We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to be back in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy to be back in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

This is the third time i am staying in this wonderfull hotel while i am in Athens.
Very peacefull place situated near Akropolis muesium. From hotel Philipos all the kommunication takes about 5 minutes to reach, buss, underground, taxi you name it.
Staff are very kind polit and helpfull.
Big rooms with all the facilities. Breakfast is frech and they have all you need for a good start. The best of all is very quite. Wifi is free of charge. I feel safe and happy. I would like to range this hotel to 5 stars because of the quality.
I feel that i am us a family member not is a customer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Georgios M

Your feeling of being family member and not customer, is well justified. The honour is all ours and we thank you for very much for that. Returning guests, such as you and family, only make us feel honoured and even more responsible for the quality of service to be offered. We wish you and your family a happy and fruitful stay in town, with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    433
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
242
376
80
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Really friendly staff, very clean and tidy room and amazing breakfast. The only issue is that we had to pay to have internet conection (3 euros for an hour and 5 euros for 24 hours). Anyway, every place we found around (coffee shops, restaurants etc) had free WIFI.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with Akropoli's views (Just amazing for a romantic trip)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSE LUIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear JOSE LUIS S

We value your review and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Stayed here with my 10yr old son for 4 days. As previously mentioned the rooms are small however as we only used this as a base to see as much as possible Athens has to offer it was great. Staff were patient and helpful answering my sons barrage of questions. We had a twin room that suited our needs very well & beds were very comfortable.
Located wonderfully close to Acropolis stn, museum and rock it was easy to get around.
Great breakfast. Very clean. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank amtd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review about your stay and experience at PHILIPPOS hotel. Thank you for sharing all of your observations, we appreciate your kind comments about the efficiency of our staff, the quality of sleep, the fullness of our breakfast. We are very glad we were able to earn your recommendation and are excited at the prospect of welcoming you back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from the Philippos Hotel in Athens It was a 50th birthday trip,
First impression was OMG what have we booked, on a dirty back street a stones throw from the Acropolis, cars parked everywhere on the pavements around the corners double parked, just anywhere a car could be left.
There is no concession for disabled people, to get to the reception a flight of steps, with no access for wheelchairs that I could see (more about wheelchairs and people with difficulty walking later)
The receptionist was checking in another group of guests when we arrived, and was constantly on the phone making and taking calls while ignoring the group. The same when we checked in..very rude.
The room was a sight to see, small does not begin to describe it and the bathroom was a joke.
You could only swing a Manx cat in the room and a Manx mouse in the bathroom.
You could not store many clothes as there was only one small wardrobe, and you could not have the door open if the bathroom door was open, they were that close.
You could not get two people in the bathroom at the same time unless one was in the shower, I say shower but it was a bath with shower attachment, my wife is only five feet 2 inches tall and she could not lie in the bath only sit, it was that small.
If you wanted to sit on the toilet and you are taller than five five you had to crouch down before you sat and then your knees were under the basin after sitting.
The beds and pillows are rock hard , I did contemplate sleeping on the floor ,but there was not enough room for me to lie down on it.
The breakfast was usual continental stuff, coffee from a vending machine and orange juice drink masquerading as juice.
If you can stay at another hotel as I would give this 3 star a max 2 star rating.

A bit about Athens the pavements are totally not suitable for people who have difficulty walking as they are uneven potholed and generally dangerous, if you need to push a wheelchair or a pushchair you may not be able to get off the pavement at all as the cars park so close you cannot get through on to the road and then you have to watch out for the kamikaze scooters who use both road and pavement as their own right of way, be very careful.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmwsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear jmwsob

We are very sorry that you had a negative experience during your last stay, and we would like to speak with you further as we are having difficulty understanding your discomfort. We are most concerned with your comment about the attitude at the front desk as we have nothing but complimentary comments on our team. Especially Hlias, Spyros and Vassilis, that attended you, are very respectable from our loyal guests.
Had you had a disabled person in your company you would have known of the special attendance and facilities we offer, even if they are not obvious to the non interested parties.
If the room was not according to your expectations we would have been very happy to offer you other choices if you were kind enough to let us know.
I look forward to speaking with you, if you would like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The location is fantastic, very convenient to Acropolis Museum and Metro station, and an easy walk to all the restaurants of Plaka. The hotel is on two quiet streets, a real plus in Athens. Most rooms face the street and have balconies, but there wasn't much traffic on the streets by the hotel. Also convenient to a grocery store and pharmacy. Excellent breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Even by European standards, the room was small, and there was only one drawer in the room, so no place to store things you didn't want to hang. If you have a lot of luggage, this will be very cozy. The room was a great bargain, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you are very concerned about street noise, but most rooms face outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chibiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear chibiff

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We value your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

It felt like being at home but with all the advantages of a hotel. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, especially when I had walked into a thick glass window at the car hire office - bags of ice and whisky helped me recover! A very good breakfast, comfortable rooms, easy internet access for those without their own laptops - this is not always the case we found out in other places. I rate this hotel excellent - the only improvement we would like to see is in the coffee - but we'll be back anyway.

Room Tip: Some have a partial view of the Parthenon - at least ours did, 309 I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Valerie o

We are very proud to have earned your recommendation! We believe, and full heartedly support, that we should make every possible effort to add to our guest’s traveling experience, starting from the smiling faces and supportive personell, to home made delicacies for breakfast, well looked after rooms, laptops and a printer available to everyone.
For breakfast you have three choices of coffee, and it is unfortunate that it might not have been satisfactorily communicated to you. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve that, and next time you come we hope that you may find the taste which suits you best!
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very good hotel with excelent service.The room was very comfortable an clean,the location is perfect near Acropolis museum,and also near to metro station.I always prefere to stay at Philippos Hotel when i visit Athens.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VASILEIA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Vasileia1

It is our honour to welcome you at PHILIPPOS in every of your visits to Athens. We thank you for taking time to share your impressions of our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. Rest assured that next time you come it will be more than our pleasure to make you feel … at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#23 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing