We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Philippos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$210
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
US$426
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,150)
Filter reviews
1,150 results
Traveller rating
470
513
124
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
470
513
124
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelacropolis museumgreat locationacropoli metro stationwithin walking distanceyogurtquiet streetpartial viewlarge balconysafe neighborhoodrooms are smallminute walknice breakfastboiled eggshotel roomfriendly hoteldouble bed
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 1,150 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This hotel was adequate for our needs. It was near a metro station and easy walking distance to the Acropolis, New Acropolis museum and Plaka. The room and bathroom were very small, but the beds are fairly comfortable and the shower was nice. I felt that the breakfast was good, a very typical Greek buffet with a lot of options. The price was good for a 3-star in Athens, but I thought it would be a little nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We loved our stay here. The rooms are very clean and the service is excellent. The air-conditioning was put to good use as it was 40 degrees C every day that we were there. The view of the Acropolis from our room was fantastic.

It was a 5 minute walk to the Acropolis and a few more minutes up to the Plaka. This was an experience in itself. We ate at different restaurants every night and got to know some of the locals.

Everyone is very friendly and the hotel staff were all very helpful. The only downside would have to be the size of the breakfast room. It is worth getting there early to avoid the rush. The breakfast bar tends to get crowded and hard to get in to the food. The food itself was good.

We loved Athens and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here for one night mainly so that we were close to Acropolis. Location is excellent with a ten minute walk to the main entrance of the Acropolis. The metro station is also about a 5 minute walk away. This hotel seemed expensive compared to other places we could stay. The rooms were tiny and in need of some refurbishment. Our room also smelt very damp, in particular the bathroom. The shower was excellent. Breakfast was average. Service and help provided by staff at the front desk was very good.
I would only recommend staying here is you want to be close to Acropolis and have a limited time frame like we did.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnishbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Hotel Philipos was great for what we needed. The hotel lobby is air conditoned as well as the rooms, which is necessary for a break from the summer heat. Breakfast is served daily for free with a generous spread of hardboiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, breads, etc. The room seemed a little old with the carpeting and wallpaper, but it was very clean. We had a TV and working mini-fridge.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Acropolis museum and Acropolis. Just a warning - the Acropolis is uphill from the hotel. The Athens double-decker bus tour stop is right in front of the Acropolis museum, which is a quick 2 minute walk. This bus was a great deal for 24 euros for two days because it easily transported us to every major tourist site and gave us a guided audio tour along the way. Otherwise, the location seems far from the other main tourist areas.

Also, the neighborhood appears more residential. There are not many restaurants or bars nearby. However, we did feel completely safe in area and out of the major "hustle and bustle" of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanSouci_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the Philippos Hotel for one night before our departure to the islands. We selected it for its location near the new Acropolis Museum. To our surprise we were upgraded to a large room with huge balcony. The balcony had an incredible view of the Acropolis. Breakfast was good as well. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreecefanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews