We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swim to the Acropolis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Swim to the Acropolis”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I love this hotel, great location, very good service, and facilities. But the real treat is seen the Acropolis while swimming, specially at night.
They provided a very healthy, and diverse selection of choices for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view to the Acropolis, its magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,637
    920
    236
    73
    32
See reviews for
769
1,336
85
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Decided to upgrade to the Junior suite with a balcony view of the Acropolis... except there was no balcony (only a two foot ledge) and you could just about see the corner of the Acropolis... so we felt a bit ripped off in that regard!
Aside from that it is a really nice hotel, if a little pricey. The room was spacious and clean and the complimentary bottle of wine and fruit were a nice touch. The rooftop swimming pool is a good place to get away from it all to chill out and sunbathe. Good breakfast spread -
We chose the fine dining package which included a set menu at the rooftop restaurant where all three courses were delicious. The view looking up to the Acropolis over the swimming pool is really nice, but just be conscious that you have this view from many places around the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 20WorldTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The location was great. You could walk to many of the attractions. At night we could view the Acropolis from our window. The room was large and well decorated. The staff was extremely helpful. The restaurant for breakfast and lunch was well staffed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaLe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel location is excellent but the hospitality is a bit lacking. When we arrived at the hotel, the greetings where swift and it looked like the front desk staff just wanted to get on with it. There was no talk about orientation to the city, no talk about how do we help you visit sights in the city or make your stay special. Everywhere else in Greece and countries around the world you get this and the experience at Electra Palace felt a bit cold.
A lot of the rooms don't have much of a view, we got one which looked straight at a multi storey building (apparently it was a garden view room). We were told we should have booked an Acropolis view room(pointers for folks considering this place). The roof top restaurant does have an excellent view of the Acropolis but that doesn't make up for the view you get in the comfort of your own room.
A couple of other things that bugged us where, paying for internet access. The price isn't steep and we sprung the 10-12 Euro for a day but even in ordinary(not great!) hotels on the islands we got free internet access. Once again, you can go to the public areas in the hotel and get onto a public network but having complimentary internet access should be a no-brainer in today's day and age.
We also, didn't have the best experience at breakfast. The complimentary breakfast was great but the waiting staff didn't show up with cutlery for a while after we sat down(no cutlery on the table itself). Perhaps they could make cutlery available right by the plates so that folk help themselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pramod_Krishna_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is very good. The rooms are spacious, the breakfast area is very pleasent and they serve a wonderful breakfast. The rooftop restaurant is very good and you can dine with a view of the Parthenon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We liked the location, however it is a big city hotel and not for a relaxing stay, the noises during the day were anoying but we only slept there and were out exploring Athens all day. The attitude is also of a big city...different after relaxing islands!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BUON_VIAGGIO_7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel was very spacious and clean with excellent staff service and a perfect central location in the historic Plaka district. Breakfast was delicious with many different kinds of choices, and the rooftop restaurant allows you to dine under the stars while looking at the Parthenon. Our room had a tiny balcony and with a gorgeous Parthenon view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing