We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Athens centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #11 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a pleasant 5 night stay at this beautifully appointed hotel in the Plaka district of old Athens, on the lower slopes of the Acropolis. The rooftop restaurant and open air pool enjoy breathtaking views of the Acropolis and should not be missed. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view of the Acropolis and overlooking the small city-centre garden area. Hotel appears to be recently refurbished. Lifts worked well. Good buffet style breakfast to suit all tastes. Hotel is well positioned close to Syntagma Square and other attractions and short walk from Monastiraki area. Hotel staff were helpful, friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of Acropolis are premium priced but we were upgraded without paying a premium. Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAtk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,699 of 3,244 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Helpful and kind staff.
We did however miss not having complementary tea in our room. Most other hotels provide a water boiler and tea.
Fantastic breakfast!
Paying for WiFi on the room was a minus.
Great location.
This was our second time staying at Electra Palace Hotel, not our last.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 713Drake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Excellent facilities. Wonderful location to explore the old town. Fantastic views of the Acropolis from the hotel resturant. All staff very helpful and polite. Would visit again and also look forward to staying in other Elektra Palace hotels.

Room Tip: Most rooms had balconies and some views over the Acroplis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

My wife, 2 year old and myself just spent 5 nights in the Electra Palace in a Acropolis view suite.

All in all a very good stay and we were very happy but in detail:

The Goods: The location in Plaka. The view. (Breathtaking). The suite was good size. Breakfast was good. The staff were great with our daughter (Greeks love little kids).

The Bad: the aircon apparently works on one setting for the whole hotel - this is stupid. Didn't end up being an issue for us but for a 5 star is not up to par and the particular guy who explained the central aircon was pretty uppity about it. Also the balcony is shared and the next door apartment had a dog that wandered into our suite - not cool at all.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Sydney-Hombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I just recently stayed at the Electra Palace Hotel, for a long weekend (as I ran the Athens marathon)

I have stayed at the Electra Palace Hotel, a few years ago, so knew what to expect. The rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable, hotel facilities are very good, but for me the friendliness of the staff made all the difference...

As I was running the Athens Marathon, the small details the hotel accommodated for us runners was really nice. Breakfast on the morning of the marathon was available from 5am, and the night before, the hotel had a special runners 'pasta party'.

As my parents were staying with us, the hotel reception made a point of finding them a room close to ours, even though the hotel was fairly full and my parents ended up with a better room than originally booked - a very nice touch!

The only minor criticisms that I would make are the following:
- Our room which was on the 1st floor had a window close to some air-conditioning units outside, which were a little noisy at night, although living in London, I'm used to noise so it didn't really bother me.
- The 'pasta party' meal was a buffet, and although fine, I felt that the 20 euro price per head was a little expensive for what it was.
- You have to pay for WiFi internet access. Most hotels offer this for free as standard nowadays.

Notwithstanding the above comments, I would stay at the Electra Palace Hotel again, and would certainly highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer better views of the Acropolis and tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A friend & I stayed here for 4 nights and we had pre-booked our standard room about 6 weeks in advance. If you are traveling light, (small roller suitcase), it's very convenient to walk 10 minutes to this hotel from the Syntagma Metro station & travel to and from the airport with the least expense. Both the hotel and it's staff are very good and quite helpful. Yes, our room was rather small, but still comfortable, and the bathroom was large. The closet area had drawers, etc., as well as a safe and small fridge. Our room was on the 1st floor and looked down on the outdoor courtyard, which seemed to be very quiet. Linens and towels were first-rate. We did not have dinner at the rooftop restaurant, but the buffet breakfast every morning was excellent. Although the roof-top pool area seemed crowded at times, it was still nice to relax up there. My friend had a massage in our room from the spa personnel and she thought it was very good. My only suggestion to hotel management is that they should offer at least free internet access 24/7 down in the lobby's computer area. Otherwise, given the hotel's convenient location near the Plaka, it was a splendid choice for our 1st visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Confirm the size and location of your room prior to final booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marktaylorsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice and the staff friendly and efficient. The only poor aspect was breakfast which was surprisingly poor for a reasonable hotel, it was cold and congealed and let the hotel down badly. On the up side the location was central (though quiet) and the roof top restaurant was a treat for dinner because of the view.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieRutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,924 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,414 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,412 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: £129 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing