We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Zafolia Hotel
Ranked #78 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very good. Had free wifi, rooftop pool and bar, continental breakfast, and within walking distance to the metro. Lots of cafés and Restuarants nearby. There are a few taverns nearby also. Staff speaks English. The hotel Restuarant is adequate but was very dead. We ate the spaghetti and the fish special. Both were good.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staying in this hotel is part of our Tour in Athens. When I wanted to book for the before and after our tour, I find it very very expensive. The hotel is clean, spacious and as the other says their rooftop pool and bar were great. Did not use though because of our time was not enough. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. Wifi in the hotel and lobby are free because it includes with our tour
The hotel is not very far from the train station but I found the surrounding to be good since they have mini market, café and few shops. There are buses also in front of the hotel but with their price, better stay in Plaka area.
For our before and after tour, I booked a hotel not very far from this place and it was very cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bhoy969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of the tour group we joined, saw other conferences and tour groups stay there as well. It's spacious, the rooms are decent, definitely nice to have a rooftop pool and bar that opens late. It was pretty easy to get to Lycabettus Hill from here, but not quite walking distance to Syntagma and Acropolis area, especially given the heat in the summer time. Only free Wifi in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Zafolia Hotel during a convention. The rooms were simple, but clean and the group rate we were given couldn't be beat. The staff was very helpful and the lobby and rooftop were great places to gather and meet others and to access the wi-fi. Only the rooftop and lobby have free wi-fi - in room is an extra charge.

The neighborhood isn't the best for sight-seeing, but it was maybe 8 blocks to the metro, which is clean and easy to navigate.

My room was in the front of the hotel and Alexandras is a major, busy road, so it was very noisy, but Athens is a noisy city that stays awake all night, so you can expect noise to be an issue in most places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

- Very helpful team at the reception.
- clean and well maintained rooms although could be refurbished (need brighter colors only)
- you have a Carrefour mini-market right across the street (allowed us to buy snacks & beverages for a quick light dinner snack in the room).
- hotel isn't in the central touristic area so all shops & restaurants/cafes around it are cheaper than central Athens and La Plaka. you are 10 minutes walk from a metro station so pretty easy to go around the city.
- reception recommended Alexander restaurant for dinner - 5 to 6 minutes walk from the hotel and the food was amazing + good value for money.
- breakfast buffet is average (but you can order a la carte fresh orange juice, special omelettes etc. at an extra cost).
- amazing view at roof with a nice bar & restaurant (go there at night).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location; it's within walking distance to several museums, attractions and quaint restaurants.

The Hotel Staff is friendly, cheerful and helpful and will take the time to go over what/where you want to do/see with a map at the front desk and you are confidently sent on your way to your sightseeing.

Rooms are clean and up-to-date.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room that faces Alexandras avenue. The back of the hotel faces the backs of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only had two full days in Athens and this hotel was well placed for what we wanted to see and do. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't do enough for us when we needed advice on local attractions and transport. Breakfast was delicious and widely varied. Definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Room 105/107 is two rooms behind one access door. Great to have kids close but not too close!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kiwisabroad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novus City Hotel
#34 of 282 in Athens
771 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Golden Age Hotel Athens
#40 of 282 in Athens
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Athenes
#59 of 282 in Athens
2,381 reviews
President Hotel
#136 of 282 in Athens
1,577 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#53 of 282 in Athens
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Zafolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Zafolia Hotel

Address: Leoforos Alexandras 87-89, Athens 11474, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Athens
#46 Business Hotel in Athens
#50 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £73 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Zafolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4-stars hotel in Athens with a magnificent view of Lycabettus Hill and emphasis on first-rate hospitality. The Athens Zafolia Hotel, is a modern hotel in downtown Athens, with a contemporary building designed with bold lines of glass and granite outside and the discreet luxury of marble, wood and leather inside. The Athens Zafolia Hotel provides guests with high-standard services and accommodation, offering unique opportunities for relaxation and tranquility, with a Bar, Restaurant and one of the most beautiful Roof Garden Restaurants in Athens with a spectacular view. Our Hotel offers 192 guestrooms, flexibly configured to meet the diverse needs of every guest, from Executive Rooms and Suites for the busy, yet demanding business executive to Classic or Family Rooms for the everyday traveller & families. Finally, The Athens Zafolia Hotel is also a Conference Hotel and it is the perfect choice for business or social gatherings, meetings, speeches and lectures, exhibitions, presentations, as well as receptions, events and happenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Athens Zafolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zafolia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing