We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Hotel Philippos is in an amazing location in Athens. They are located right in between the Acropoli Metro stop and the Acropoli entrance, right behind the New Museum. The tourist area of Plaka is only a couple blocks away. I was within easy walking distance to most of the main tourist attractions and for anything else, the Metro was just 2-3 blocks away. It's nice to be in a quieter neighborhood and away from the late evening noise of Plaka, but still just a couple minutes walk away from everything. The location just can't be beat.

The desk clerks were always welcoming and helpful. I had a single room and while it was small, it was perfect for one person. There was an elevator, but do be careful not to trip as it always seemed to stop about 2 inches below the hallway floor. I wasn't wild about the breakfast but I heard other people raving about it (I'm not much of a breakfast person).

I would quite happily stay at the Philippos again and would suggest it to almost any ffamily or friends. There are stairs at the front entrance so it might not be the best for someone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyinRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    433
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
242
376
80
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Enjoyable stay here. We had a view of the Acropolis from our room. Close proximity to buses and metro. Breakfast was disappointing though.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accidental_Tourist48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My 16 year old son and I stayed here on our recent trip to Greece. We also spent 2 nights at the Plaka Hotel and would have to say that the Pilippos was as nice, if not nicer, than the Plaka. The location is great, with all the major sites within walking distance as well as many cafes, shops and the Metro. The area also seemed very safe.
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, with many choices. We paid for internet service in our room and also used the hotel's computer and both were adequate in speed.
The room was very large, although the bathroom was on the small side. There was a small living room with a couch and chair and a balcony off of it. The beds and tv were in a separate room. The beds were a bit on the hard side, but they tended to be so in most of the hotels we stayed in. The room appeared to be very clean.
We were very pleased with our stay here and recommend this hotel for a great value and a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My partner and I have just come back from a week-long stay in Athens (18th June - 26th June 2011) and we have nothing but praise for this hotel. While it may not have a swimming pool or a wide selection of restaurants, it is the ideal hotel for those who wish to be within walking distance of Athen's major tourist attractions. The Acropolis, New Acropolis Museum and Syntagma Square are all within 20 minutes walking distance from the hotel and there is no shortage of restaurants or shops in the nearby Plaka and Monastiraki neighhourhoods.

The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful and were able to organize day trips for us as well as give us useful information about the neighbourhood and nearby tourist sites. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, especially if you prefer continental breakfast over a big fry-up, and the rooms, while a little on the small side, were well-equipped and air-conditioned. Internet access is not free but since I didn't make use of the hotel's Wifi service during my stay, I can't really comment on its speed or value for money.

Based on the facilities on offer, I would advise people travelling with children to look elsewhere but, on the whole, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a hotel that is in a pleasant, quiet neighbourhood and still close enough to the lively Plaka area. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyMeetsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The location of this hotel is great - a few blocks from the ruins. However, our room had a very musty and gross smell, and the beds and pillows were rock hard (beyond anything we had ever experienced). The TV was ancient, the bathroom is small and the shower is very uncomfortable. Would not recommend for anything beyond 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fishy4sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nafplio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

After a long plane ride to Athens, this hotel was definitely a sigh of relief for us. The location couldn't be better -- a short walk to the Acropolis, not to mention the great view of the Acropolis we had from our private deck. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and easy access to shopping and restaurants. Philippos had it all, and our 8-year old had such a great time there that he insisted we write this review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Parthenon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchellAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

When I say 'average' I mean that in a good way... the hotel is very clean, the breakfast is decent, the rooms are small but contain everything you need, the staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating and the balconies are a nice bonus. But what really turns this hotel from ‘average’ to ‘great’ is the location. Right on the edge of Plaka, it is a 2 minute walk out of the hotel and you are on the pedestrianised walkway that runs all the way around the bottom of the Acropolis. You have great access to the Acropolis itself, and all the surrounding ruins and tourist sites. For food though, try not to go to the restaurants closest to the hotel, venturing a bit further into Plaka’s cobbled streets and up its hills, you will be rewarded with a better class of restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemmadickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#23 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing