We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Philippos based and reviews and also our budget! (Euro's are twice as much to the Australian dollar). We paid EUR 110 per night. incl. breakfast for 2.

First room we were allocated was really small - like a shoe box and the bathroom had one of those really annoying curtins which went across the shower and toilet! The room did have a nice large balcony however.

So the next day we asked to be room moved for our last night - mainly beacuse of the bathroom and we were given a room on the 4th floor which was more spacious and had a decent bathroom. Ahhhhh.. much better!

Both rooms had a tiny view of the acropolis as they both faced onto the main street of the hotel.

However the hotel has obviously had a refurb and was very moden and clean. Breakfast was also very good and quite adequate.

The best thing about the hotel was the location! 1 min. walk to the new museaum (when it opens) and about 300m to the Acropolis. Took us about 10 min to walk to the Plaka area and abour 15 mins to get to Syntegma Square (not sure if I am spelling that correctly).

Really safe location - my partner actually went for a run each morning and loved it.

Would have no problem in staying here again... but next time if I wasnt happy with the first room they gave me I would immediately complain.

Tip - they have floor plans of the floor you are on at the back of the bedroom door so you can see the size of each room. ... some looked quite large - perhaps more expensive? Helps when you are wanting to change rooms.


Overall conclusion - very nice budget hotel to stay in Athens.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    427
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
237
368
79
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

the rooms are generally nice for this class hotel (though small)... the staff was very friendly and kind. It was in a safe and decent neighborhood. ....i would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank megatraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Request Room 701 - the only room on the 7th floor with private roof terrace overlooking the Acropolis ... slightly smaller room than others but the very best, if able to reserve it, its well worth it and only 60 Euros! A very nice touch to a holiday. Stunning full view of Acropolis day and night - unforgettable.

Best location. Located in the best area of Athens away from the ghettos! Only 300 metres away from the Acropolis rock site. 2 minute walk from the new Acropolis museum, 3 minute walk from Roman theatre, 5- 10 minute nice walk to the Acropolis itself.

Has a 5 star sister hotel only 50 meters around the corner, 1 minute walk open free for Phillipos guests. The Herodian hotels facilities are perfect to use... Great resturant, fresh food - top xmas dinner (dish of the day) only 7.50 Euros each. Top bottle of red, 8 Euros + 10% discount! Great roof garden terrace overlooking the Acropolis and Jaccuzzi.

Staff at both hotels are very good, a few good and friendly characters.

The Breakfast is ok, standard fresh bread, crossaints, ham cheese and cake, fresh strong coffee.

Only thing I would improve... Get a chef in who does not overcook the eggs and serves real fruit juice and not that cheap cordial stuff.

Simon & Sarah from London
(aka 007 and Good Night)

  • Liked — Location and Room 701
  • Disliked — Overcooked eggs!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Strutt_aroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

Hotel in an excellent position for site-seeing. Close to the Acropolis and the metro. Clean and tidy and the Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good choice of fresh food at breakfast

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jmc57uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

We are a family of 4 and have stayed at this hotel a number of times. This is a clean, neat, tidy basic hotel at a very good price. You will either love this hotel or hate it. (if you expect the Ritz you will hate it). The double rooms are a bit tight, but acceptable. The family rooms are a bit larger and if you are lucky you may get one which has a balcony looking out to the Parthenon - magic. The breakfast is satisfactory - cerial, cold meats, cheese, eggs, cakes etc - plenty to give you a good start to the day. The location is excellent, minutes walk from Acropoli metro station, the Parthenon, Plaka, Monistraki and many many other sites & restaurants.

  • Liked — Price, location & clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VicM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riner, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

This small hotel is located in a quiet section of town, very near the Acropolis. We were in room 410, which has a partial view of the Parthenon! The room and bathroom size were adequate, and there was space to unpack. We appreciated that since we were there for 5 nights. We also liked the quietness of the area (our room overlooked a side street.) Some nights we slept with the sliding door open, and woke up to cooing pigeons rather than traffic.

The desk staff were helpful, especially when we discovered that we could not leave for Delphi on Easter Sunday as we had planned. They said that we could stay an additional night, and called our hotel in Delphi to cancel the first night of our stay there. We were very grateful for that service, as I am always confused by telephone systems in other countries.

We enjoyed the breakfast -- lots of choices, and always fruit and wonderful yogurt available.

  • Liked — Excellent location, quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia_Lee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

Very small room, noisy air conditioning and room very hot. Good breakfast. Great for a short stay. Central location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very small rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spendkidsinheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#22 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing