We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE ATHENS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athens Zafolia Hotel
Ranked #78 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Zafolia: the hotel is in the city center, nothing really major around it other than the local restaurants (10/10 food quality and taste) however, the Metro Station is about 10 mins walk in which u can reach anywhere in Athens (Metro is 0.7 € one way ticket). Also the Bus tour station (hop in-off) is about 15 mins walk from the hotel (total tour is about 8-10 hours) takes you through major places through Athens and Pireas
As for the Hotel, people at reception are friendly, help us finding tours and will make phone calls for us. Room services brought us whatever we asked for (though we didnt ask for much :) ) it was also safe. Breakfast is included, good varieties and okay quality. We never really spent much time at hotel anyways. The hotel has a swimming pool at the roof with beautiful scenes. Internet is free at the lobby only, must pay if you wish to use inside the rooms (1hr 8 Euros and 24 hours 16 Euros). Akropolis and major places are about 3-4 stations away (10-15 mins). Thiossis is a great places to visit and there is a Metro station there too. You will love Athens.

Room Tip: Metro Station is 10 minutes walk, you can reach anywhere (read up) Bus tour station is 15 mins walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAFOLIA, Director of Sales at Athens Zafolia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sam,

we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your nice comments.

It is always a great pleasure for us to hear that our aim to meet the expectations of our guests, has been achieved.

Please allow us to clarify the in-room Wi Fi internet charges as there must have been a misunderstanding.
The charges for using Wi Fi in the room, are 3 euros for 1 hour, 8 euros for 24 hours or 15 euros for 48 hours of use.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again, sometime in the future.

With Kind Regards.
Efi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very good. Had free wifi, rooftop pool and bar, continental breakfast, and within walking distance to the metro. Lots of cafés and Restuarants nearby. There are a few taverns nearby also. Staff speaks English. The hotel Restuarant is adequate but was very dead. We ate the spaghetti and the fish special. Both were good.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staying in this hotel is part of our Tour in Athens. When I wanted to book for the before and after our tour, I find it very very expensive. The hotel is clean, spacious and as the other says their rooftop pool and bar were great. Did not use though because of our time was not enough. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. Wifi in the hotel and lobby are free because it includes with our tour
The hotel is not very far from the train station but I found the surrounding to be good since they have mini market, café and few shops. There are buses also in front of the hotel but with their price, better stay in Plaka area.
For our before and after tour, I booked a hotel not very far from this place and it was very cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bhoy969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of the tour group we joined, saw other conferences and tour groups stay there as well. It's spacious, the rooms are decent, definitely nice to have a rooftop pool and bar that opens late. It was pretty easy to get to Lycabettus Hill from here, but not quite walking distance to Syntagma and Acropolis area, especially given the heat in the summer time. Only free Wifi in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Zafolia Hotel during a convention. The rooms were simple, but clean and the group rate we were given couldn't be beat. The staff was very helpful and the lobby and rooftop were great places to gather and meet others and to access the wi-fi. Only the rooftop and lobby have free wi-fi - in room is an extra charge.

The neighborhood isn't the best for sight-seeing, but it was maybe 8 blocks to the metro, which is clean and easy to navigate.

My room was in the front of the hotel and Alexandras is a major, busy road, so it was very noisy, but Athens is a noisy city that stays awake all night, so you can expect noise to be an issue in most places.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

- Very helpful team at the reception.
- clean and well maintained rooms although could be refurbished (need brighter colors only)
- you have a Carrefour mini-market right across the street (allowed us to buy snacks & beverages for a quick light dinner snack in the room).
- hotel isn't in the central touristic area so all shops & restaurants/cafes around it are cheaper than central Athens and La Plaka. you are 10 minutes walk from a metro station so pretty easy to go around the city.
- reception recommended Alexander restaurant for dinner - 5 to 6 minutes walk from the hotel and the food was amazing + good value for money.
- breakfast buffet is average (but you can order a la carte fresh orange juice, special omelettes etc. at an extra cost).
- amazing view at roof with a nice bar & restaurant (go there at night).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location; it's within walking distance to several museums, attractions and quaint restaurants.

The Hotel Staff is friendly, cheerful and helpful and will take the time to go over what/where you want to do/see with a map at the front desk and you are confidently sent on your way to your sightseeing.

Rooms are clean and up-to-date.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room that faces Alexandras avenue. The back of the hotel faces the backs of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Novus City Hotel
#36 of 284 in Athens
774 reviews
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Novotel Athenes
#56 of 284 in Athens
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 284 in Athens
2,191 reviews
President Hotel
#139 of 284 in Athens
1,587 reviews
Divani Caravel Hotel
#53 of 284 in Athens
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Zafolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Zafolia Hotel

Address: Leoforos Alexandras 87-89, Athens 11474, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Athens
#46 Business Hotel in Athens
#49 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £73 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Zafolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superior 4-stars hotel in Athens with a magnificent view of Lycabettus Hill and emphasis on first-rate hospitality. The Athens Zafolia Hotel, is a modern hotel in downtown Athens, with a contemporary building designed with bold lines of glass and granite outside and the discreet luxury of marble, wood and leather inside. The Athens Zafolia Hotel provides guests with high-standard services and accommodation, offering unique opportunities for relaxation and tranquility, with a Bar, Restaurant and one of the most beautiful Roof Garden Restaurants in Athens with a spectacular view. Our Hotel offers 192 guestrooms, flexibly configured to meet the diverse needs of every guest, from Executive Rooms and Suites for the busy, yet demanding business executive to Classic or Family Rooms for the everyday traveller & families. Finally, The Athens Zafolia Hotel is also a Conference Hotel and it is the perfect choice for business or social gatherings, meetings, speeches and lectures, exhibitions, presentations, as well as receptions, events and happenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Athens Zafolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zafolia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing