We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
205 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“comfortable but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a number of pros:
- its location is very good, in a quiet street. In five minutes, you are in the nice restaurants of Plaka, below the Acropolis. In 10 minutes, you are on Syntagma or on the busy shopping streets.
- the view over the Acropolis from the swimming pool and the restaurant is great
But it has also unfortunately some cons:
- the style, with fake old furnitures, will please more customers from the Middle East than westerners. The latter might find it bad taste.
- the rooms are quite small and not very convenient for the business clientele (eg on the desk, you either plug the light or your computer, but you can't do both). Wifi is not free.
I have put this mark because of the price, which is relatively cheap. Just do not expect to fall in love with the hotel...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,600
    907
    228
    72
    32
See reviews for
760
1,299
83
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Island, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I've stayed in a great many hotels of all types and descriptions all over the world, as has my wife who is a travel agent. Our friends with whom we traveled are also well traveled, retired executives with a discerning eye. We all agreed that Electra Palace is first rate.
The staff checked us in promptly and efficiently and put us into rooms 519 (us) and 517 (our friends) with adjoining balconies and a commanding view of the Acropolis, impressive during the day and magnificent at night when lit up. Both were very quiet, and ours had a king bed, cable with a number of English channels, large bath with modern tub, bidet, etc., a fine selection of soaps and accessories, lots of closets, safe, dryer, minibar, etc.. The room lacked nothing and was adjacent to a quite beautiful rooftop restaurant with Acropolis views. There is also a pool, spa facilities and a very nice restaurant that serves an American style buffet breakfast. Located just a few blocks from Syntagma Square, the center of tourist-oriented activities, this hotel is best in class for service, friendliness and location.
If this is your first trip to Athens, try the hop-on hop-off buses leaving Syntagma Square. The best and least crowded are run by AthensOpenTours and are yellow versus the far better known and far more crowded buses of CitySightseeing which are red. $16 Euro buys 2 days of sightseeing anwhere in Athens you'd want to go. If you want great Greek food in a classy and romantic rooftop taverna and at reasonable cost ask the concierge for directions to Taverna Sarah within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Acropolis view rooms are, indeed, worth it. Our friend (he) is extremely noise sensitive but sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomersdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I wanted to end our trip on a high note, and chose this hotel as it seemed more luxurious than our other 2 Athens hotels.

We ended up feeling that we were basically paying for a fancy hotel lobby. True, the lobby gives a good first impression but in no way makes up for the simple hotel room with no tea/coffee making facilities, no complimentary water, no complimentary wifi except in the lobby and breakfast area, and troublesome computers in the lobby accessed via 10-minute vouchers.

Worst of all was the service. There was the grand total of one lady at the reception who made the effort to smile and have a very brief chat with me, but the others were merely doing their jobs. As for the ‘bell boys’, perhaps the middle-aged men employed here felt we were beneath their dignity and did not once smile or greet us. One even abruptly left us to approach another party – after we had specifically asked for help! Am still wondering if he just didn’t like our looks?

The last encounter was the worst: wishing to book a cab to the airport, we asked one bell-boy for help and was told the cost would be varying dependent on the tolls. When I asked to clarify (I had read that cab fare to the airport is a fixed rate), he raised his voice and said “from THIS HOTEL, this is the taxi charge. If you don’t want it, you can walk down the road and get a taxi.” Wow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s-myluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a gem of a hotel in a great spot to walk and explore the area of Plaka with loads to see and do and loads of restaurants and narrow streets to explore. Rooms, brekky and staff all great and rooftop pool has wonderful views of the Acropolis - rooftop restaurant and bar too!

Room Tip: Ask for Acropolis views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omnitrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Great 5 star hotel in perfect location - Plaka. We walked to the Parthenon/Acropolis and to the shopping areas as well as to several other ancient sites with no problem. The service is great from the moment you enter. Buffet breakfast is included and has plenty to offer. We did the Superior View Acropolis room and I highly recommend this. It's worth a little more - how often does one get to Athens? Why not stay in style. The pool is small, but clean and another beautiful view of the Acropolis. The fitness room has plenty of machines and some that are different from the usual offering. Would like to have used the spa but couldn't find time in the 3 days we were there. Recommend doing the Electra Rooftop Garden Restaurant special. They offer a 10% discount on the room and dinner was 35 euros per person pre paid. It was a limited offering but still good food and the view more than made up for it. We also had dinner one night at Dionysos with an even closer view of the Acropolis and from a slightly different angle. A cab ride there was only 8 euros and cabs were readily available after dinner right outside their door. We ate lunch (twice since we liked it so much) at a restaurant straight down the street from the hotel on the corner of Nikodimou & Adrianou Streets (same side of Nikodimou Street as the hotel). I can't remember the name but they had very innovative food, beautifully presented. A definite plus to stay at the Electra Palace on your trip in.
Oh, and skip the silly little 'train' ride that is a constant presence in the area. They don't really tell you much and it seems more like transportation if you're tired. It's not worth the money and better to walk.
Otherwise,

Room Tip: Acropolis Superior View rooms are perfect with a small little balcony where you can sit with a drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiti, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed 1 night at the Electra Palace in October prior to a cruise. The hotel is in a great location and the room was very nice, very clean and the linens etc were of a good quality. The rooftop bar and restaurant views are terrific and were a great spot to share a bottle of wine. I thought that the buffet breakfast was disappointing compared to other hotels of this standard. There was a party going on at a place nearby until 3 in the morning which was incredibly loud, when I mentioned this to the reception on check-out the next morning, the male receptionist was quite aggressive, asking me questions about where the noise was coming from. Fortunately, another male receptionist came to my rescue and apologised for the noise and explained that it was out of their control which I accept.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriafawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This Hotel was fantastic. The staff were excellent, the location sensational and most of all it was excellent value for money. Athens has certainly improved its service in the last 5 years. I would return here in a minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pas_G_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing