We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, Australia
2 reviews
“Great location, great service.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Thank you for looking after us so well during our recent stay at Electra Palace. Your service was excellent, and we enjoyed our very comfortable Superior Acropolis View room. The set menu at the rooftop restaurant was a bit disappointing - The dishes offered on the regular menu looked much more interesting (and we were tired of salad entrees after travelling for a month.) However, everything was presented beautifully and tasted good.

The location is excellent, and the little shopping lanes at the end of the street were most appealing. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    907
    228
    72
    32
See reviews for
760
1,298
83
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is well run and the staff will supply you with all the information you need for your stay in Athens.

Its in an ideal location, 5 minutes from Syntagma Square by foot. Its in the heart of Plaka, Athens tourist hub with all the ancient sites within easy reach.

The standard rooms are a little small but perfectly adequate and well furnished. The bathrooms are of a good size with excellent free tolieteries.

The only gripe is that WiFi should be free in a hotel of this standard.

Great pool area and the night view from the 7th florr of the Acropolis is simply stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adihighpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This hotel has a fabulous location. It is also one of the only hotels close to the Acropolis which has a pool. We booked a Superior Acropolis View Room which had a great view, as does the restaurant. The restaurant has a very romantic setting, but the menu is ordinary. The hotel advertises a pre-paid "three course fine dining" deal which is nothing of the sort. The only entree we were offered as part of our "three course fine dining menu" was a salad. What a joke! We were also upset to be given two single beds joined together and made up as two single beds. We were on our honeymoon. We arrived late, at about 1am in the morning and It took hotel staff until 3am to put the beds together to make a double which was quite upsetting when all we wanted to do was sleep.

Room Tip: Superior Acropolis View Room - avoid suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brush d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have been for one night in this hotel on the way back to Italy. What a fantastic place! We booked a Superior Acropolis View Room and we had a very nice room with a fantastic view. The room might be a little bit small but it was very well furnished. The bathroom is also a little bit small but excellent. And what a fantastic view. It is hard to go out to visit Athens.The personel was extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. So, if you can afford, stay in this hotel and take a room with a view.

Room Tip: If you can afford take a Superior room with Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eno53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

One of the nicest restaurants we visited. Delicious and interesting food, the views of the Acropolis are outstanding, the service couldn't have been better - visited it twice so it must have been good!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Electra and loved every minute of our Athens vacation. The staff was fantastic and a special thank you to the woman who manages the rooftop restaurant. She reserved a little outside corner table for us that had the most stunning view of the Acropolis. The food in the rooftop restaurant was great, as was the breakfast buffet.

The loation is beyond perfect....so close to everything.... the Plaka, the Acropolis museum, etc...I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisualGirl949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice location. Took little train ride (see photo) that runs around Plaka for some sightseeing/people watching. Train station is short walk to/from hotel. Walking distance to tourist mainstream. Room size is adequate for two adults and one teen. Nice, helpful, welcoming staff at the door. We tried the restaurant at the street corner as we read it has good tripadvisor reviews. It was commendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paycationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 326 in Athens
3,134 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 326 in Athens
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing