We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Philippos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$478
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Athens Lotus Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hermes Hotel(Athens)
US$170
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hera Hotel(Athens)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
467
502
123
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
502
123
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelacropolis museumgreat locationacropoli metro stationwithin walking distanceyogurtquiet streetpartial viewlarge balconysafe neighborhoodrooms are smallminute walknice breakfastboiled eggshotel roomfriendly hoteldouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
496 - 501 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel Philippos is a standard 3 star place and doesn't pretend to be anything more. You want to stay here for its incredible location though. It's walking distance from the Acropolis, Hadrian's gate, the Plaka area, the metro station, the tram, Syntagma square and the most interesting Thissio market. There's tonnes of choices in terms of restaurants near by and access to the airport by train is pretty easy. If your day is packed with activity it's a good location to have a hotel in, in case you need to take a break or drop stuff off in your room.

The breakfast is modest but satisfying - don't miss out on the awesome creamy Greek yogurt. The staff is pleasant and helpful with directions, tips and are happy to call a cab for you etc.

The room was clean, had a safe and decent storage space. However, we had twin beds pretending to be a double bed. Was a bit of pain for my wife and me to keep pushing the two mattresses together to form a double bed!

So, go here if you want to spend more time in awesome Athens city and less time in lounging around the hotel

Room Tip: Dont stress if you don't get a room facing the Acropolis. You keep seeing it from pretty much everywhere in the city, like ALL THE TIME. It's everywhere. So, by the time you're done with your trip, you would've seen it like a gazillion times. Just check to see if they have a double bed mattress when you book.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadhavSrinivasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear MadhavSrinivasan

Thank you for your review. It is true that Philippos hotel is nicely located absolutely-right-in-the-middle of most [if not all] of the important tourist attractions, in a tranquil upscale urban area, close but not in Plaka and with easy access to transportation. Thank you for appreciating the kindness and helpfulness of our team.
We are sorry we were not able to satisfy your request about the double bed since we were fully booked for those days at the end of April. This has been addressed with the team to prevent such situations and ensure consistent delivery of our high standards and the satisfaction of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I found the staff to be very helpful. Although the restaurant was not open while I was there, they directed me to their sister hotel around the corner where food and service was excellent. The Philippos is at the foot of the Parthenon and a few feet from the archeological museum.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear J A

Thank you for taking time to review Philippos hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that all aspects of our hotel were to your satisfaction. Yet let me straighten out that apart from the breakfast room in the morning and coffee/ bar throughout the day, there is no restaurant at Philippos! Finally we thank you for finding both the food and service at the ATRIUM restaurant of Herodion Hotel to be excellent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We checked in to the Philippos after spending several days in Santorini and Mykonos where the hotels were beautiful and comfortable. We chose the Philippos after reading the favorable reviews on Tripadvisor, and were confident that we had made a good choice; were we ever mistaken! The location was wonderful, that was the only plus for us. We had reserved for three nights, the room we were assigned was tiny (hardly room for our luggage) with no view to enjoy - it looked out on a vacant space between buildings - and the double bed was saggy and uncomfortable. The temperature reached 79 degrees and it was humid, there was no air conditioning in the room (it hadn't been turned on yet in the hotel). We didn't find the staff to be especially friendly but rather quite brusque. We will not recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gugi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Naturally I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly and of the challenges that accompanied your stay with us. I am especially sorry that you were unable to let us know about your unhappiness during your stay, although Makis and Elias persistently inquired on your satisfaction, throughout your stay and offered an option of a more spacious double room which you accepted and expressed your satisfaction.

In addition to the above, the friendliness and the quality of the hospitality of our staff is unquestionable. Despite the many positive comments we receive about our service and the comfort of our hotel we also welcome reviews of our customers. Lastly during mid season there are always some differences upon the need for air conditioning, thus we follow the majority's wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family prides itself on finding cool local hotels with charm and character of it's surroundings no matter where we are. But at the end of a long trip in sometimes tiny unfamiliar places I decided our last 2 nights in Greece needed to step up a notch. This was a great choice. A little corporate in it's feel (compared to historical buildings and B&B type accommodations), but service was just as friendly and helpful, the morning breakfast was delicious of course the location is superb.

Our room was for 4 people and had two separate sleeping areas, so we were able to separate from the kiddos for a night. A giant balcony facing the Acropolis was fun for morning coffee and evening wine and hearing the Easter fireworks (think 4th of July neighborhood firecrackers).

While it was our most expensive night in Greece, the value here is that while it wasn't a quaint building, it still had more charm and local hospitality than a standard hotel chain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CB1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

It was great to read about your stay and experience at the Philippos. Thank you for sharing all of your observations , we appreciate your many kind comments about our service, amenities and mostly our “charm and hospitality” that family businesses are able to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for more discoveries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Philippos in late March, early April 2014. Location is terrific. Very close to the Acropolis and the Parthenon museum. An easy walk from the Metro. Convenient to Syntagma and Plaka. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable and the staff is helpful. I have stayed there before and will do so again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We love welcoming back guests, and could not ask for a better review than one that promises a return. Please contact us directly for your next visit and offer us the opportunity to accommodate you in a more spacious room upon availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews