Any issued resolved quickly. Sami the smart Bell boy (man) is excellent for transporting your luggage from reception to your room and vice-versa, local information and calling a Taxi etc. Two female reception staff (blonde and brunette) twenty-something's are very professional, personable and friendly; you could not fault them; sorry we did not catch your names but thank you!

Housekeeping:
Good, they work extremely hard and the place is very clean and hygienic.
No staff pushed for any tips at all, but are worth it, especially if you stay more than 1 night...

Food:
Olive Garden 10th floor roof-top restaurant (extra charge) - Incredible view of Acropolis. Open lunchtime to 2.30am. Limited menu choice but very nice. Coffee €3, Beer from €4, Wine from, €15 bottle, hot Bar snacks from €6 Mains from €12; you won't get a better view of the city elsewhere so worth it...

Europe breakfast buffet 2nd floor (included). Simple. Functional. Unlimited. Open 6.30am to 10.30am. Lots of choice from: Full English hot breakfast to Greek meats and cheeses, Continental, Cereals and toast, Healthy options. Coffee is instant and juice is from a concentrate machine - unfortunately but understandable given the amount of people. Plenty of good waiting staff on duty to assist and clear.

Pizza / Grill: Lobby and Mezzanine (extra). Looks good. Has Bar and Coffee bar. But just too noisy in the Lobby due to amount of people there using the free 1 hour Wi-Fi per room per day.

Wi-Fi:
1 hour in Lobby per room per day included.
Fast 8 Meg Wi-Fi was €29 for 3 days or €46 for the week. The longer you have the more reasonable price it is. Different bandwidths speed available for watching TV online etc. to just web browsing and email, reflected in price. Full details on hotels website.

Gym:
Small but functional. Clean. Staffed. with Music. Changing rooms with showers and WC. Sports Massage (Extra). Has 5 machines incl. Bike. Treadmill, Cross-Trainer, Multi-gym and assorted dumbbells.

Check in from 3pm; check-out midday (they have a secure luggage store if required - included).

Close to Syntamga square or Omomia metro (10 mins walk either way on main road)

We would return.

Room Tip: Superior double - essential. 6th floor or higher. Front of hotel or facing outwards Ensure the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel twice in ten days, once for four nights and again for one night in transit back from the islands. On both occasions the room was small with two small uncomfortable beds and no view; the first room looked out onto a concrete wall and the second into a small back yard. The location of the hotel is good with only a short wall to the metro and suburban trains. It is also close to the hop on-hop off bus stop which is convenient for tourists. Service is average and a bit impersonal. Breakfast is good but very busy as this hotel is poular for conferences and tour groups. The Olive restuarant on the roof serves very good food with spectacular views across the city to the Acropolis.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel Does not look bad but. The rooms are not the best. Noisy,small, smallest bath u can imagine. Trollies with cups and sauces going up and down ally after midnight. Beds are much to be desired for. We stayed for one night and unfortunately we have to stay another two near the end of our holiday. Pity. In a convenient position. Pity the graffiti is on the walls of these beautiful buildings. Marble which must difficult to clean. The breakfast we had at 5 in the morning as we had to catch a ferry seemed very nice. We will try the roof garden when we go back. Hopefully it will be good. But the rooms also don't have kettles for morning coffee. Pity that how I think everybody wakes up. Well I do.

Room Tip: Google somewhere else, don't stay on the 10th floor. U hear the lift all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 789Bronwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is one of the best hotels in Athens in service provision, building maintenance and location. When entering the building, the customer is greeted by a well maintained and pleasantly designed interior. It provides a feeling that the customer is welcome to enter and remain in the facility. The reception staff are very polite and very professional in dealing with the customers and answering the questions or requests accurately and comprehensibly. On the left of the entrance is the restaurant where the customers feel welcome and are served by professional staff. The prices of the menu are on the average price range. the portions are quite filling and very tasty. They have a nice range of alcoholic beverages but we did not have the chance to taste them. There is a reasonable range of rooms at prices that are very reasonable for the quality of hotel that it is. The location of the hotel is very central. The transport infrastructure is very good with buses and electric buses stopping almost outside the hotel and some taxis stopping and waiting outside the hotel. There is a metro station about 350 meters to the right of the hotel. There are a lot of shops close to the hotel. There is a supermarket about 150 meters away from the hotel, as well as restaurants and fast food chains offering cheese There are also shops that sell clothing, DVDs CDs among other items of interest. One can take the metro and go to Acropolis or walk about 3.6 kilometers to acropolis.

Room Tip: You can always ask to check the room if it is to your satisfaction Top floor rooms have a magnifice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#42 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
President Hotel
#145 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#83 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Athens Zafolia Hotel
#75 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titania Hotel

Property: Titania Hotel
Address: 52 Panepistimiou Avenue, Athens 106 78, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Titania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Panepistimiou Avenue, right in the heart of the Historical and Commercial Centre of Athens, in between the city’s major squares, (“Syntagma” & “Omonia”), the recently renovated TITANIA Hotel, creates its own history in the art of Hospitality.Surrounded by the most important monuments of the Grecian History, such as the Acropolis, the Parliament, the Archaeological Museum, The National Library, as well as the modern commercial shops and the city malls, TITANIA offers to its guests a great number of choices, not only cultural but also in entertainment. Everything is within walking distance from the Hotel.The impressive area of the Reception with well known Grecian themes of inlaid mosaics in the Pentelikon marble, the Dome & the popular ‘La Brasserie” creates the right setting and mood from the very first moment, whereas the 385 functional rooms ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Titania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing