We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Electra and loved every minute of our Athens vacation. The staff was fantastic and a special thank you to the woman who manages the rooftop restaurant. She reserved a little outside corner table for us that had the most stunning view of the Acropolis. The food in the rooftop restaurant was great, as was the breakfast buffet.

The loation is beyond perfect....so close to everything.... the Plaka, the Acropolis museum, etc...I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisualGirl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,611
    907
    228
    72
    32
See reviews for
762
1,307
83
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice location. Took little train ride (see photo) that runs around Plaka for some sightseeing/people watching. Train station is short walk to/from hotel. Walking distance to tourist mainstream. Room size is adequate for two adults and one teen. Nice, helpful, welcoming staff at the door. We tried the restaurant at the street corner as we read it has good tripadvisor reviews. It was commendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paycationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Location of the Electra Palace in Plaka is great. Small but nicely appointed rooms. Spectacular view of Acropolis from roof. Dinner was fine, but certainly no more than that. The local wines were very good. Breakfast buffet is good - selection of standard hot and cold items. Staff are polite but only 1 or 2 are friendly or cheerful.I'd stay there again if the price was ok. It's quiet. Wifi free in common areas, charge for wifi in room. There's a spa and indoor pool in basement - looked nice but we didn't try the services.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindaw143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at Electra Palace for one night while in Athens. It was a beautiful hotel. The room was small but I'm sure this is typical. Staff was nice and they provide you with breakfast and there is a lovely garden terrace is the middle of the city.

The hotel was walking distance to the Acropolis and a few streets to the main part of town.

The hotel was on the more expensive side. I'm sure there are comparable suites in a more affordable price range. If you are okay with the price, it was a great hotel.

There is a pool and restaurant with an amazing view of the Acropolis. The restaurant will not allow you to sit in the restaurant seating to enjoy drinks. For this, you are only permitted to sit at the bar which has less of a view or the pool area, although the restaurant was not full.

The hotel had free wi-fi zones but when we attempted to login, it prompted you for a password so there was not free wi-fi at this hotel which is disappointing based on the cost of the room.

If you are only in Athens for a short period, you may want to consider renting a car as the cost of a taxi to and from the hotel is expensive and it would likely be less to rent a car. You would have to check and see if the hotel charges an additional fee for parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaKrasno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and were very impressed! The lobby is gorgeous, the breakfast was delicious and the view from the roof was perfect. We also found the restaurant to be outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAL2413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Our first overnight stop since getting married a few days earlier and the concierge upgraded our room to a very nice suite with superb balcony view. A wonderful surprise.
Staff were helpful and knowledgable. The room was spacious and clean. The highlight has to be the rooftop pool and bar with the view of Acropolis.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights with 2.5 years and 11 month babies. It was 98% perfect! The location is perfect, the rooms are superb, the service is great and the cleanliness and breakfast as well. The food at the roof restaurant is very good and the Acropolis view from the roof pool is breath taking. The only cons are: 1. they don't provide a kettle for baby food ( but they deliver it fast without extra charge). 2. There is no playroom. Still, in our next stay at Athens for romantic gateway or again for family vacation we would defiantly come back! Recommended!!!

Room Tip: We traveled 2 families: one with 2 adults and 2 kids and another with 2 adults ( grandfather and gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing