We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC location”
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #25 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC location”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Small but adequate room, very quite. FANTASTIC location (did I already say that?). We had a balcony from which we could see the Acropolis. It was a block from the Acropolis Museum. We felt safe every night walking around to the Plaka (on the other side of the Acropolis in only about 5 minutes to get to a plethora of shopping and dining. In the other direction we were 4 blocks from the entrance to the Acropolis and just a bit further from the entrance to the Agora. The price was reasonable, a beautiful entryway, helpful front desk. Perfect for what we needed.

Room Tip: The free breakfast was excellent, not exhaustive, but more than what we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lomunchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Lomunchi

It is true that our location which is soooo close to the Acropolis and other main attractions, while being in a quiet Athenian neighbourhood, is one of the aspects that set us apart. On the other hand our welcoming staff and the richness of our cuisine at breakfast more often than not earn us equal compliments.

Thank you for acknowledging our qualities and for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    437
    114
    26
    13
See reviews for
247
379
81
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My granddaughter and I spent three nights in this comfortable, clean, friendly hotel one block from the new Acropolis Museum - with a view of the Parthenon shining into our window and onto our terrace. Delightfully quiet neighborhood (the other side of the Acropolis from the busy Plaka). We loved it. Breakfast was perfect, beds comfortable, wifi totally reliable. Rooms are cosy (small) but are extended by lots of windows and terraces.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Lynn_N
We are so very glad that your staying with us was a positive experience from beginning to end, and that you enjoyed our service, breakfast and amenities as well as the location. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushmills
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

What an amazing hotel. Location is fabulous - literally I could see the Parthenon at night from our bed. Great value for money. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff. Refreshing breakfasts. Coffee all day and night, gratis. It takes less than a minute to walk to the New Acropolis Museum. I wanta go back...

Room Tip: I stayed twice and in different rooms. Not a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanPhyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear AlanPhyllis
Yes! We also would love to have you back! Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are proud to have earned your high rating and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Wonderful hotel within walking distance of the Acropolis,museum and outdoor cafes. The staff was very accommodating. Our view from our porch was absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear mandi n
We appreciate you taking the time to review Philippos on TripAdvisor, and we are most grateful for your very kind endorsement. We were happy to read that you will return to us, and hope that this may happen soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at Philippos for three nights with my wife. The room was big enough, didn't need any cooling or heating since the weather was just fine. The hotel is two steps away from Acropolis and close to all major sights, 35 min walking to Lycabettus Hill, metro station very close. The hotel is very tidy and all seems in place; the staff is pleasant and helpful, taking the time to explain city highlights and directions. Breakfast has all the needed ingredients for a good start of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Vlad_002
We enjoyed reading your lovely comments regarding our hotel and team. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and your endorsement of our service, breakfast and location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We visit Athens quite often and we have stayed in this hotel couple of times and never did we have a chance to complain everything is perfect. The rooms are small, but that did not bother me. Athens is the cradle of Western Civilization and there are many things to see. Location of the Philippos Hotel is perfect. It is walking distance to many major sights. Hotel reception was very helpful in giving suggestions on sightseeing. Breakfast had plenty of items offered to start the day off right. Housekeeping does a great job of keeping the property spotless. Bed was comfortable and my room was quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaboonGer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear GaboonGer
Loyalty is our biggest compliment as well as the best challenge for excelling. We are grateful that everything met and even exceeded your expectations. Thank you for taking time to share your impressions on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your review and your pledge to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My stay here was quite nice. Being so close to the Acropolis made it even better. The staff were great. They booked my island trip and gave me help guidence when I needed it. The breakfest was fantastic as well. I would stay here again next time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Andrew S
Your promise of returning is the best review! Thank you and be sure that we are looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#31 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#24 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#35 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing