We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Otto1” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athens Zafolia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Athens Zafolia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Otto1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The positives outweigh the negatives at Zafolia. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Shared with two other friends in a triple room, and it wasn't too squashy. Bathroom clean and decent sized. Enjoyed many an afternoon drink in the downstairs bar and after dinner a nightcap on the roof top that has spectacular views. Because taxis are so cheap in athens it was easy to get wherever you wanted. Only negatives were that my bed was under the window on the road side and I needed to wear earplugs to sleep. Laundry prices were exorbitant with one pair of underwear costing 8€. You had to request an iron and ironing board, but at least they gave you one, unlike many other hotels in Greece. Breakfast was decent and the service in the dining room was excellent. I would stay here again. (Now that I know where the closest laundromat is.)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Cottone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    174
    83
    19
    4
See reviews for
64
96
29
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Big Bear Lake, California, Usa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here in April of 2013 for 10 days total before and after our tour. During our stay we had an incident where one of our wallets was stolen. I would never had believed that a hotel staff could be so helpful from the front desk to the manager all were gratious and helpful getting credit cards cancelled then holding the new credit cards in the safe that arrived when we were on tour. You would get theis kind of service in the US.
Rooms are on the small side but you do not notice because they are only for sleeping. Stay here by all means.

Room Tip: get a room in the back as you can hear street noise on the Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We chose this hotel because it had a pool as leading up to our stay, the weather had been quite warm. The weather chose to cool down as soon as we arrived, so I didn't get to try out the pool - although it looked quite good. Our room was good, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The included breakfast was great, but the free wifi is only available in communal areas - i.e. lobby, restaurant and rooftop bar areas. We enjoyed the nearby restaurants (across the road and down to the right, just behind the park area) which all appeared to be frequented by locals. The hotel links well with the easy to use public transport. We generally caught a bus down to a metro stop. Convenient for getting to the airport via the metro too. There are 3 day tourist passes for the public transport and very reasonably priced weekly passes too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jem_Ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great hotel with excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Though not centrally located the hotel is close to a metro station that gives easy access to major attractions and the Plaka area. The roof top swimming pool with bar is ideal for relaxation. Hotel is not very big so there are no big crowds of tourists.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athenes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

everythning was great especially the service, the price (83 euros BB) and the staf. The only thing that i want to change is the dacoration. If they only change the colors of the fabrics to more huppier they would have been for freshness and modern

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efimav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have stayed many times at the Zafolia. It is very clean and modern. If you have a room in the front of the hotel, it may be somewhat noisy since it is located on a main street/highway but the view is breathtaking. The staff is very friendly and speak English. If you need to take a bus to downtown Athens, the bus stop is a few feet away from the entrance to the hotel or the front desk will call a taxi for you. Breakfast is included in the room charge and is pretty good with a varied selection. Around the corner is a street that has all kinds of small stores from grocery to shoes to household items to jewelry. The location is very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back or side of hotel are quieter but view is not that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margo1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here for 10 days with 2 teenage sons. Loved everything about this hotel. Staff amazingly friendly ! Cleanliness exceptional. Fitness room with all the equipment and sauna was great for my sons ! Breakfast covers all your needs especially with vegetarian son ! Roof garden lovely with views all over Athens including the Acropollis - spent most evenings looking over the scenery as the sun set ! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Will definitely visit again. Taxi to Athens centre is only 5 euro's or about a 20 min walk. Location excellent as outside of the usual tourist trap and shows how the real Greek people live. Local eateries very cheap and the Alexandre Restaurant amazing value for money with excellent food and friendly staff ! Start your day off with a coffee from the fabulous coffee shop across the road and try their sandwiches and cakes for lunch. Thank you Zafolia for an amazing holiday you definitely ticked all the boxes for my family and our visit to Athens. See you soon and keep doing what you are doing it was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the main street is a busy road - at the back their is no noise and sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#123 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Athenes
#58 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
President Hotel
#145 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Airotel Alexandros
#92 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Zafolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Zafolia Hotel

Property: Athens Zafolia Hotel
Address: 87-89 Leoforos Alexandras, Athens 114 74, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#51 Family Hotel in Athens
#55 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Zafolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zafolia Hotel offers 192 guestrooms, flexibly configured to meet the diverse needs of every guest, from Executive Rooms and Suites for the busy, yet demanding business executive to Classic or Family Rooms for the everyday traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Athens Zafolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zafolia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing