We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eectra palace super star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very good hotel. Very well situated. Access to feet in 15 minutes of everything the historic places. Very quiet. Impeccable staff. Great breakfast. Chamber(room) without criticism.
Parking lot for car. Very pleasant garden.
Adequate swimming pool with jaguzzi

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leplaisancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,937 - 1,943 of 3,200 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location, wonderful staff, pretty rooms. Try and get a room at the front rather than the back of the hotel. There was some loud pub noise late into the night and it was too stuffy to shut the windows. Good thing I took earplugs!

Room Tip: Front (street side) of hotel is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnne-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The location is great - 10 min from the Syntagma square, 5 mins from Plaka and 5 mins from the Acropolis museum. Kindly note that if you are coming by Metro or the X95 bus and travelling with luggage, it would be a long walk from the square.

The room we stayed on our second visit(1 night only) was very stuffy with no proper air conditioning. The first visit was airy so not all rooms are the same.

There was no kettle for coffee-tea.Wifi is not available in the room.

It should not happen to a hotel with 5-star rating. I would rate it as a 4 star hotel with a relatively good location.

I was disappointed with the Tripadvisor ranking (11th rank) as the only reason can be the balcony views of the Acropolis but the same is offered by many hotels.

The taxi charge from Athens is 35€ as confirmed by the city govt., but the taxis outside the hotel wanted 40-45€ and the doorman/ reception also confirmed. We walked 5 steps and hailed a passing taxi and the rate was 35€.

I would look for other alternatives before i book this again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SayanRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Location is excellent: all major monuments, museums and attractions in Athens are within walking distance: entrance to the Acropolis is a 15 minute-walk, the Archeological museum is a 20-minute walk. Same for the Lycabetus cable car. We had a superior room with fairly good view of the Acropolis. Room was generally fine, except that soundproofing could be better. The roof top restaurant is a bit pricey, but it is worth every euro you'll pay thanks to the excellent service, the good wines, the view towards the Acropolis, and the fairly good food. The breakfast buffet is plentiful, if not particularly refined. As an unexpected benefit, the extremely simple but excellent and inexpensive fish restaurant "To Paradosiako" is in the same block as the hotel, at 44A Voulis. Finally, if you've to pay a fairly steep price if you want access to wifi in your room, be aware that wifi is free whether in the rooftop restaurant or in the bar in the lobby, next to the garden. Bottom line: for our next trip to Athens we'll check the Elektra Palace and unless they are full we won't bother to look at any other hotel.

Room Tip: Our room (325) was a bit noisy. Nothing unbearable, but people chatting next door could be heard, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParisEric_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

By far one of the best hotels of Athens and all Greece. This was the second time, and will always return. Clean, luxiourious, close to everything, fantastic rooms, service, buffet breakfast is fantastic. Heart of historical Plaka.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pizania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at this Hotel from the 15 to the 18th (with extra-half day) and enjoyed all the facilities (including the hotel restaurant, up the 5th floor with its magnificent view of the Acropolis).The staff was pleasant, very helpful at the lobby for all kind of advices and planning and the hotel location made it accessible to the center of town, easily and rapidly.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, overall stay pleasant and most enj

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This hotel is very lovely and is located in the desirable old town area. Our family was set up in two rooms that had a private entrance way which was very nice. Our rooms had a view of the Acropolis which was amazing. I would highly recommend spending the extra money for this view as you can sit out on your balcony and enjoy the Acropolis at your leisure day or night. We had our first dinner at the restaurant at the hotel and again the view of the Acropolis was AMAZING! The food was delicious serving many Greek specialities. The service at the restaurant was superb. The location of this hotel was perfect as it was walking distance to markets and restaurants as well as the Acropolis. Also it was not on the square where the protests were happening so it was a relatively quiet location. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. The staff always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,549 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £133 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing