We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel to discover Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

If u are searching to discover Athens by walking this is the perfect place to stay, no only a nice lovely hotel in the middle of the city center, but also near everything. In addition of the helping stuff they have the nice people and the service delicious breafast without forgetting the chocolate cookies. in all a nice place for a vacation. Relax near the swiming pool having dinner in the garden and enjoy walking arround reach the most lovely taverna arround the hotel and enjoy Athens

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilien3973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 3,206 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Read some prior reviews which pretty much said that the only "con" to this place was that it is a little pricy. I suppse that is true but I can't say enough about what a wonderful stay we had. Service was just amazing. The room was beautiful. We had to request one with a balcony after we arrived but they moved us the next day and evey evening we sat out, had some wine and savored the view. We returned to the hotel 10 days later (after a cruise) and were actually upgraded to a small suite - just fantastic. The restaurant (on the fifth floor) was also amazing. Menu was somewhat limited but food was among the best we had - cost was about 70-80 Euros for two people (that was for appetizers, main course and a bottle of wine).

So yes it was a little pricy - about $225 per night (with a discount we got on the web) for a superior room with a view of the Acropolis but the location (in the Plaka, within walking distance of everything), service, quality of the breakfast, make it well worth the price if you can afford it.

Room Tip: If you get a room with a view of the Acropolis try to get one of the few with a balcony - they are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcsnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

There are probably more affordable options that would be just as good if you don't need a sandwich at 4 am. I felt a bit young compared to the other clientele. It is a very good location for walking round the plaka and getting to the main sights. Even though they have a guest car park, don't even think of hiring a car, it takes a local to be able to navigate the streets to get to it.
It seems that by paying extra for your room you get more expensive internet and no free water and a pokey room, but you do get a nice lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PokerMagnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights. The Hotel is very well located, excellent choice if you intend to walk through Plaka, to Acropolis and other interesting places in the heart of Athens. The staff was really friendly and made us feel welcomed in every way and we had breakfast in the Hotel courtyard every morning. We also visited the Rooftop restaurant which has fantastic view of Acropolis and they serve there one of the best lamb I have ever had. Overall great stay in the heart of Athens.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maghh05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Have stayed at this hotel 2 years ago. Has same high standard in lobby and surrounding areas. Complimentary breakfast is very good.
I booked a non smoking room (direct with the hotel at least 6 months ahead) and when we entered (Room 136) it stank of smoke in the entrance and around the bathroom where the air conditioning exhaust is. I reckon we got the worst room on the first floor even though we booked direct with the hotel and paid top price, but they say we got a superior room which it was in size. Front desk said hotel was full but they could only offer a smaller room in which we would have been cramped with all our luggage etc. We elected to stay in same room with our request to clean to remove smell. I don't think this was done. We slept with balcony door open but the street is VERY noisy late at night with revellers and garbage collection.
Rooms are not 5 star . Air conditioning outlet is outside bathroom and struggles to put air into room unless at max everything. We were hot all the time. Floor is cheap sheet parquetry which bounces and makes a noise when walked on. Large TV had bad reception with "snowy" picture. Divan was hard to sit on with a square back which required all the silly bed cushions to make it "sittable". Bathroom had all required but the in-bath shower glass screen leaked water onto floor.
Room was very well serviced and was very clean. Bed comfortable and room 136 was good size.
Did not eat in hotel for dinner as there are many cost effective small local café style eateries where you can get good simple local food which, is to us, a real part of the Athens experience.
Would I stay a third time? Yes but not without a guarantee of room and on what floor which you cannot do when booking direct. There are local alternatives.
All staff were very friendly and efficient. Team at front desk were friendly and a great help with all information, transport and tours.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of Acropolis and at higher floors. Get guarantee BEFORE booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney4E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Great Britania is by far the best hotel in Athens. I have stayed at many hotels in Athens and I have not seen the service that I saw at the Great Britania. Well done!

I loved the spa. It was an excellent way to relax. I also lived the pool. Great food and a great view.

The best has to be the restaurant on the roof. The breakfast was the best I have ever had and dinner was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently traveled to Athens, and greatly enjoyed our stay at the Electra Palace Hotel. Service and accommodations were excellent, and the location was fantastic. Very good breakfast.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Go to the rooftop for a great view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dallas o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,384 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#8 of 281 in Athens
1,554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#11 of 281 in Athens
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £133 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing