We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky yet fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Athens Zafolia Hotel
Ranked #80 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smoky yet fine”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I visited Greece in a business and stayed there for 3 nights. The room is ok - very very clean yet really smells of cigarettes... It really bothered me because I have asthma and felt like I was choking the whole stay yet I couldn't open up the windows due to a horrible noise outside. I have to say that the reception lady was really really nice and so were the entire crew. The bathroom was super clean and all the great shows were on television.. Must say that the breakfast was not to vegan friendly but I think its ok because most of the people in Greece are not too vegan :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    185
    85
    19
    5
See reviews for
64
103
30
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Zafolia: the hotel is in the city center, nothing really major around it other than the local restaurants (10/10 food quality and taste) however, the Metro Station is about 10 mins walk in which u can reach anywhere in Athens (Metro is 0.7 € one way ticket). Also the Bus tour station (hop in-off) is about 15 mins walk from the hotel (total tour is about 8-10 hours) takes you through major places through Athens and Pireas
As for the Hotel, people at reception are friendly, help us finding tours and will make phone calls for us. Room services brought us whatever we asked for (though we didnt ask for much :) ) it was also safe. Breakfast is included, good varieties and okay quality. We never really spent much time at hotel anyways. The hotel has a swimming pool at the roof with beautiful scenes. Internet is free at the lobby only, must pay if you wish to use inside the rooms (1hr 8 Euros and 24 hours 16 Euros). Akropolis and major places are about 3-4 stations away (10-15 mins). Thiossis is a great places to visit and there is a Metro station there too. You will love Athens.

Room Tip: Metro Station is 10 minutes walk, you can reach anywhere (read up) Bus tour station is 15 mins walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAFOLIA, Director of Sales at Athens Zafolia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sam,

we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your nice comments.

It is always a great pleasure for us to hear that our aim to meet the expectations of our guests, has been achieved.

Please allow us to clarify the in-room Wi Fi internet charges as there must have been a misunderstanding.
The charges for using Wi Fi in the room, are 3 euros for 1 hour, 8 euros for 24 hours or 15 euros for 48 hours of use.

Looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel again, sometime in the future.

With Kind Regards.
Efi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel was very good. Had free wifi, rooftop pool and bar, continental breakfast, and within walking distance to the metro. Lots of cafés and Restuarants nearby. There are a few taverns nearby also. Staff speaks English. The hotel Restuarant is adequate but was very dead. We ate the spaghetti and the fish special. Both were good.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staying in this hotel is part of our Tour in Athens. When I wanted to book for the before and after our tour, I find it very very expensive. The hotel is clean, spacious and as the other says their rooftop pool and bar were great. Did not use though because of our time was not enough. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. Wifi in the hotel and lobby are free because it includes with our tour
The hotel is not very far from the train station but I found the surrounding to be good since they have mini market, café and few shops. There are buses also in front of the hotel but with their price, better stay in Plaka area.
For our before and after tour, I booked a hotel not very far from this place and it was very cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhoy969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of the tour group we joined, saw other conferences and tour groups stay there as well. It's spacious, the rooms are decent, definitely nice to have a rooftop pool and bar that opens late. It was pretty easy to get to Lycabettus Hill from here, but not quite walking distance to Syntagma and Acropolis area, especially given the heat in the summer time. Only free Wifi in the lobby, not in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Zafolia Hotel during a convention. The rooms were simple, but clean and the group rate we were given couldn't be beat. The staff was very helpful and the lobby and rooftop were great places to gather and meet others and to access the wi-fi. Only the rooftop and lobby have free wi-fi - in room is an extra charge.

The neighborhood isn't the best for sight-seeing, but it was maybe 8 blocks to the metro, which is clean and easy to navigate.

My room was in the front of the hotel and Alexandras is a major, busy road, so it was very noisy, but Athens is a noisy city that stays awake all night, so you can expect noise to be an issue in most places.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

- Very helpful team at the reception.
- clean and well maintained rooms although could be refurbished (need brighter colors only)
- you have a Carrefour mini-market right across the street (allowed us to buy snacks & beverages for a quick light dinner snack in the room).
- hotel isn't in the central touristic area so all shops & restaurants/cafes around it are cheaper than central Athens and La Plaka. you are 10 minutes walk from a metro station so pretty easy to go around the city.
- reception recommended Alexander restaurant for dinner - 5 to 6 minutes walk from the hotel and the food was amazing + good value for money.
- breakfast buffet is average (but you can order a la carte fresh orange juice, special omelettes etc. at an extra cost).
- amazing view at roof with a nice bar & restaurant (go there at night).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 325 in Athens
1,934 reviews
Novus City Hotel
#37 of 325 in Athens
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stratos Vassilikos
#29 of 325 in Athens
579 reviews
Omonia
Titania Hotel
Titania Hotel
#119 of 325 in Athens
1,471 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#90 of 325 in Athens
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Zafolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Zafolia Hotel

Property: Athens Zafolia Hotel
Address: 87-89 Leoforos Alexandras, Athens 114 74, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#51 Family Hotel in Athens
#55 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Zafolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zafolia Hotel offers 192 guestrooms, flexibly configured to meet the diverse needs of every guest, from Executive Rooms and Suites for the busy, yet demanding business executive to Classic or Family Rooms for the everyday traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Athens Zafolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zafolia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing